Bros/sis with back problems....

somebody

bro, hv to find out the reason for ur backache first... sitting posture? lousy mattress?

if sitting in office the whole day, get a cushion to support the lower lumbar of the back, as u spend 1/3 of ur life at work

mattress, just change to another firm one.. This is impt as u spend 1/3 of ur life sleeping

as for back exercise, Try getting those gym balls, one of the exercise will tell u how to work ur back muscles...

wah... so many replies! =)

but those i've always heard from ppl liao, are those that you've tried and tested? =)

hee... looking for stories like, "i had a problem..... and then i did this..... and then i'm well now"

haha =) then that one, i'll whack and try!!

as kelstorm said, u have to identify the cause of ur backache.

tell u a joke.

A person was suffering from backpain. bend a bit also pain, carry slightly

heavy stuff also pain etc. So he go look for doctor. the doctor says that

the testicle is causing the pain. To cure pain, remove testicle :( but he

dun wanna to remove his male identity, so he seek 2nd opinion ...

2nd doctor oso say "chop" :( ... and without a choice, snice the back pain

is getting worse, he went operation and remove his testicles ... and the

pain went away ... so does his male-hood ... feeling depress, he decide

to go make himself a new pair of pants ... since maybe without testicles

pant size oso smaller liao :P when the tailor saw the original pair of pant

that he's wearing, the tailor said "You know, wearing such tight pants

will give u backpain"

got it :P

Hi Somebody,

back pain can be due to alot of reasons but the common ones are joint and mscular pain, disc related, nerves related as a result of something pressing on it.

There is always a pattern that one can noticed when having a back or neck pain., eg., pain when turning to a certain direction, always painful the morning, or worst at the end of day, pain mostly during office hrs. all these information will tell the healthcare professional what wrongs with you. if you have the pain for more than few weeks, it notmally considered as chronic...meaning it will take a bit longer to recover. The longer you are having back pain, the wasting on your back and tummy muscles will be more thus making your recovery even slower.

Slipped disc may or may not be the source of your pain. there are many pple walking in the street that have slipped disc but no back pain. The signs and symptoms must fit into a typical slipped disc problems. Structural changes like slipped disc and bone spurs will stay as it is and no health care professional can make them go back to normal. if someone says they can put the disc back or remove the spurs for you then you better be wary of them.

Most of the times, correct exercise is the way to go for back and neck problem. However, the healthcare professional needs to identify what are your main problems then customised a treatment program for you. The treatment for someone with joint related back pain and disc related back pain are different. exercises need to be customised to suit the individual., eg., swimming is good but which stroke???

there are many healthcare professional that can treat back pain, eg., Physios, osteopaths, Chiropractors, license chinese physician.etc. continue the therapy if you see any improvements.

lastly, do see a qualify healthcare professional before it become too bad.

regds

I've got some back problems some years back when I was doing my IPPT at the broad jump. Landed hard thus the injuries. Had physiotheraphy at SGH. Various types of theraphy such as Heat, stretching and some massaging were done on alternate sessions. Maybe here r some exercise by the theraphist for ppl who got mild backache, slip dics and so on.. :)

This exercise strengthens ur stomach muscles:

1. Lie on ur back with knees bent n ur feet flat on the floor

2. slowly raise ur head and shoulders off the floor, keeping ur hands across ur chest

3. work up to 30 repetitons

Basically its jus like doing sit up except u put both ur hands on ur chest.

Hi Somebody......I have slip disc too (confirm by MRI).......its so bad to the extent that it is affecting my private life.......... :paiseh: ....no joke.... <_<

The backache can be very aweful in the morning........and I realise this is also due to my sleeping posture (Doctor's advise)........if you sleep face up.......put a pillow below your thigh.......and it is advisable to sleep facing you left or right.

This specialist I went in SGH, Dr Seow (Senior Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon), advise that swimming is the best form of exercise for Back problem. Twice a week he recommend. Besides, cycling and brisk walking helps too........but do not jog!

I especially take extra precautious when I am changing water for my reef tank. Those bucket of water are damn heavy and if you lifting posture aint right.....good luck to you! :P

Anyway, take good care......it will never recover but you can prevent it from deteriorating! :(

$60+ for 45minute massage, use of facilities, free food and drinks... ;)

wah got erm.. special or not? :evil: just kidding...

my problem like I said is posture.. but i adjust my posture then my arms get into awkward position to use the mouse (which I use a lot, which results in wrist pain)... so adjust one, back pain, adjust the other wrist pain...

wah xiong... unless can get a table that's fully adjustable...

Try this simple exercise to remove some of the irritating lower back aches. Works for me.

1. Lie on back, knees together and slightly bent.

2. There should naturally be a small gap between the small of your back and the floor.

3. Inhale. And as you do so, try to "push" the small of your back to be completely in contact with the floor. ie. touch the floor with the small of your back.

4. Hold it there for 10 seconds.

5. Do 5 reps.

Should clear our lower back aches within a few days.

Everytime you feel the ache again, just do the above.