How many months/years experience needed for SPS?

How many months/years of experience in reefing needed before attempting SPS?  

99 members have voted

1. 1. How many months/years of experience in reefing needed before attempting SPS?

• 1 to 3 months
    • 4 to 6 months
    • 7 to 11 months
    • 1 to 2 years
    • 3 to 5 years

Hi guys

As you all know, I am quite new in this hobby. Love the SPS tanks... are now planning a larger tank (mostly using back my current equipments plus new ones in phases). Not gonna be FULL SPS, but partial for a start. Will keep the "moderate care" ones.

Planning to introduce new custom tank (around 80g incl. sump + refugium) in 3 months time.

What you guys think?

If I want to attempt my first SPS in my current tank (click link on my signature) which species should I try?

:thanks: guys and :bow: for those kind souls that voted.

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

:heh: hi! nice to hear another 1 get into sps.

actually, time frame doesnt really important. even if u r keeping reef tank for 10 or 20 years but never learn fr mistake..... then u r stepping at the same place only. :lol:

althought sps is hard to keep, but with some knowledge & experience, u might able to keep a very successful sps tank.

we have alots of info over the internet, do more reading, make more research, ask more questions.... then u will learn alots of things. looks on those who r success in sps tank, learn fr their experience. :lol:

for a sps tank you will need alots of light, becoz sps love light n especially MH. with HO T5 u can keep some sps too, but for shallow tank will recommanded, try to take a look at Danano's tank :evil: . MH is a good choice too.

sps need a very stable water paramemter like sal, temp, ph, no2 & no3, po4,ca, mg, kh.... etc etc! clean water with lots of water current to blow off waste, slime... etc etc... predator oso need to b take concern or u might pulling ur hair.... :D j/king.

ask for some small frag for u to learn & gain more experience 1st.... then u can b an expert!

im not an expert in sps, im still learning fr others, wat im typing here is juz my opinion. hoping im able to clear ur mind! n never stop learning.....

all the best :peace:

Thanks bro for the encouragement... I will certainly attempt sps once I am confident enough. Yes I've been asking questions and getting lots of help and information from sgreefclub. :thanks: all!

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

• 3 months later...

Well done damienkee, it is true. Whether it is SPS or LPS. You need stable correct parameters. And SPS are particularly very sensitive to such. Especially kH, Ca, and Mg. Needless to say, NO3 and PO4 must be undetectable.

The key point is get a good salt to can produce stable parameters batch after batch so that all you have to do is adjust it with some buffer. Some salts are high in Ca, Mg and low in kH or give different reading in kH when you bought your nect batch. In the market, you will never get salt to suit to your liking, of course that is just my opinion. ;)

Well done damienkee, it is true. Whether it is SPS or LPS. You need stable correct parameters. And SPS are particularly very sensitive to such. Especially kH, Ca, and Mg. Needless to say, NO3 and PO4 must be undetectable.

The key point is get a good salt to can produce stable parameters batch after batch so that all you have to do is adjust it with some buffer. Some salts are high in Ca, Mg and low in kH or give different reading in kH when you bought your nect batch. In the market, you will never get salt to suit to your liking, of course that is just my opinion. ;)

:paiseh::paiseh::paiseh:

bro, since ur last update, its pretty long liao. any update pix to share share ah??? :evil:

ur tank can always create the " :shock: WOW :yeah: " effect for me.