Looking for hermit crabs

bloodymiko

U can try Ah-bengs at Lor Halus.

His place always have lotsa Electric Blue legged Hermit crabs. $5 a pc only!

Alternatively, bro Elune mentioned before u can also find hermit crabs (and lotsa other interesting stuffs) if u comb the beach; he said bro Maxstar is the professional beach comber. He always has lotsa interesting finds. =) Good luck in finding a nice crab~

Most LFS sells them.

Land hermits are very differenet from sea hermits.

habitat diff. Land hermits need a little fresh water.

Moisture/humitdity - 60%.

Read more & decide which type U more interested in

b4 committing. :D

Welcome 2 E club !

wat is LFS?? any links so i can read on them? i read about land types liao....

U can try Ah-bengs at Lor Halus.

His place always have lotsa Electric Blue legged Hermit crabs. $5 a pc only!

Alternatively, bro Elune mentioned before u can also find hermit crabs (and lotsa other interesting stuffs) if u comb the beach; he said bro Maxstar is the professional beach comber. He always has lotsa interesting finds. =)  Good luck in finding a nice crab~

where is Ah-bengs at Lor Halus??? is it a shop? or one of the member here???

i'm new here so dont know... hee.... do u know which beach is good for combing??? gee..... maybe shd ask maxstar.....

hey maxstar, if u see this post, can give some tips???

Land hermits are not actually that easy to keep as most people proclaim. They will do well initially, but when they start to moult it's a different thing. I had the "priviledge" of taking care of strawberry land hermits that were all going into moulting phase. One by one they died on me as they failed to moult properly. The individual undergoing moulting needs to be separated from others, and kept away from ants as well. The ants killed the only hermit that I managed to have it moult successfully.

I'm no expert .... :paiseh:

I just choose to spend more time at the beach.

I have kept a few types of crabs b4 but only 3 hermit species.

As me & bro Fuel mention, land hermits are not easy.

I think normal marine hermits are easiest.

Just dump into tank & let them scavenge..... :P

LFS = local fish shops.... ;)

Please check the LFS directory listing HERE !!!

Do note that electric blue are reef safe but not the normal blue hermits.

I'm no expert .... :paiseh:

I just choose to spend more time at the beach.

I have kept a few types of crabs b4 but only 3 hermit species.

As me & bro Fuel mention, land hermits are not easy.

I think normal marine hermits are easiest.

Just dump into tank & let them scavenge..... :P

LFS = local fish shops.... ;)

Please check the LFS directory listing HERE !!!

Do note that electric blue are reef safe but not the normal blue hermits.

marine easier??? but if i only wanna rear hermit also can rear??? coz i tot i need to provide a marine like environment with all the coral and stuff??? with no fishes in it also can??? if like that, anyone heard that small lobsters can live with hermit???

which are the beaches that u feel have more of such hermit??? can find those sea based hermits on the beach as well?? which 3 types u found often?? the blue legged and normal brown ones???

Normal brown hermits are everywhere along our shores.

So far have only picked 2 blues. The 3rd type is electric blue

which was bought commercially. U can have a tank with just

hermits .... (although i dun understand why :upsidedown: )

so hard to find blue ones??

hee..... dont understand why only wan hermits in the tank and w/o fishes and others??? coz the rest seems harder to take care of lol.... i wanna rear one type at a time ma... then can learn slowly.....

Ermz, actually there are some very hardy fishes you can try as a beginner. Chromis and damsels are a good start....but damsels might terrorise any newcomers you introduce after it has established its terrority. :)

wat are chromis and damsels??? hee.... they arent easy to die ah???