Aquarama Participation Plans

Hi everyone,

As you all know, the Singapore Reef Club (SRC) has been invited to support this event and we will be taking up a booth at the venue to promote our club and the hobby.

I have also been invited to give a public seminar on the last day of the event and I have selected the topic as: ‘Responsible Reefkeeping: How to be a Conscientious Marine Hobbyist’

It will be addressed to potential newcomers to the marine hobby and amateurs, to set them off on the right foot on their responsibilities as a caretaker of their adopted marine pets. The seminar will address myths, mindsets and give a realistic view about progressing in this hobby.

The SRC booth will introduce the reefkeeping hobby to potential reefkeepers, provide basic advice and tips to newcomers and promote ourselves as the local club for all Singaporean marine aquarists to provide mutual support and encouragement, to help people advance in their skills and as a base for knowledge sharing.

In light of these objectives, I will be planning the logistic and materials preparation for our participation in Aquarama 2003 and require the combined co-operation and goodwill of our SRC members in helping the club achieve its goals for this event.

Please step up and volunteer yourselves as SRC should not be a one-man show but a combination of the unity, brotherhood and strength in passion that you guys have shown this entire year since SRC was launched in Sept 2002!

I will detail down the plans and will assemble a committee to help run this event together! Please vocalise your opinions and offer your help early as time is short and we need to mobilise a lot of things asap!

It is an honour that we marine hobbyist have come this far to be acknowledged and recognized in the industry and it is my personal honour to have turn the ignition key... you guys rock!

Let's make our involvement in Aquarama a BIG SUCCESS!!! :yeah:

Thanking you all in advance,

Achilles Tang

Founder and Admin

Singapore Reef Club

• Replies 60

This is the plan that I have for our booth.

1. Multimedia presentations - using LCD screens to showcase

- a gallery of our member's tanks

- powerpoint presentation on basic reefkeeping eg. cycling period

- powerpoint presentation on the ocean environment and what we can do as individuals to preserve it.

2. Posters:

- our Club's name and website

- our goals and objectives

- our milestones as a club: Saving Nemo campaign

- introduction of our website features

3. Flyers:

- basic tips given on how to start up a tank

- List of mistakes to avoid

- some basic guidelines promoting responsible reefkeeping

4. Stickers/car decals:

- promoting our club and website address

I need people to be on rotational shifts throughout the public days (Sat and Sun) to give out flyers, talk to people, relieve each other for breaks, makan times, R&R walkarounds. I will take my annual leave to man the booth on the Trade Days and promote ourselves to the industry but if I have some company, it would be excellent! :)

I need people to help me with the collation, design and preparation work for the multimedia and printed materials.

I need people to help me with logistics in getting the hardware and posters, printed materials assembled, delivered and set up for our booth AND the teardown logistics.

I need fundraising/sponsorship for the following Club event expenses:

1. Rental of PC equipment and other booth setup stuff like stationary etc.

2. Printing of posters and flyers/handout materials/stickers/car decals

3. Transportation costs

4. Provision of drinks and refreshments for volunteer manning staff

I am open to any suggestions on what we should do, how to achieve them and how to raise funds for this event and will decide on the outcome later.

Please feel free to give CONSTRUCTIVE comments as we do not have much time left to plan and make this happen.

Thanks!

You got a supporter here. I think I can only avail myself from four onwards on Saturday but definitely need someone to accompany in case I kalang kapoh. :P

Stationeries... I may be able to help abit with paper and pens...but how about a BIGGER sponsor....R*mour!!! Clap...clap...clap... :P

I can help with the transport and maybe accompany you during the trade days.

Can provide notebook, PC.

I got some pens here.. now then I recall.

its quite fxxx.. but can be used.

abt 100pcs at least.. let me check..

other matters, I may available myself tat day..(half day)

weekend though.. annual leave not much left

after couple of tours this year.

oh yes, I also got kangtao to photocopy at cheap rates. abt 2 or 3cents.

can't recall. but must hurry give me details, month end I will be busy

with my reporting.

printout of poster n colour printout maybe can print cheap too.

let me in the know.

car decal will be great!! hehe..

my own suggestion is to get some marine potential reefers to sign up online

that day if possible. We help them in their registration. Have a couple of

diskettes that have bawater pdf essential readup. or to save costs, each

new members (with emails) will be directed to download the bawater.pdf.

Prepare a sub-section (under SRC) especially for newly signed up reefers on the few days

to be direct to a special site. Welcomes screen with all the essential info. on marine

are located there at a finger tip, or refer to certain threads in the forum.

Some guys who have better ties with the (good) LFS, may like to seek their sponsorship

We can get their shops listed as reputable to source for marine stuffs. this job not for me haha..

I can help to source for the sticker/car decal printing (whoever knows the best market price now, please pm me?) cause I used to do it at Ubi - hope they can give better price if buy in bulk...

I got quite alot of annual leave left, so if u want, I can make myself available to help out at the booth (odd-jobs, flyer guy, kay-poh man... :P )

I volunteer myself to take annual leave for booth duties on Trade days. Though must first highlight minimal experience in marine, but learnt a lot from the forum. So my little contribution to the club. :angel:

Let me know how else I can help too.

Erm other nitty-gritty stuff i can provide:

-chairs (got ard 5 to 6 plastic ones)

-step ladder

-small delivery trolley

Heheh, they may be simple, but we'll need em when we setup or when we man the booths???

Hope this helps... :P The rest may just add on to it...

A) Car decals

1) wedgee

B ) Stationeries

1) Bwilly

2) flubberina13

C) Transport

1) Bwilly

2) Wedgee?

3) yazid

D) IT equipment (laptop and computer)

1) Bwilly

2) yazid

*Anybody has a LCD projector?

E) Printing

1) Bwilly (at 2 to 3 cents)

2) flubberina (0cents but no colour-printing)

F) Booth Helpers

I) Saturday

1) flubberina13 (after 4pm)

2) Bwilly

3) wedgee

4) Nickel

5) Yazid

II) Sunday

1) Wedgee

2) Nickel

3) yazid

I can spare two small plastic stools from Ikea.

cool little bugger I used for viewing my fishes. haha..

but must return back 1.

eh..? IT equipment...? my home pc got

alot of R(A) stuffs not good when someone

wack into it accidentally during the fair.

gonna to shock the kids speechless but

the uncles will love em'.. !

oh yes.

for those volunteering to man the booth. can print

a list of usual FAQ for read up first. then no garang

kapo during the trade fair.

LCD projection won't be good leh.

its space makaning.. unless the floor

area is huge.

more cool will be LCD screen.

about flyers...remember the ones I made for the anniversary gathering...w the SRC logo and edited from Bum's? Would this suffice?

And also T-shirts, how? Got to start printing now if wan. maybe someone just take the initiative to design and present to AT and impress him so much that he couldn't resist not having... :DB)

my home pc got alot of R(A) stuffs not good when someone

wack into it accidentally during the fair. gonna to shock the kids speechless but the uncles will love em'.. !

Censor them lor ... hehe :D I'm sure the DOM's will loveeee them. :P

for those volunteering to man the booth. can print a list of usual FAQ for read up first. then no garang kapo during the trade fair.

Whats garang kapo???

censor? my stuffs is like a few Gs..

my harddisk abt 100G+. dunno how to back up still..

garang kapo is = gabra...? panick.. lohz.

eg. FAQ

Nemo - Parents - 1female/1male today? then grown old n pass

away, how come dad becomes mum now..??

Some corrections... :P

A) Car decals

1) wedgee

B ) Stationeries

1) Bwilly

2) flubberina13

C) Transport

1) Bwilly

2) Wedgee?

3) yazid

D) IT equipment (laptop and computer)

1) Bwilly

2) yazid

*Anybody has a LCD projector?

E) Printing

1) Bwilly (at 2 to 3 cents)

2) flubberina (0cents but no colour-printing)

F) Booth Helpers

I) Saturday

1) flubberina13 (after 4pm)

2) Bwilly

3) wedgee

4) Yazid

II) Sunday

1) Wedgee

2) yazid

III) Trade Days (Thursday & Friday)

1) Nickel

2) flubberina (after four pm)

Bro Flubberina13, think you missed out the 2 Trades days. I can do Trades days only. Maybe bring my family on Sunday afternoon to see why I am up every night checking the club website. Then henceforth no need to be toe toe mo mo (in mandarin means 'sneaky').

Suggest we need to call an event committee meeting after all names are in by Thursday/Friday ? Easier to co-ordinate and get to know the team members too.

Hehe ... its kalang kabut lah NOT garang kapo ... U funny lah!!!

Garang = Fierce

Kapo = Chalk

Garang Kapo = Fierce Chalk ... :D

pronounce agar agar lah..

I also neber attend malayu class lohz..

u know they rojak here in Singapore..

some says JB n even batam too..!

do it on a Monday evening, I can provide free pizzas..

I still pay but at cheaper rate.

pronounce agar agar lah..

I also neber attend malayu class lohz..

u know they rojak here in Singapore..

some says JB n even batam too..!

Aiyah dun worry ... just disturb U only. Infact there R lots of mispelled local lingo in SG forum but as long as everyone understands, its OK lah. I have no problem with that whatsoever :D ... but when the words look soooo funny/distorted, that it means something absolutely different, can't help myself but must disturb the author :evil: .

P.S : Its AGAK AGAK not agar agar = jelly ;).

Sorry :off:

Hi flubberina13,

u need LCD screen or projector?

2ft cube with 2.5 sump

400w MH with 6 x 24w blue T5

Hydor wavemaker controller

Aquatronica controller

Daikin compressor with double coil

RM CR

H&S out sump skimmer

Wow...SRC is really great!!!

So much of comraderie....when someone needs something, someone will volunteer... :)

I experienced it too when planning for the anniversary...

You guys really give good votes of confidence...

really the 'got money give money, have strength give strength' type of guys here..

:bow::bow::bow:

Wow...SRC is really great!!!

So much of comraderie....when someone needs something, someone will volunteer... :)

I experienced it too when planning for the anniversary...

You guys really give good votes of confidence...

really the 'got money give money, have strength give strength' type of guys here..

:bow::bow::bow:

oii.. go to bed..