diving for non-swimmers?

xersion

umm.. how non-swimmer is he/she??

totally cant swim??

scare of water??

i tink, to be able to dive, the basic is to be @ least able to swim 50m..

to me is @ least noes how to stay afloat la..

all dives normally are buddy pairs..

beginners normally stay close to/with instructors and masters somewhere nearby

its a very safe sports if u noe how..

umm.. how non-swimmer is he/she??

totally cant swim??

scare of water??

i tink, to be able to dive, the basic is to be @ least able to swim 50m..

to me is @ least noes how to stay afloat la..

all dives normally are buddy pairs..

beginners normally stay close to/with instructors and masters somewhere nearby

its a very safe sports if u noe how..

You need to be able to swim at least 200 meter to learn diving. It's a safe sport as long as you obey the basic instruction. <_<

As it's a silence world down there.... :lol: you need to learn some basic diving sign language to communicate.

bro shiok- lol..200meters, yes IF U FOLLOW LAW BY LAW lah.

hahaha.. with a BCD inflated @ water surface, its difficult to drown i guess??

bro xersion - with feets touching the floor, i think oni shoreline snorkelling oni leh..can swim means can swim liao.. no worries man, from now on, juz practice and practice, soon u will reach the 200METERS..

any stroke is fine as long as u can swim..

it ok to dive for non-swimmer.

my friend is a non-swimmer.

we got our license at tioman, salang

non-swimmer has to swim 400m but with snorke and fins.

take note it's at the jetty. alone. no instructor beside him.

wah then what happen if ur friend sink?

IMO, being able to swim is important. Wat, if in the worst case, if u need to dump all ur equipment and swim to the boat in case of emergency.. eg, u lost ur snorkel and mask coz u panic underwater and discover ur BC is taking in water coz u rupture the air bladder?

Honestly, i find that the dive agency that certify divers who are non-swimmers are taking a risk and totally irresponsible.

Divers should know that in all scenerios, they must depend on themselves before relying on others for help. Having buddy system when diving is good but it should not be depended on...

I have seen divers when they surfaced, they realised that their buddy had surfaced earlier coz they ran out of air and had to be escorted up by the dive leader or some other divers.

Also, what if both of you hv the same thinking of relying on each other to help if anything were to happen and when murphy's law strikes, both of u realised that both of u cant swim.. i cant really imagine the consequences.. <_<

just to add, Hantu viz can be pretty bad.. i recalled one trip i had, i cant even see my fins. Just imagine the viz.. but there are lots of corals despite the silt... wun be surprise it they are choking due to the silt...

there are lots of things to see.. just that u probably need to go very close... also it depends on the weather and tide... if u are lucky, u might find seahorses. :yeah:

lol.. the very day the guy died in p.hantu i was abt 1km west of p.hantu

current pick up @ 12pm so me and frens stopped ..

viz tt day was ok til the current kicks in..

water become chalky.. but still ok..

singapore water is like dat..

cuz its muddy sea bed.. wat to do..

cant see ur fin? it is very common..

if u complaint abt p.hantu, u shld have try places like sembawang where the NDUs trained.. worst..

i have dived places in singapore where i cant even see my hands, bro..

:lol:..

IMO, its an exciting and fun if u noe wat u are doing..

haiya jus swim frogstyle wif snorkle and fins.

girlone.png