Want to setup a 2F reef tank, need HELPS!!!! TQ

I read the thread that we're all discussing about in Kopi-tiam (How eco-friendly are we?), now that i know the light is not a must to open daily (means that can open 6days a week, saving electricity), it's quite logic also because there will not be sunny everyday, sometime have rain. But about wavemaker? Normally the ocean have strong waves and small waves, can we switch off the wavemaker at night for maybe 4hours and another 4hours in the morning or afternoon using the timer? Just wondering :P Please advice. Thanks.

• Replies 76

wavemaker like they say is to create wave. u actually have an external controller which will control the wave in the tank. :lol:

u can get one form fishtalk in pasar malam. :D

and abt the light, it's not abt the temperature (K).

temperature means how many K but it's abt the intensity.

like how many watts per gallon. SPS needs strong current.

u can keep SPS with T5 but recommend u to get 4 tubes of HO T5 of 20k or 14k..

for 20 and 14k you dun need to have actinic lights to run.

but most ppl will recommend MH for SPS.

actually the chiller part, it depends.

2 degrees diff. is actually okay if the flow rate is slow which means the temperature will not drop suddenly since u running CL650 on a 2FT TANK.

dun need to worry abt that, i believe vincent's chiller is good enough.

rest assured abt that. i am using a teco chiller for 6 ft to run 3ft at 24-25degrees.

actually the temperature should be around 72 to 78F.

which converts to 22 to 25.5degree.

but in singapore u will find that most ppl keep them at 26.

lower range will allows u to keep seahorses and pipefishes. :lol:

. X-Nature . Something Xtravagant for everyone .

links:
our website: http://www.xnature.net.tc
sgreef forum: http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showforum=83

Providing premium delicacies for marine fishes and corals.

My cl650 will make a sudden drop for my 2feet tank right due to the water volume is not so much, i think i will stick to the 1'C different like others :) As for the wavemaker, is Seio 620 or 820 consider as a wavemaker or just a current maker? Sorry for asking all these stupid question :paiseh::paiseh: Is there any way we can diy a wavemaker? During cycling, how many hours will i need to switch the lights on? normal 8 hours? If just on 2 tubes of T5HO will do?

haha...actually u dun really need to on the lights...if it's for the algaes, u dun have to worry abt them. algaes are very strong. :lol:

they dun even need nitrate and po4 to grow, the right temperature and they can grow anywhere.

be it macro or micro...hahaha...

so u dun have to worry abt that.:D

wavemaker and current maker wat is the diff. ??

unless u telling me u think that current is movement in water and waves are movement at the surface like wat u see in the sea ?

no way..hahaha...u not going to create real waves in the tank..for ur fishes to surf ?

hehehe...no worries.

seio and tunza are used to generate water movement in the tank.

links:

hehehe.... :D so confirm can switch off the light for 4weeks+ during the cycling? Just bought 2ft T5HO from one of the reefer here, thanks bro :P If i switch on the light and i use a diy dc fan to blow it to cool down the temp of the T5 light tubes, will it also reduce the heat to water also from the light? :erm:

why u doing that ? haha..since u have a chiller. that will increase ur rate of evapourate and u will need to top up ur water everyday man.

unless u plan to hang on the lights then u can do that as long as it doesn't evapourate ur water, or else u will need to top up water to maintain the SG of the water everyday.

good luck. :lol:

links:

:huh: i mean the diy dc fan blow direct to the T5HO lights but not the water bo.... :ph34r:

Normally if i have 4 x 2f T5HO with me, how many white tube and blue tube will i need to use? I mean like 3 white and 1 blue? or 2 white and 2 blue? Please advice :thanks::eyeblur:

Is 6500k T5HO tube able to use in a marine tank? Or only those more than 10000k T5HO tube? I'm wondering about mixing these different light tubes together, is it good? For example like 2 x 10000k+, 1 x 20000k (blue) and 1 x 6500k, will it be good or worst? :):(

:lol: will do.6.5k can stimulate the growth of corals.

it's kinda yellowish white not the sunlight white. :lol:

that combination will do.

or else u can try 20k. it's more blueish.

as long as it's 3 to 1actinic. the combination is ur own preference.

cos in the end, there is no way u can stimulate the real sunlight.

or else u can try 1X 6.5K, 1 X 10k, 1X20K and 1X actinic.

hahha...all the spectrum. :>

links:

:lol: will do.6.5k can stimulate the growth of corals.

it's kinda yellowish white not the sunlight white. :lol:

that combination will do.

or else u can try 20k. it's more blueish.

as long as it's 3 to 1actinic. the combination is ur own preference.

cos in the end, there is no way u can stimulate the real sunlight.

or else u can try 1X 6.5K, 1 X 10k, 1X20K and 1X actinic.

hahha...all the spectrum. :>

Sorry but i need to ask one silly question again, what is actinic? what color is it??? :huh: what is the different between 20000K and actinic? Aren't both of these blue color? :shock:

Another question, if i use sea water when i first setup the tank and do cycling, and then change the water weekly or once every 2 weeks using mix salt, is it ok?? :pinch::look:

anyone? :huh::huh::huh::fear:

Another question, if i use sea water when i first setup the tank and do cycling, and then change the water weekly or once every 2 weeks using mix salt, is it ok?? :pinch::look:

definately np with that =)

icic :lol: Then i can save a lot of time then :lol::lol::P But will the cycling process be shorter? :bow::thanks:

yup .. somehow it has less trouble cycling ur tank with NSW than salt mix :)

Thanks bro :D Will use this method to cut down the time and the cost :lol:

20k and actinic are both totally diff.

20k is white light with blue tint and y can run 20k without actinic.

actinic is just blue light and u can't run it alone for corals.

links:

:lol: icic, so that mean if i use 20000k tube then i don't need any actinic liao?

Hello everyone. I'm new in the forum. Just wondering if anyone can help me as I want to make a recce for setting up a 4 feet reef tank. Complete with chillers and over flow filtration system. I currently have a 3 feet marine tank with basic set up with live rock and fishes only. Any shop to recommend as I want to full system and roughly the prices. Thanks

Hi, welcome to this forum :) I think you need to post out another topic to seek for assistances :)

Happy Reering :peace:

:lol: icic, so that mean if i use 20000k tube then i don't need any actinic liao?

Hi bro,

u might wanna read this from kent marine university on reef lighting.

This will almost solve all your question on lighting.

HTH :)

Hello i'm back with more question :lol: normally a coral tank need how many watts per liter? had anyone diy a T5HO using the casing of dymax 2 tubes? Thanks :D

Another question is about the micro bubbles produce by the pump to the skimmer, i've been reading some of the thread here and cant figure why everyone seem to dislike the micro bubble escaping to the main tank or the other compartment of the sump tank, what effect will it cause? izit because it will spoil the looks of the tank or other effect which will affect the water condition? anyone can explain to me please? Appreciate the helps :):thanks:

anyone? :huh: