MY 1st 2ft Marine Tank

vdfne

Hi, i'm new to this hobby. Just setup this tank last week. Hope to have some comments from your. :) BTW, my tanks have alot of bubbles inside, duno why. Check with a few frens, they say might be due to my filter inside the tank.. I know that i have put in fishes too fast also, by right should have waited for a few weeks to settle, but cant wait :( . Hope they survive. :nc:

post-34-1183877327.jpg

I see you have got a sea slug in your new tank :unsure:

Do take note that they have very specialised diets and 99% of the time they'll just die and pollute your tank.

Please do stay away from these creatures next time you see them in the shops ok?

Oh and maybe you could give us some info on your setup?

Like water parameters, equipments and such B)

:( duno abt that, brought it from aquamarina last night. the lady told me the slug eat algae so i brought it. Hope he dun die. :(

ph - 8.2

kh - 7

Hydrometer - 27ppt / 1.020

Temp - 30.7

Skimmer - Weipro SA 2011

1 thing, my skimmer doesnt give out those brown bubbles as i see in other forums. Have tried adjust the flow speed but still the same :( Anyone can give my any pointers. Tnks in advance.

izzit going to be a FOWLR tank or reef tank???Wah ur KH try to maintain 8-14dkh.Now how about ammonia,nitrite and nitrate???wah ur skimmer also same wif me after the live rock creatures die off to produce skimmate left only my 2 yellow tail damsel and 2 clarkii clown no skimmate.try control speed still the same and i use the same model as urs.Cause mine 3ft.

girlone.png

Anyone have any site info on the slug? Wanna get more info on it. Tnks!

That slug you have looks like a Phyllidia varicosa

Species from this genus feed on sponges and thus obtain defensive chemicals from it.

If the slug does not die, it'll probably poison anything else in your tank through its defensive mechanism ;)

You can try www.seaslugforum.net for more info on sea slugs

I also use a internal mechanical filter.Sump too troublesome ah btw expensive liao jus keeping easy LPS coral .Later my mum start to nag about spend too much cash.See i knew it cannot trust that lady in the aqua marin shop.But then she told two yellow tail damsel does not fight.But that is the one that is true.

girlone.png

izzit going to be a FOWLR tank or reef tank???Wah ur KH try to maintain 8-14dkh.Now how about ammonia,nitrite and nitrate???wah ur skimmer also same wif me after the live rock creatures die off to produce skimmate left only my 2 yellow tail damsel and 2 clarkii clown no skimmate.try control speed still the same and i use the same model as urs.Cause mine 3ft.

It's gonna be FOWLR as it's my 1st marina tank. Dun wanna go into reef that fast (althought i wanted to :( ) Cause i heard from my fre who also been in this hobby for a few years. He say for FOWLR mainly take note of ph n kh will do, so i hvnt got test kit for ammonia,nitrite and nitrate. Is it a need to test also even for FOWLR? So from your quote, is it mean that my skimmer is ok as it doesnt produce any brown bubbles or? PS, still noob. I have adjust the level to the ring as advise by the long hair guy in ah beng's shop. Brought it from there.

I also use a internal mechanical filter.Sump too troublesome ah btw expensive liao jus keeping easy LPS coral .Later my mum start to nag about spend too much cash.See i knew it cannot trust that lady in the aqua marin shop.But then she told two yellow tail damsel does not fight.But that is the one that is true.

hehe, yaloh. same here. Just started, wanna keep it simple and cheap atm. Might start invest if tank survive well in times to come :D . btw, u hv a chiller for your LPS coral?

That slug you have looks like a Phyllidia varicosa

Species from this genus feed on sponges and thus obtain defensive chemicals from it.

If the slug does not die, it'll probably poison anything else in your tank through its defensive mechanism ;)

You can try www.seaslugforum.net for more info on sea slugs

Sounds like dangerous for my tank :( no wonder i seldom see any slugs in most of the ppl's tank here. Haiz, who ask me see him so chio then nv think much buy liao. :(

It's gonna be FOWLR as it's my 1st marina tank. Dun wanna go into reef that fast (althought i wanted to :( ) Cause i heard from my fre who also been in this hobby for a few years. He say for FOWLR mainly take note of ph n kh will do, so i hvnt got test kit for ammonia,nitrite and nitrate. Is it a need to test also even for FOWLR? So from your quote, is it mean that my skimmer is ok as it doesnt produce any brown bubbles or? PS, still noob. I have adjust the level to the ring as advise by the long hair guy in ah beng's shop. Brought it from there.

Quite on the contrary, I would think that ammonia, nitrite and nitrate would be more important than kH.

This is because ANN are chemicals that are toxic to fishes as compared to kH which concerns more to keeping calcifying lifestock B)

Dun worry too much bro... just wait for another 2 weeks before introducing any LS... i know it's hard to endure :lol:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Yup, brown algea are starting to appeared on my LR... Is it a good sign or bad?

Water permiter:

Sanlity: 1.022

PH: 8.2

Ammonia: 0

Nitrite: 0

Nitrate: 10

Anything else that i should look out for?

If i'm not wrong, base on the reading above, my water shouldnt be a prob. (Hope so)

Any pointers/advises will be a great help. Tnks!

did u check on ur Phosphate (PO4)? Its starting n it can spread fast if nothing is

been done to slow down its process of spreading.

Have u got ur Phosphate media running now?

No, :(

Currently only have a internal filter and n skimmy on the tank.

Will get into the PO4 asap, tnks for the advised