A new beginning

wilsontantw

FWAH YELLOW BRAIN NICE! :yeah: Dont forget to target feed once a week.

This piece is ultra luminous yellow/green. But i guss compared to what others have... mine's just normal.

Any suggestions on how i can do target feedling? And with?

Since this is doing well in my tank, im very inclined to buy more of these.

Btw, i made a little mistake earlier, buying a very big lobo. Am thinking of trading it off for something else. Sigh... must try to control, cannot see one thing, buy one thing...

This piece is ultra luminous yellow/green. But i guss compared to what others have... mine's just normal.

Any suggestions on how i can do target feedling? And with?

Since this is doing well in my tank, im very inclined to buy more of these.

Btw, i made a little mistake earlier, buying a very big lobo. Am thinking of trading it off for something else. Sigh... must try to control, cannot see one thing, buy one thing...

For target feeding use mysis shrimp or market prawn cut into small pc. Cut a container with some holes and cover over the coral when target feeding to prevent fish or shrimp(if u keep any) for snatching the food from the coral. WHen covering coral make sure the container not touching the coral in any way hor. Dont target feed too much just once a week enuf liao. Remember .. small piece can liao.

After brains or prata eat they bloat until 1/4 to 1/2 times more they're size so make sure theres enuf space between them and other corals or kerna sting. If same species then no problem can put close together. This rule applies to most other coral species too. Btw lobos need target feeding once in a while too.

For target feeding use mysis shrimp or market prawn cut into small pc. Cut a container with some holes and cover over the coral when target feeding to prevent fish or shrimp(if u keep any) for snatching the food from the coral. WHen covering coral make sure the container not touching the coral in any way hor. Dont target feed too much just once a week enuf liao. Remember .. small piece can liao.

After brains or prata eat they bloat until 1/4 to 1/2 times more they're size so make sure theres enuf space between them and other corals or kerna sting. If same species then no problem can put close together. This rule applies to most other coral species too. Btw lobos need target feeding once in a while too.

Steady lah! Kum sia for this. i'm so going to do that on saturday! I guess for me, the difficulty is how to keep that c*ck clown that thinks the brain is an anemone, away when i cover up with the container! haha

I think im going to give/xchange the lobo with something else liao. You interested not? Staying in the east side?

Steady lah! Kum sia for this. i'm so going to do that on saturday! I guess for me, the difficulty is how to keep that c*ck clown that thinks the brain is an anemone, away when i cover up with the container! haha

I think im going to give/xchange the lobo with something else liao. You interested not? Staying in the east side?

I am in the mist of transfering my current tank contents to my new tank so i cant add more livestock til a certain period of time. Thanks for the offer bro ... maybe a few weeks more lah then u wanna donate corals i dont mind hehe. But i likely going towards SPS corals liao so certain corals i cannot keep anymore as SPS corals need ultra high flowrate which most LPS cannot stand. Sigh ... the more i study about keeping SPS the more i think of turning back to LPS. But my heart keeps saying go for it ..... U just need to do a search in this forum u'll see how many SPS reefers gave up after only a few months. :cry:

Haha... donate corals, can also lah... but u wun like what i current have (except for that open brain). If your tank cannot fit, you know where to throw you stuff to ah.. i'm still slowly stocking.

Eh, from what i see, u've been quite successful with LPS liao... so now must upgrade to the next challenge! So go for it. For me, i just needed something easy to maintain. Come to think of it, i'm also inclined to go with mostly nice/rare mushies. zoas and brains. This way, can keep slightly few more fishes. I still like the sight of many fishes swimming around the tank.

Haha... donate corals, can also lah... but u wun like what i current have (except for that open brain). If your tank cannot fit, you know where to throw you stuff to ah.. i'm still slowly stocking.

Eh, from what i see, u've been quite successful with LPS liao... so now must upgrade to the next challenge! So go for it. For me, i just needed something easy to maintain. Come to think of it, i'm also inclined to go with mostly nice/rare mushies. zoas and brains. This way, can keep slightly few more fishes. I still like the sight of many fishes swimming around the tank.

Yah best bet is just leather corals and a few hardy LPS then 6-10 chromis plus a few exotic wrasses can liao. CHromis swim in spools if theres enuf of them. Dont buy Damselfish hor they territorial. Heres a useful link to research on lifestock b4 stocking up. http://www.liveaquaria.com/

That's where i get my fish/coral info too! hehe...

the problem is the moment i get to LFS, all those theory goes down the drain liao. Whatever that pleases the eye (and the wallet)... hahaha...

That's what the pasar malam section is for right?

Or maybe can exchange/give to other newbies...

Btw i run this skimmer insump with a Rio20HF (50watts) now.

Holy Molly!

this is HUGE! i gotta measure to see if it fits into my sump first. (i think most prob cannot liao)...

Is my brain growing?? (dosing trace elements/iodide/strontium/calcium... all in 1 day!) hehehe

Yesterday: 13 Feb 08

post-13920-1203021308.jpg

Today: 14 Feb 08

post-13920-1203021327.jpg

Feeding Feeding Feeding!

Iodine make sure dont overdose its poisonous and too much will cause nitrate spike too if i'm not wrong. Anyway been a nice few hrs staying up playing ping pong chatting with ya. Goodnite bro. Skimmer going at ultra low price so let me know soon. Cant go in sump can put beside tank. Nite :wacko:

Holy Molly!

this is HUGE! i gotta measure to see if it fits into my sump first. (i think most prob cannot liao)...

Is my brain growing?? (dosing trace elements/iodide/strontium/calcium... all in 1 day!) hehehe

Yesterday: 13 Feb 08

post-13920-1203021308.jpg

Today: 14 Feb 08

post-13920-1203021327.jpg

Feeding Feeding Feeding!

Your brain wont grow signeficanly within such shot period of time.. LPS grow rather slow compare to sps..

The brain look much happier than before that's why it open up bigger :rolleyes:

Oh ya, feeding is good but remember not to over feed!!!

Iodine make sure dont overdose its poisonous and too much will cause nitrate spike too if i'm not wrong. Anyway been a nice few hrs staying up playing ping pong chatting with ya. Goodnite bro. Skimmer going at ultra low price so let me know soon. Cant go in sump can put beside tank. Nite :wacko:

haha... yah, thats why i also bought a whole lot of test kits yday at AM too.

Wah, you really can tahan ah... dun need to sleep one ah?

Just checking, the skimmer brand is skimz? Will measure the footprint again tonight, hopefully can fit. I also dunno if my fiend wants to sell me this current one that im using, i very much like this skimmer, coz it really works for me. (btw it's also powered using the Rio20). OM me the $$ and usage period can?

Cannot put outside the sump ah... wife will chop off my head. As it is, i'm trying to figure out where to put a CR (if i get one). Chiller put outside she already not happy, luckily got a cabinet to 'partially hide' it.

Your brain wont grow signeficanly within such shot period of time.. LPS grow rather slow compare to sps..

The brain look much happier than before that's why it open up bigger :rolleyes:

Oh ya, feeding is good but remember not to over feed!!!

Oh yah... thats why i follow strictly the instructions from the feeding bottles. in fact, i under-dose a little. Feeding only 2/3 of the recommended dosage.

I'm also intending to do a weekly test of water (before and after water change). This provided i can find time... weekends are so short nowadays... sigh.

Oh yah... thats why i follow strictly the instructions from the feeding bottles. in fact, i under-dose a little. Feeding only 2/3 of the recommended dosage.

I'm also intending to do a weekly test of water (before and after water change). This provided i can find time... weekends are so short nowadays... sigh.

Yupe I under dose too... I currently only dose 50% of recommended value (as my tank is not fully stocked).

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Yupe I under dose too... I currently only dose 50% of recommended value (as my tank is not fully stocked).

your tank not 100% stocked, but from the threads, it seemed like it's very well stocked wor!

hahah... btw, i know we may seemed like strangers, but i've kinda followed your threads (from your old tanks till this new one)... been reading it till like 3am (to learn some stuff from you) hahaha....

Just wondering if im able to view it in person (if u dun mind lah, coz i do drop by UE2 frequently, at the cigar bar n the evening).

Chapter 7: Feeding Time!

So after much consideration, i've decided to give the corals some treats... I had steamboat for dinner, got some left over prawns... hehe... so feeding time begins!

The lobos!

Don't worry, every head gets one!

post-13920-1203266769.jpg

Open brain

looks out-of-shape after eating a huge piece of prawn meat!

post-13920-1203266781.jpg

How do they eat?

Just put a piece of meat anywhere near it's head.

post-13920-1203266792.jpg

It'll start to engulf it.

post-13920-1203266804.jpg

After a few minutes, you can barely see it.

post-13920-1203266815.jpg

Tada... all gone...

post-13920-1203266826.jpg

This moon coral took 4 pieces of prawn meat today!

Think they'll love me for this! muahaha...

Next, Chapter 8 - the newbies

Chapter 8: The Newbies

So after 1 week, some new stuff added, some old ones gone.

First, what's gone...

My 2.5' tank is definitely too small for two adult size tangs. All other fishes are always in retreat. So i've decided (with regrets) to let the sailfin tang go. Buyer was a seasoned reefer, gave me some tips... thanks dude! (The feeding with prawn meat was recommended by him and bro Soul).

Sold:

post-13920-1203267965.jpg

Report to God:

Half Black angel, which i accidently dropped on the floor when transporting out of the tank. Sigh... and i had a buyer for that fish lor!

So, no pix for that.

New!!!

Blue Tang (only 1 day old in tank and he eats like no tomorrow, just like the YT) + Dunno what anthias (surprising, it's slowly feeding already!) It is a yellow top fin, body base is pink colour with yellow patternswith 2 yellow strips at the bottom.

post-13920-1203268320.jpg

Green + blue + yellow

post-13920-1203268394.jpg

Red + pink

post-13920-1203268407.jpg

Red + green + yellow

post-13920-1203268441.jpg

yellow+orange seafan - is $4 too expensive for this? (pix taken abt 4 hrs after introducing to tank).

post-13920-1203268349.jpg

FTS - 17 Feb 2008

So this is the new FTS this week, made some slight positioning changes to the corals.

Added a GSP bridge across the 2 slopes (sadly, im still waiting for the GSP to open up more...)

Some new coraline grow on some new LR... it's slowly getting into speed.

Still a lot of room for more stuff!!!

post-13920-1203268468.jpg

(very tempted to try some easy SPS now, go on... flame me... muahahaha...)

See if you can spot something that i did not showcase here... hehe...

Chapter 9... hmm... will be 'hardware upgrade' i guess...

post-13920-1203268454.jpg

Never invite me over for steamboat ;)

Haiya, you super busy leh... wanted to go LFSing on both sat/sun... you both days also cannot. Lucky this time round, i exercise more control... else, my updates would have a few more posts ah. haha.

Eh, come over when u free lah, give me some advice leh... and bring some freebies over also. muahaha...

The seafan - now we can see the natural colours (yellow + orange tones)... taken in daylight. (Apologies for the glass reflections).

All polyps opening up.

post-13920-1203314014.jpg

Is is a good deal at $4? Or did i over pay? haha...

Somehow i feel that seafans doesn't really last long, so am going to use this as a guage whether the tank water parameters are good...

:evil:

And something interesting to note: For some strange reasons, ever since the seafan was introduced, the YT never dares to swim past it. Anyone has this experience before?

Btw i run this skimmer insump with a Rio20HF (50watts) now.

Wohoo! Sinatra fans. :lol:

Reefing since 2003
 4ft x 2ft x 2ft Mixed Reef (BB):-
50 Gal Sump,

Apex Controlled System (Lab grade),
Deltec SC1455 Protein Skimmer,
Vortech MP40wQD,

Jebao RW-15

Maxspect Razor 320w
Eheim 1260 Return Pump,
Hailea HS-66A 1/4HP chiller,
TLF Reactor 150, running HydroCarbon 

Is is a good deal at $4? Or did i over pay? haha...

Somehow i feel that seafans doesn't really last long, so am going to use this as a guage whether the tank water parameters are good...

Great looking tank!

$4 is definitely a good deal :D

Yes, Seafans are difficult to keep alive for a long period of time... personally, I find them less critical to water conditions... but feeding it frequently with coral food (for filter feeders) and appropriate flow pattern are the key :) I am a seafan enthusiast too :D

All the best!

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica