Binosage's 24G nano tank

albinosage

Nope, skimmer-less, 25% water change every 4 days. Will invest in a Tunze 9002 if I can't maintain the water parameters with water change alone. Haha D700 is my darling, who say I don't want, more precious than my nanocube leh.

With skimmer is gonna be better... :rolleyes:

Before/After :ph34r:

It is damn hard to manual focus with the curved glass of the nanocube <_<

post-15730-1238729719.jpg

Top down, same position:

post-15730-1238729777.jpg

In all fairness, my white balance for the 2 shots below are different, so results are not as drastic as they look:

post-15730-1238729794.jpg

Have been dosing 1/4 teaspoon of vitamin c for 3 days. Conclusion? The colours of my zoas really benefited from the vitamin C, but no change in colours observed for my yumas and mushrooms or bubble. Pink zoas haven't fully recovered to it's full potential yet, but the colours are at least 50% better I think.

the most outstanding result was from the eagle eye

The colour is not very accurate, so I adjusted it a bit to reflect what I see, using the colour of the rocks as reference. Not very scientific or what, but yeah, that was the most outstanding result I had, if you noticed, it has opened even bigger, the skirts are tightly packed together between polyps in the "after" photo.

That was the zoa with rotting polyps and white spots in my old tank, repost of the pic from amby's vit c thread:

post-15730-1235364039.jpg

how come in the first pic u put the clown in a box? and why dun get another one? pair them up ;)

and ur mandarin looks really girly lol. really girl leh! eye so big like manga. omg so cute. i wanna get a girl one now ):

Let me look at mine from top down too...

Yeah, quite a different perspective right? :idea:

how come in the first pic u put the clown in a box? and why dun get another one? pair them up ;)

and ur mandarin looks really girly lol. really girl leh! eye so big like manga. omg so cute. i wanna get a girl one now ):

I had a much smaller tank previously, so have to be selective with what I buy, kept only 3 fishes in the 12 gallon tank. The clown was sentenced to 2 weeks betta box detention for contributing to the death of my first blotchy anthias....... actually no la just kidding. I trapped him first, in case I was adding any fish that week, cause they just shifted over to the new tank. I didn't want it to swim around the whole tank establishing territory, "Mine! Mine! Mine! Mine!". It would be hard to introduce fish in future if that were to happen. :P

Yah the female mandarin is quite cute, I think it's considered a juvenile still cos it's only 2 inches (right?). I think it looks more fish-like than the male fish, cause the dorsal fin looks more "normal". Some like it, some might not, my gf finds the male mandarin's fins alien-like.

I wonder if anyone experienced this, but I noticed my common clowns would fade in colour after some time, but not the true percs. I used to have striking red ones, but colours never seem to hold. ;)

I have no idea about that, but it makes sense, lots of fish are more vibrant as juveniles. There were 2 inch specimens at ML when I bought this, and their colours were similar, so I hope this one grows up retaining the colour :)

Speaking of hawkfish...

Some old pics of the casualties in the 3ft tank crash one or two years ago.

Falco's hawkfish, I missed it so much that I bought one more 2 weeks back, but it died too, within a day :(

post-15730-1238928772.jpg

post-15730-1238928836.jpg

2 of the 4 common clowns:

post-15730-1238928849.jpg

post-15730-1238928863.jpg

Speaking of hawkfish...

Some old pics of the casualties in the 3ft tank crash one or two years ago.

Falco's hawkfish, I missed it so much that I bought one more 2 weeks back, but it died too, within a day :(

post-15730-1238928772.jpg

post-15730-1238928836.jpg

2 of the 4 common clowns:

post-15730-1238928849.jpg

post-15730-1238928863.jpg

Fabulous photography skills... :eyebrow: And lovely LSs mind pming me whr u got tt clown??

Where got skills? Simple snapshots only, if you noticed, only the first picture is in focus haha. It's hard to manually focus the camera on moving targets, so I compensate sharpness for interesting actions. :paiseh:

PM-ed you re: clownfish. Bought from ML before cny this year.

Where got skills? Simple snapshots only, if you noticed, only the first picture is in focus haha. It's hard to manually focus the camera on moving targets, so I compensate sharpness for interesting actions. :paiseh:

PM-ed you re: clownfish. Bought from ML before cny this year.

Use the 3D focus tracking thing :eyebrow: lah... Den dunnit manually focus liao mah... :rolleyes:

I prefer to focus my "fake" macro shots manually. When you shoot up close to the tank, the tank light is so bright and that means less contrast for the auto focus to lock. Anyway, all these snapshots shoot for fun one, I don't really mind the imperfections :P

Forgot to mention earlier in the thread, this cute little red marble sea star bought at the request of my gf. Had a hard time hunting for it :P

post-15730-1239035728.jpg

My cleaner shrimp molesting the mandarin fish yesterday evening :paiseh:

post-15730-1239035773.jpg

The vitamin c is finally working its magic on my yumas! (before pics on page 2 of this thread)

post-15730-1239035901.jpg

And this is something unexpected, because I've never been at home in the afternoons to view my tank. Took a look last Sunday afternoon, and the purple/orange yuma rock suddenly appears so sexy. I think it's not entirely the work of vitamin c, cos by evening, the colour dulled a little. The ambient lighting during the day probably brings out a more intense colour.

post-15730-1239036125.jpg

:yeah::yeah::yeah:

post-15730-1239036249.jpg

ur tank got too many perverts... tsk tsk tsk... lol

Haha dunno is it the LFS's fault or is it me, all my lifestock so corrupted :P