Binosage's 24G nano tank

albinosage

Hi all, just wanna share pics of my recently upgraded 24 gallon JBJ nanocube. Many have asked me to post pictures of my tank previously, but then, shy lah... I'm more interested in fish, inverts and crustaceans, whatever little corals I have is just to add small splatters of colours here and there.

25 Feb 2009 - Old tank in the process of tearing down (12G nanocube):

post-15730-1238393349.jpg

25 Feb 2009 - New tank in the process of transferring livestock:

post-15730-1238393419.jpg

28 Mar 2009 - FTS for now:

post-15730-1238393533.jpg

Nothing much compared to many other old birds, but thanks for looking anyway :)

Will post more pics when time permits. :P

Tank inhabitants so far:

1 x Borbonius anthias

1 x Red ocellaris clownfish

1 x Mandarin fish

2 x Tigertail seahorse

4 x Turbo snails

3 x Bumblebee snails

2 x Cleaner shrimps

3 x Pompom crabs

2 x Porcelain crabs

Super vain borbonius anthias from bro thomas_lim:

post-15730-1238395580.jpg

Dunno why he loves having his pictures taken, seriously, he rushes to the front and poses whenever I'm with a camera. Maybe thomas_lim takes photos of his tank often and is a familiar sight haha :lol:

Terror comes in small packages, 1 inch long clownfish:

post-15730-1238395759.jpg

Now you know why ML lists it as red ocellaris clownfish. It's really this red, depending on how close to the light it swims.

Female mandarin fish that hunts bristle worms for fun:

post-15730-1238395920.jpg

Feeding on mysis, Henry's food and all other meaty stuff.

Female tigertail, part of a pair:

post-15730-1238396018.jpg

Both trained to eat mysis shrimps and hunt for pods in the basket of chaeto in the day.

Porcelain crab, the smaller one is MIA:

post-15730-1238396176.jpg

Bubble coral is home to the clownfish, and sometimes, pompom crab too.

looking great bro~! :D

Thanks bro, need to go gai gai with you soon and hunt for gems! :eyebrow:

nice blotchi!! its bigger than ur LR! haha

No la, it is swimming against the glass, actually it is between 2.5 and 3 inches from mouth to tail. The small clownfish alters the perspective and makes it look big, hahaha.

Bro, the blotchi looking great in your tank.

Colours still as vibrant!!! ;)

Yup, all thanks to you for taking good care of it, it is really in good shape and health. It is the most entertaining resident in the tank now. :upsidedown:

:shock::shock: nice....i love to see a clean tank, so pleasant to the eyes...what's next on yr list bro? more LPS or SPS perhaps...

No sps or lps for me. I prefer soft corals like rics and zoas, cos can get them from bros here in frags to patch up bald spots in the rocks haha. Maybe will keep a clam when I'm confident enough, or a small anemone (don't worry, got experience keeping them :P)

Female seahorse hunting for pods in the day:

post-15730-1238397348.jpg

While the female is away, male seahorse peeps at pompom crabs mating (seriously!):

post-15730-1238397393.jpg

View from the back :eyebrow: :

post-15730-1238397437.jpg

Pompom crab carrying eggs 2 weeks later:

post-15730-1238397523.jpg

perverted sea ponies. looks like u have a corrupt bunch of livestock! seahorses that like X rated stuff, mandarin fish that enjoys murder for fun! HAHA!! and ur one legged porcelain crab. where is it btw?

and ur one legged porcelain crab. where is it btw?

The crab MIA liao. Probably became a nice meal for the blotchy. I couldn't find it even when I was moving the rocks around that day. :(

And yep, my ls are all behaving weirdly. But that's also why I like marine fish, more personality :P

zoom in on tht zoas we nid a positive ID.... :rolleyes:

how come only 3 poylps?

You mean this one?

post-15730-1238404701.jpg

Only the one on the extreme right seems to reflect the true colour leh. All the zoas have been in the tank for only a few weeks, haven't recover from my constant molesting while transferring and tank scaping haha. The ones on the left supposed to be pink zoas too, but they lost colour after shock from the change of light. Will upgrade my lights soon :P

nice! thats a super duper huge blotchi living in yr tank!

very nice and need my friend!

Thanks bro, was using your tank as reference (and lesson on what not to do - when your tank crashed :whistle ). Thanks for taking the time to reply my queries regarding the 24G nanocube too. :)

BTW, I installed the 2700l/h pump to feed the chiller, super strong jet of water even after traveling thru 3.5 metres of hose!

zoom in on tht zoas we nid a positive ID.... :rolleyes:

how come only 3 poylps?

Oh do you mean this one?

post-15730-1238405469.jpg

I got this from ML free when I was buying something else there. Originally had 3 polyps, but I ran out of super glue and since it is stuck on a dead shell, I just stuck it in the sand first. Sadly, one polyp floated off the other day, cannot find it now.

haas.. sure.. supposingly, we were suppose to meet up on last sat huh? haha.. i was busy too..

anw, i like ur zoas.. when passing me a baby frag? haha.. will pass u smth good in return too.. :D

Tank inhabitants so far:

1 x Borbonius anthias

1 x Red ocellaris clownfish

1 x Mandarin fish

2 x Tigertail seahorse

4 x Turbo snails

3 x Bumblebee snails

2 x Cleaner shrimps

3 x Pompom crabs

2 x Porcelain crabs

Super vain borbonius anthias from bro thomas_lim:

post-15730-1238395580.jpg

Dunno why he loves having his pictures taken, seriously, he rushes to the front and poses whenever I'm with a camera. Maybe thomas_lim takes photos of his tank often and is a familiar sight haha :lol:

Terror comes in small packages, 1 inch long clownfish:

post-15730-1238395759.jpg

Now you know why ML lists it as red ocellaris clownfish. It's really this red, depending on how close to the light it swims.

Female mandarin fish that hunts bristle worms for fun:

post-15730-1238395920.jpg

Feeding on mysis, Henry's food and all other meaty stuff.

Female tigertail, part of a pair:

post-15730-1238396018.jpg

Both trained to eat mysis shrimps and hunt for pods in the basket of chaeto in the day.

Porcelain crab, the smaller one is MIA:

post-15730-1238396176.jpg

Bubble coral is home to the clownfish, and sometimes, pompom crab too.

Nice pics... What DSLR u using?? D3?? :lol:

haas.. sure.. supposingly, we were suppose to meet up on last sat huh? haha.. i was busy too..

anw, i like ur zoas.. when passing me a baby frag? haha.. will pass u smth good in return too.. :D

Can..... The red/orange skirt one you want? I've got some loose frags that drop off, 7-9 polyps stuck together.

Anyway yah I was also busy playing with the tank last sat too, chiller went kaboom, was redoing the hose and replacing the pump after repair.

post-15730-1238408356.jpg

Nice pics... What DSLR u using?? D3?? :lol:

No lah, where got money to buy D3 haha. Thanks for the compliments anyway. Using D700 only.. :paiseh:

pic of ur yumas please!! haha. if i have time i go collect the lemon yellow one from you. =x

Bright orange yuma from fragmaster:

post-15730-1238409683.jpg

Not so bright anymore :(

The yuma rock I was so excited about and happy with, 2nd day after purchase:

post-15730-1238409732.jpg

The trimmings were green when I saw at the farm, but sadly doesn't come out under my tank lights.

Taken last weekend, seems to have coloured up and grown many more small ones:

post-15730-1238409801.jpg

Can..... The red/orange skirt one you want? I've got some loose frags that drop off, 7-9 polyps stuck together.

Anyway yah I was also busy playing with the tank last sat too, chiller went kaboom, was redoing the hose and replacing the pump after repair.

No lah, where got money to buy D3 haha. Thanks for the compliments anyway. Using D700 only.. :paiseh:

sure.. we shall exchange one when we meet up.. haha.. tt zoas is pretty..

ur chiller pump also spoil?? mine also spoil.. lucky i got a spare pump in the store room..

u upgrade ur light le ma? i've change my nano PL to LED too.. surprisingly, my bleached prata color up with 2 weeks and now it red red le.. haas..

sry double post... :)