kimkim23

• Replies 409

Thanks for the compliment Jacky bro. Ya will like to add some nice pinky rics like yrs!got frags nxt time inform me keke. My gf don't like rics lolz she say looks like pimples later see Long will hae pimples haha. Anyway can anyone recommend some acrylic makers like Dama in the north side?wanna make a custom acrylic casing for my new led and shall use a glass bottom as advised by Steven bro as after long acrylic might turn yellow.

Heh kiko my suns are drug addicts. Smell epoxy sibei high lolz. Jacky u mentioned the glue to paste fraser are normal household ones or special ones from LFSs har?Maybe go c328 or aquastar look for it hmmm...

Mossrope told me the white thingy ard the sponge can resurrect !hee hoping for that to happen ;)

the glue that jacky is talking about is those normal super glue..

but must make sure have the word "GEL" on it..

super glue GEL...

can be found at some hardware shops.. Homefix also carries super glue gel...

Sorry to rub it in but your spses are dead :X

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

yah i think no chance of ressurection.

thomas, do you have calcium tester? SPS need higher calcium concentration?

On second thought... hmm maybe skip SPS lah. focus on softies and LPS.

in a pico tank, these already might not be easy. All the more difficult with SPS.

Hey saw your zoas frag, seemed to have white dots. hope they are not the zoaspox spreading round the community.

yah i think no chance of ressurection.

thomas, do you have calcium tester? SPS need higher calcium concentration?

On second thought... hmm maybe skip SPS lah. focus on softies and LPS.

in a pico tank, these already might not be easy. All the more difficult with SPS.

Hey saw your zoas frag, seemed to have white dots. hope they are not the zoaspox spreading round the community.

Ur eyes so sharp huh??? Can see the white dots on the zoas... :eyebrow:

was trying to look at the monti, then saw the dots... on the zoas.

Hope it's not zoapox lah...but if it is, you can always pass 1 sachet of furan 2 to him... :eyebrow:

No worries bro its just sand actualli :huh: Guess wont touch on sps liao bah. er.. how do u guys think i can fix my new led lighting up har?coz on top of my tank there are serveral equipments mounted on it.

-skimmer

-food timer

-cooler fan.

i donno how i can i get it done without a stable design..unless its a external fixture la but like very fugly.

anyway i took a pic of my tank from the top..welcome any ideas. :thanks:

IMG_0780.jpg

untitled.jpg

a noobie reefer...

No worries bro its just sand actualli :huh: Guess wont touch on sps liao bah. er.. how do u guys think i can fix my new led lighting up har?coz on top of my tank there are serveral equipments mounted on it.

-skimmer

-food timer

-cooler fan.

i donno how i can i get it done without a stable design..unless its a external fixture la but like very fugly.

anyway i took a pic of my tank from the top..welcome any ideas. :thanks:

IMG_0780.jpg

**slap... u shld have thought of this before getting the LED...

I also dun know how u can install it unless you use a hanging kit.

If you make the acrylic casing, then you can hang it over with a wall bracket.

Did you check the cost for making the casing? Too thin acrylic will warp quite badly since there is much heat involved.

I have got a spare giessemann nova casing if you want to use it.

not sure if it will fit though.

but your tank will be as tall as the light lol.

hmmmm.... What is the dimension of the metal plate.

Maybe some hard plastic box will do the trick.

The sim lim tower black coloured plastic box might be suitable too.

Those used for poly projects.

actually have quite a lot of options to do the casing.

but mounting wise.... might need to hang it.

your LED panel, is it the same dimension as your tank?

or bigger?

ya the panel is bigger then my tank actualli..was wondering if i can just put legs at the side/under the panel then just have it stand over my tank lor...haiz..but still will need the casing if not water might ganna the LEDs.should be making 1 with a glass bottom as advised..wonder how much it will cost but i checked with stewp,his cost him ard $20..

jacky yr giessemann nova casing needs to be mounted on a wall?coz theres no wall near my tank except for my window grills behind =.="

untitled.jpg

a noobie reefer...

ya the panel is bigger then my tank actualli..was wondering if i can just put legs at the side/under the panel then just have it stand over my tank lor...haiz..but still will need the casing if not water might ganna the LEDs.should be making 1 with a glass bottom as advised..wonder how much it will cost but i checked with stewp,his cost him ard $20..

jacky yr giessemann nova casing needs to be mounted on a wall?coz theres no wall near my tank except for my window grills behind =.="

give me the dimension of your plate.

I help u to check if it is possible.

also will need photo of your tank location to help bro.

I am thinking of using

- 2x bookstand (drill hoe and bolt them together forming a letter c-shape)

- tuck it on side of your tank. maybe 2 on each side.

- then just mount your LED on the 2 side.

I am just thinking brazingly.

Hey kimkim,

was surfing on reefkeeping and saw this light hanger.

Might not be that expensive to do...just need to find a metal shop i think..would be a good way to hang your light.

any pics Stewp? that would help.

Oh,

hahah forgot to paste the link :mellow:

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2009-04/diy/index.php

Nice light hanger... :whistle

Thanks for the ideas stewp and jacky..jacky actually i did think about it went to the hardware shop downstair and spend quite awhile at there with my gf thinking of how to mount the led panel..thought of yr bookstand idea and oso to just put 4 metal poles underneath the panel to rise it up..but scare the panel drop oso and theres no protection for the led bulbs..sign... headache la.

.gonna try send a email with pics to tell dama my situation and see wat they say.

the plate measurements are like these --->35.5cm x 20cm x 7cm

i've included 2 pics to show where exactly is my tank too.On my com table...

IMG_6219.jpg

IMG_6220.jpg

untitled.jpg

a noobie reefer...

Bought 4 long sticks of acrylic and 2 sheets of sheets and acrylic glue all from art friend near my office. See wat I can come up with tonight =D

awaiting for your new pics tonight :)

jiayou!