Terry's 3x3x2 Tank

Terryz_

your tank looks much nicer in person like i told you.

maybe you can try taking the shot further back,

include your tank in the picture,

not sure how the effect would look..

love the depth of your tank...

and the way your corals are strategically placed. lol

Thanks... Maybe it is my camera skill and my lousy handphone camera...

Haha...

Yeah, That why I went for 3x3x2... Like the depth...

Must thank Digiman for telling me to place all the similar corals togther if not I would have place them all over the scape.. LOL..

Wow. Is the backdrop stuck on the back glass or stacked up?

No water circulation issues??

It is stuck onto the back glass.. There should be no circulation problem bah...

I think its the DIY foam rock back drop using egg crates as the wall

Bingo, But only half right... I din use the foam as it is black in color, I used white cement mixed with coral chips...

Edited by Terryz_

It is stuck onto the back glass.. There should be no circulation problem bah...

Bingo, But only half right... I din use the foam as it is black in color, I used white cement mixed with coral chips...

Wow using cement, hope you cured your cement.

Yup.. i know they will increase pH I think, cant remember but as long as i dun see a change in pH I put into the tank liao..... So I soak in Fw for 1 week den in saltwater for 1 week before putting into the tank... So far so good...

Edited by Terryz_

Terryz. Can shar how it's "stuck" to the back glass?

I'm thinking of something like what you brilliantly did.

LOL, With sps I think it is a bit risky leh... A slight change in pH will affect the sps??

I just align the small rocks on the eggcrate.

Then do my cement mix with the sand and coral chip.

Next fill in all the gaps and where the rocks meet so that they will stick together.

Den leave it to cure for 2 weeks. 1 week in FW and 1 week in SW after it harden

As for the placing it, I just lean it against the back glass and get a heavy rock in front of it to keep it from toppling... Den okay liao.. But you need to measure accurately the space that you want to place the backdrop...

Will show a photo if I can...

Wow. That's a cool diy job terryz.

How abt starting a thread in diy section?

I saw something similar is RC lately but that was too complicated for me.

Yours look good, maybe I can learn a thing or 2. Am thinking where I can find the "foam rock spray" locally that eniram was talking abt.

Kinda need to expand real estate in main tank.

Wow. That's a cool diy job terryz.

How abt starting a thread in diy section?

I saw something similar is RC lately but that was too complicated for me.

Yours look good, maybe I can learn a thing or 2. Am thinking where I can find the "foam rock spray" locally that eniram was talking abt.

Kinda need to expand real estate in main tank.

Thanks, I just take bit and pieces from RC and do it myself...

But without picture, It is quite difficult to explain... Will try to do a DIY thread for this once there is no problem for it...

The foam rock spray, can get from our sponsor, Aquafauna supplies... The FaunaMarin one...

I think Aquafauna Supplies sell foam also, if I am not wrong, maybe can check with them.

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

I tried before but I cant find them... It is called expanding foam... But normal hardware shop dun have...

You mean Great Stuff Expandable Foam?

I used them to make backings for terrariums

Can get them from Home-Fix , Marina Square outlet. Not every outlet sells them. ^^"

You mean Great Stuff Expandable Foam?

I used them to make backings for terrariums

Can get them from Home-Fix , Marina Square outlet. Not every outlet sells them. ^^"

Yes, That one.. They are only available in black and grey color right?

LOL, With sps I think it is a bit risky leh... A slight change in pH will affect the sps??

I just align the small rocks on the eggcrate.

Then do my cement mix with the sand and coral chip.

Next fill in all the gaps and where the rocks meet so that they will stick together.

Den leave it to cure for 2 weeks. 1 week in FW and 1 week in SW after it harden

As for the placing it, I just lean it against the back glass and get a heavy rock in front of it to keep it from toppling... Den okay liao.. But you need to measure accurately the space that you want to place the backdrop...

Will show a photo if I can...

I dunno if you can see from this photo.. There is a LR in front at the bottom to stop the backdrop from falling over... The backdrop just sit nicely on the LR in front..

IMAG0673.jpg

Edited by Terryz_