Need help for Titanium tube

tanit

Hi

Anyone give me an idea whar can I get Titanium tube (loose sell).

I need some of them to try on my DIY Nano chiller project.

Please help thanks you in advance

Tank Spec :

Display tank : 48" x 24" x 18."'(H)

Sump tank : 25" x 23" x 18"(H)

Return pump : Reef Octopus 8000

Wave Maker : Vortech MP10Wes

Lighting : DIY LED (Cree led) 60 bulb

Chiller : helia 55hs

Skimmer : BM Curve 7

Controller : Reef Angel

Anyone can help?

Tank Spec :

Thanks I will try

Tank Spec :

After you check let me know

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hi Bro... YOu can try...

Teck Hoe AirConditioning Parts Pte Ltd

6/8 Lorong 15 Geylang Road

Singapore 388601

Tel: 67478096

Mr Ray

I checked with them but they are sell as ready made coil. Not in loose sell.

Any more recommedation?

Tank Spec :

• 2 months later...

Hi Bro,

Was wondering you have any luck in locating the material for the cooling fin. I am also thinking of DIY tem chiller but stuck with the same problem.

Thanks

Tank setup

4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft (3 way viewing)

ATI Sunpower 6 x 39w

Arctica 1/5Hp

Skimz SM161 skimmer

Smart ATO system

Jebao DC 12k

Jebao dosing pump (Fauna Marine Lite balling - Thinking)

Jebao RW 15 wavemaker

Upgrading in Process.....

More infomation coming soon!

Wat do u mean by loose sell? U need straight tube n bent it yourself ah? That's y their ready made coil u dun wan izzit?

Titanium r tough metal(hard to shape) that's y alot people dun have such material. Most of time will required ordering.

My dad is in oil rig field n precision engineering. Let me know the size c I can help.

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Wat do u mean by loose sell? U need straight tube n bent it yourself ah? That's y their ready made coil u dun wan izzit?

Titanium r tough metal(hard to shape) that's y alot people dun have such material. Most of time will required ordering.

My dad is in oil rig field n precision engineering. Let me know the size c I can help.

I tot titanium alloy can be bent easily depends the alloys contain...... If not confident, we can apply heat when bending... pure titanium is even much softer and elastic... but a bit X.... Pls verify ya... Thanks :)

Cheers and Happy reefing..

30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif30ikthj.gif
BANNER.jpg
1-3.jpg

LFS Map in singapore

I think you mistaken it with aluminium. Titanium are tough metal.

Tough metal for titanium is a yes n no coz it falls in between the toughest n the weakest n for weight it also falls in between lightest n heaviest.

That's y it's classified as the lightest strongest metal.

Compared to aluminium,titanium is tougher but slight heavier.

Compared to steel,it's not as tough but lighter.

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Bro, I had toyed with this idea very long ago... and this is the qoutation I've got back in Aug 2009. U sure u want!!! The $$ can buy a chiller liao.

Happy DIY!!!!

:thumbsup:

Quotation is from Titan Engineering Pte Ltd

Blk 20 Woodlands Link #08-36

Woodlands East Industrial Estate

Singapore 738733

Ph: 68537424 Fax: 68534970

www.titanengg.com.sg

1. titanium pipe/tube: diameter of 5 cm with 1cm thickness and length 20cm. - Tube thickness for 5cm will be only 1.5 to 2 mm and not 1cm, currently no stock but we do have 2.5cm tubes & 7.5cm tubes as exstock.

2. titanium rod: diameter of 5cm and length 20cm. S$350.00/pc

3. titanium threaded rod: diameter of 5cm and length 20cm. S$550.00/pc

4. titanium pipe/tube: diameter of 5 cm with 1cm thickness and length 18cm. Pls refer to 1.

5. titanium rod: diameter of 5cm and length 18cm. S$320.00/pc

6. titanium threaded rod: diameter of 5cm and length 18cm. S$520.00/pc

The ultimate reason for people to use titanium is that they can withstand drastic change of temp without crack or break.

Sudden drop or rise in temp for this so call ''devil metal'' in the metal industries is well know for it's way of flexibility.

Not susprise with bro mitlancer quote coz I use to think of self milling a pc of RC car undercarriage using titanium coz they sell ready made wan quite ex.

End day ask dad to ask coz my dad got no balance material left. Was quoted like $600 for a pc of 1 n half feet by 1 feet titanium sheet.

Drop the idea at the end. Sian 1/2 lol

I think you mistaken it with aluminium. Titanium are tough metal.

Thanks BFG.... Just notice the feedback...

Sorry, I didn't address properly what I mean.... I think DUCADOS catch some point.....

cause colleage time we r using "Fe" metal base for metal sheet works (it is cheap).... Therefore, I believe it can be fold even easier than normal metal sheet...

As compare to "Fe", "Ti" much lower in term of Rockwell performance and also Young's modulus characteritic. and it is slightly harder than "Al" but still far softer than "Fe" in term of numbers..This is why I say "Soft"...

Cheers....

BANNER.jpg
1-3.jpg

LFS Map in singapore

Until now I still did not get it. As for ready made coil is quite big like for 1 HP compressor. the size thai I need is very small Daimeter ~6mm and coil just 4-5 level with diameter of around 10 cm. My idea is to use peltier attched to coil then run water through to chill it.

Tank Spec :

Wat I meant was titanium is a kind of metal that is hard to deal with.

Must be confusing?Since I mention softer than steel then y izzit hard to deal with? Coz during shaping,regardless milling,lathe,drill or cut,this metal tends to stick on cutting tools n hence make shaping difficult.

E.g people can cut many pcs of steel using 1 cutting tool. For titanium maybe 1pc to 1 tool. Then cutting tools either wear or blunt.

That's y if u were to ask them do something using titanium,their immediate reaction will be asking possible to use other material? If only when u insist then they either turn u down or mean they will charge u sky high price for labour cost.

Copper not possible? Will crack izzit? Very good conductivity of temperature n most important cheaper than titanium in terms of price n manufacturing.

Good luck dude!

Copper not possible? Will crack izzit? Very good conductivity of temperature n most important cheaper than titanium in terms of price n manufacturing.

Good luck dude!

yes, copper has a much better thermal conductivity than titanium. In fact titanium is not a good thermal conductor. It is used in marine because it has better corrode resistance property than the rest of the metal. Copper, ppl fear corrode and will create Cu oxide will leak into main tank and corals cannot withstand high copper.

Alternative is to use aluminum, thermal conductivity is in between the 2 and so far I do not see any articles saying aluminum may affect corals....

Just to share what I know.... correct me if wrong. :)

If I not wrong yes aluminium do affect the water n coral. If u notice marine tank doesn't comes with aluminium frame.

This is part is the reason.

Until now I still did not get it. As for ready made coil is quite big like for 1 HP compressor. the size thai I need is very small Daimeter ~6mm and coil just 4-5 level with diameter of around 10 cm. My idea is to use peltier attched to coil then run water through to chill it.

You may want to reconsider your design. How are you going to attach the titanium coil to the flat peltier? Peltier itself is not energy efficient + the low thermal transfer junction between the 2. I seriously doubt that there will be any significant cooling effect.

Titanium is not easy to work with, they are quite elastic and not easy to bend. Once you try, you will know.

yes, copper has a much better thermal conductivity than titanium. In fact titanium is not a good thermal conductor. It is used in marine because it has better corrode resistance property than the rest of the metal. Copper, ppl fear corrode and will create Cu oxide will leak into main tank and corals cannot withstand high copper.

Alternative is to use aluminum, thermal conductivity is in between the 2 and so far I do not see any articles saying aluminum may affect corals....

Just to share what I know.... correct me if wrong. :)

Hi, Just share something from my bookshelf...

"Introduction to Engineering Material pg 423-425" by Vernon John

about Corrosion, Electrode potential (Anodic V Cathodic) and galvanic series in sea water...

In summary:

for some guideline, do not used material towards anodic (pg 423)... another words whichever, material shows Electrode potential < 1V, anodic material tends exhibited more prone to oxidation... or rust/corroded in layman term.... That is the reason Aluminium, Copper both are not advisable....

the galvanic series in sea water (pg 424).... Titanium shows the best 2nd after gold in cathodic category... Therefore, in general.. titanium corrosion resistance is higher than others.. but they have their own weakness..which doesn't effect us much :)..

That is also some other terminology... probably we can discuss later.... Hopes above few lines helps explain some of your doubt....

Cheers and Happy Reefing...

BANNER.jpg
1-3.jpg

LFS Map in singapore