Frogfish & shrimp

DUCADOS

Wonder izzit possible to keep frog fish n my tank when there's already cleaner shrimp n fire shrimp?

Will frogfish eat them?

I understand grouper eat shrimp but for cleaner he never eat instead park around them let them do servicing. Lol

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

• Replies 94

confirm plus chop the frogfish will eat the shrimps.

Reef
Tank: 48"x 24"x 24"
Lightings: Maxspect Razor 120w x 2

Skimmer: Skimz Kone SK1
Chiller: Hailea 1/4 hp w/ Aquabee 3000
Wave Maker: Tunze 6065 x 2
Return Pump: Eheim 1262
Uv: Coralife 9 watt Uv w/ Eheim compact 1000

Fowlr
Tank: 36"x 21"x 16"
Lightings: Beamswork Ultrabright Led x 2
Skimmer: Skimz SM161
Wave Maker: Maxijet 1200
Return Pump: Eheim Compact 2000

Zzz... Sian half Liao. Saw this frogfish at CF very nice. So tempted to buy but think can drop the idea Liao. Sigh...

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

I suggest u set up a nano tank for the frogfish. They only got very basic requirements. U can keep multiples of them, but they must be VERY SIMILAR SIZE. If not tradegy will happen.

Reef

Fowlr

Wow... Troublesome leh. Still must get 1 more tank. Think gonna drop the idea better.

I did think about sump also but dun1 la. Later shit inside then hard to clear somemore such a nice fish keep in sump is like able to own it but unable to appreciate it.

Alone in tank buey Swee leh. Must got LR then sometime can c sometime cannot c then nice. Haha

would just like to check bros who have alot of experience keeping frogfish here,

is feeding them fresh water guppies bad for their health? i read somewhere that feeding them guppies will kill them, then there are otheres that have no prob with this diet..

any advice?

Answer to your above question is u will have to quarantine those fishes 1st before feeding them.

I've experience b4 by feeding them to my panther grouper. From 2inches it grow to close to 4inches. Then 1 day I saw it with my eye when swallowing a fish suddenly turn upside down within half hour.

For nothing the grouper die so now I learn my lesson n change to feeding market prawn.

For fishes unless I caught at east coast then I feed. I dun buy feeder fish from LFS for them anymore

would just like to check bros who have alot of experience keeping frogfish here,

is feeding them fresh water guppies bad for their health? i read somewhere that feeding them guppies will kill them, then there are otheres that have no prob with this diet..

any advice?

There are 2 school of thoughts here:

1. Feels that feeding freshwater fishes are ok since most parasites from fresh water will not be able to survive in salt water
  2. Feels that fresh water feeder fishes are usually badly raise and thus may be diseased and also lack of the essential nutrients needed by marine fishes

I feels that if you supplement your frog fish diet with vitamin enriched mysis or to gut load your guppy with vitamin enriched food, cyclop before feeding them to the frogfish may be the way to go.

HTH ;)

Ya. Wat bro Gouldian say also got a point!

So you getting the frogfish? If yes, please share your pictures. ;)

i had one , white with red patterns. up lorry within 1 day after feeding guppy. changing to fowlr soon so wana try again........

is it possible to feed frogfish market prawn? as in pieces of it?

here are two very nice froggies that i saw while diving in bali, not in my tank yet lah but.........

post-5842-12729381837818_thumb.jpg

post-5842-12729381857728_thumb.jpg

taken at manado??

Taken at tulamben , this feb. great diving. went to manta point as well and had great close ups with manta rays...

whenever i come back from dive trips feel very quilty looking at my fish tank... mayb thats why i always overfeed.... lessen my guilt haha

u dive as well? i looking for more dive khakis..... this june have 2 trips to tioman....

I have kept many frogfish before.

Personally I do not like feeding freshwater fishes due to the parasites etc in them, although its the most affordable feeding method.

I know this may sound bad, but i actually feed damsels and chromis to my frogfish.

Frogfish is a interesting species, and they are very beautiful imo.

If you have a refugim, you can even keep it there. Just make sure the pumps are hidden nicely to prevent the frogfish from being suck in.

Alternatively, get a nano tank or just a simple set up. Anyway if your tank too big, the frogfish might have problem catching e fishes.

Reef

Fowlr

Taken at tulamben , this feb. great diving. went to manta point as well and had great close ups with manta rays...

whenever i come back from dive trips feel very quilty looking at my fish tank... mayb thats why i always overfeed.... lessen my guilt haha

u dive as well? i looking for more dive khakis..... this june have 2 trips to tioman....

coool... planning to go there soon!!

i dive as well.. but still newb.. blushing.gif

i had one , white with red patterns. up lorry within 1 day after feeding guppy. changing to fowlr soon so wana try again........

is it possible to feed frogfish market prawn? as in pieces of it?

You will need to train them to recognize market prawn as food.

Frogfishes will use its illicium/esca to lure small fishes and crustaceans before consuming them. Thus its natural feeding behaviour is to taunt and lure before feeding thus you will need to start by with live feeders and slowly convert them to dead food by dangling them in front of them. I feel that dangling frozen mysis and releasing them in front of the frogfish works better than cut pieces of market prawn.

one more thing to add, the frogfish will eat any fish that can fit into his mouth. So bear in mind to get feeders smaller than the size of the frogfish to prevent it from choking and indigestion.

Feeding programme: 2-3 times a week would be more than sufficent.

Any dun mix frogfish with lionfish. I heard of frogfish eating up the lionfish. In the end, both went up lorry.

Reef

Fowlr

In a recent Hawaiian shipment at Reborn, there was a A. tuberosus, seldom imported into Singapore. Heard that they may consider to bring in a few more.

http://www.frogfish.ch/species-arten/Antennatus-tuberosus.html

Wonder izzit possible to keep frog fish n my tank when there's already cleaner shrimp n fire shrimp?

Will frogfish eat them?

I understand grouper eat shrimp but for cleaner he never eat instead park around them let them do servicing. Lol

Definitely bro, a frogfish will eat anything that moves and its mouth can swallow. Frogfishes are not recommended for community set-up.

sharing my months of experience and research in frog fish, still very green

it will eat anything equal or smaller size than itself

but better to feed 50% of its size to reduce the risk of choking

normally it does not do well in a comm tank due to the reason above and

it is very unlikely to catch its prey, esp in predator tank

feeding FW shrimp is better than FW fish as

FW fish contain fats etc that harm SW fish if fed long term as a staple diet

feeding once or twice a week is more than sufficient

if you see the frog fish extending its lure, that means it has settled down

it does better in small and shallow tank as it prey on sand bed

make sure your tank is well covered as it is a great jumper when spooked

it doesnt move about and a lot find it boring

but i find it interesting, esp when it is preying

some find it weird & ugly, but i simply love its unique character & pattern

please dont flame me, all these are just my personal opinion

i just love my frog fish :D

1z1hfzl.jpg

Nice specimen above.

The 1 reborn having also not bad. Less than 2 blue notes.