Reef club Dive trip??

hammerhd

So many divers here yet no dive trip organise yet....

How abt a dive trip for all the divers here???

Option 1- near place=cheap= tioman/aur

Option 2- Far place=expensive=sipadan/maldives etc

So any1 interested???

• Replies 52

Tioman/Aur/Dayang?? what u want to see or do?? just blow bubbles together?? nothing to see leh..

Sipadan/Maldives... not much ppl can afford leh...

Try further north a bit lor...

If worst comes to push, Dayang or Aur lor.. Tioman is slightly more expensive than both of them...

If really desperate, can try Hantu!!!!.. hahahaha... i have yet to try diving in "sugarcane" vis water before... but 1 thing for sure, i wun bring my own gear.. not worth washing it.. scared got oil stains.. yucks... :angry:

tioman under 300 ? u r kidding ? include timotel stay ? i m not gonna sleep on the slow boat for 4hrs.... <_<

anyway., philippines is a good one but i think for a start we should start with somewhere nearer to get to know ea other first before venture into somewhere further.... ;)

If really desperate, can try Hantu!!!!.. hahahaha... i have yet to try diving in "sugarcane" vis water before... but 1 thing for sure, i wun bring my own gear.. not worth washing it.. scared got oil stains.. yucks... :angry:

It's not THAT bad...... :lol:

Not trying to be a wet blanket, but this kinda plannings are generally doomed to fail from the start due to lack of a definately time and place. By the time a date is finalised that is suitable to everyone, .......season over liao.

________________-

For the brave.... just organise a time and place.... set the price and stuff.... those wanna join... pay up or shut up.....

________________-

I unfortunately, will be unlikely to have any free time till late in the year. :cry:

Si Guinness talk so much yet cannot join us :angry::P

Who interested 1st.BTW i at least next month then free hor.

Juz a queation what happened to all those new divers tat just got certificed????

They all like very quiet leh.

kelvin, wanna try philippine waters? ;)

jon,

what is the price? accommodation staying with u?? hahaha... that will save a lot leh...

of course got tiomotel stay lah.

Next day fastboat over.

The price i get is under $300.

Salang somemore :lol:

tempting.. but date?

kelvin, will try to check out the best dive spots and price when i go back... but really interested in a certain place, donsol bay which is said to be a haven for whale sharks and mantas.... also, what's expensive is the air ticket goin there, but once there, everything else is cheap... wait til valuair gives promo ;)

ok.. keep me inform... i dun need any gear.. i have everything already... :lol:

Lets make it at june loh.

Give me a month to get my $$.

i calculate the tide 1st then confirm the date.

Also must confirm with my operater's side. ;)

ok keep us informed. I m going to do my AOW this month so that give some time for budgeting too haha....

i still lack regs..... what dya recommend?

which BC u bought?

Apollo bio-filter ;) .. u very rich hor....for that price, i rather get poseidon by adding a bit more..

let me know.. i need to service my regs first before going.. or should i just trade in for Sherwood Maxiumus??? hmmm.... :lol:

i bought the zeagle escape..... no need to service lah... just pass me then upgrade to a new set.....

seriously, any recommendatation from my first guru???

pass it to u??? ha.. u got to be kidding me.. if i were to hand it down, it would be to my fiancee.. hahaha...

hmmm zeagle escape.. back floating eh???

for regs... u need to know whether u want balance or non-balance, diaphram or piston...

Me using non-balance, diaphram... Using a Sherwood Brut.. it is simple and easy to maintain.. usually ppl use it for rental sets.. very hardy. OK.. i admit.. no budget.. hahaha. :lol:

just a note, for non-balance, once u reach low air, it is vey difficult to breathe, giving u an indication that u are low on air,

for balance, u get a steady stream of air throughout, regardless of the air supply.

Also, u need to know what is your budget.

We can recommend u to get the top range models but if u dun have the budget, it is useless..

Also, divers tends to be slightly bias and always promote their regs.. me is no exception. :lol:

One of my all time fav is: Scubapro MK25/S600 :P and Poseidon x-stream :P and Sherwood Maximus :P

For SP set, it is approximately going at 1.2k without gauge and octopus.

For poseidon x-stream, it is going for approximately 750 - 800+ just for the 2nd stage.. without hose and first stage. :erm: U probably need to get the DIN converter as well.

If budget constrain, say u want to spend ard $800 for the entire set,

U can consider getting Apex Tx50 (heard lots of reviews for it but personally, i have not used it.. heard that it is quite big and for long dives, u might get jaw fatigue coz it is slightly heavy) while for gauge, u consider getting 2 in 1 or 3 in 1...

Personally, although i have dive com, i still have a depth gauge, this is because you do not know when the dive will screw up and die on u during the dive.. u need to know your depth and do your safety stop. (compass planning to get either wrist mount or BC mount).

Alternatively, Sherwood is also a good brand to consider, like Oasis. Maximus will have the swivel which u like and that allows u to underslung the hose. However, it is just a gadget that i can do without. Of course, maximus have the knob which allows u to adjust your flow rate according to demands.

I have seen divers using bio-filter regs in one of my trips, very troublesome leh, to inject some liquid thing into the first stage to keep the air moist... also, i can do without.. additional cost for some comfort... it really depends on u and your budget.

For Octo, u dun have to get a good one.. a simple $100 one will do.. coz u hardly have to use it.. of course, other ppl might think otherwise... like me.. hehehe.. coz my octo can be used by me and i pass my primary reg to my buddy.

U can also cut down on 1 hose by using Air 2.

The options are endless, it starts with your budget and what u want... then perhaps u can upgrade along the way...

As wat Kelvin said, depending on ur $$$

Or wat kind of 1st stage u want.

Diaphram or piston...

Piston reg are cheap, buttttt............... at depth u have to suck very hard for the air.

Diaphram better but have to see wat depth they rated to.

I have seen a diaphrm rated up to 40m only..

BTW wat kind of diving will u be doing in the future????

Nitrox or trimix or juz air?? u must consider wat u want to get or else u have to get another reg in the future..

Remember u pay peanuts u get monkeys.

This is a life supporting item underwater so get a better 1 :lol: