My tank new look

Dispar_Anthias

• Replies 1.1k

My new addition..... halicheores scapularis aka zigzag wrasse from red sea.... tested and proven, feeds on zoos eating nudi, crabs and pyramid snail..... Excellent for those that do not have tiny shrimp...... best of all this guy dun dig into sand like leopard wrasse and other thalassoma wrasse do.... ;)

taken with flash ;)

post-34-1115100672.jpg

wow...looks beautiful...

bet it must be rare specimen again eh?

not rare just that i seldom arrive in red sea shipment.. dunno leh, i find lfs owner very prejudice against wrasse....

since you liek it.... another pic :lol::lol:

post-34-1115101510.jpg

DA, if u find a fish that eats cyano for breakfast, tell me hor.. Got a buffet in my tank now

hehe the halichoeres is proven to wack pyramid snail.... as for the nudi i was looking for a wrasse that wack the nudi(in RC thread there was a pic of this wrasse), can't find it... Got this, I spotted a nudi on my glass yesterday try to catch it but it flew lose, and i was thinking oh no, if this guy stay in my tank i gotta be in some trouble... out of the blue my zigzag wrasse just wack it and then into its stomach ;)

now for your fish that eat cyano., none that i really know.. but I do know 2 spot goby keeps sandbed super clean... you may want t try those but they are not easy to keep... my fren tried a pair and the cyano and diatom just disappear..... I guess small amt of cyano will but i not sure how much red carpet you have lolx :lol::lol:

Really nice wrasse indeed! I really admire your courage to get it as that time both of us were still unable to ID it.

At 1st, both of us suspected it was a Helicheores but I back down after the lfs owner told us that it could be a Thalasomma.

But you stuck to your convictions and bought it. :bow: :bow :bow: Really learned alot form you bro.

Really nice wrasse indeed! I really admire your courage to get it as that time both of us were still unable to ID it.

At 1st, both of us suspected it was a Helicheores but I back down after the lfs owner told us that it could be a Thalasomma.

But you stuck to your convictions and bought it. :bow: :bow :bow: Really learned alot form you bro.

haha bro... no lah.... frankly i bought it on impulse :fear::fear: for its beauty and at the same time having the belief that it was a halichoeres despite the lfs owner said that it was a thalassoma..... Why?? cos when this wrasse was in the tank it was swimming very slow unlike thalassoma which would be lapping and dashing ard the tank...... its body shape was curvy and resemble those of halichoeres.. thalassoma was more torpedo like ;)

In RC MUCHO REEF has found out that sea grass wrasse feeds on zoos eating nudi.... However that fish is not easy to find.. thus the zigzag wrasse maybe an alternative solution.... This fish is not commonly collected but it was brought in by one of the sponsor.. So VIC you know what to do liao ;);)

bro you back down cos you wanna convince me to buy :eyebrow::eyebrow::lol::lol:

Yah loh, I also noticed that it does not swim like the Thalassoma but just dun have the courage like you. :bow:

Ya lah. No go cheong LFS also didn't update us right?? Got kakis with cars can already lah.

Har what talking you??? :unsure::unsure: eh lazy to update lah..... i post the wrasse is to share good news with zoos keeper ;);) Like i say this wrasse is through first try and first hand withness by me, I am not sure if all the same wrasse would do the same ;)

Anyway for more info..... look here ;);) a tiny write up by me on the last page and a detail write up by MUCHO REEF http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthre...25&pagenumber=1