what are the gobies available ?

chercm

pls advice

which one is meant for cleaning up the sand bed ?

Humble tank :

Size: 4x2.5x2 ft - Display 

Equipment :

Return 1 : Ecotech marine L1

Return 2 : Ecotech marine M1

CR : Skimz CM122 - Caribsea extra course media with Grotech magnesium

Light : ATI 8x54W

what is the difference between the sand goby and the rest of the gobies ?

Humble tank :

Equipment :

is my sand suitable for the goby ?

dsc_0279.jpg

Humble tank :

Equipment :

sand-sifting goby

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/scateg.cfm?pCatId=1851

but with the grain size of your sand, those gobies will die eating -LOL- all swallow death. grade 0 or 1 only suitable.

what's your problem? you sand bed getting dirty? for that size of your sand, you should perform sand bed cleaning\vacuming regularly.

IMO:

you can try add-in (few) new powerhead(s) to help blowing across the sand bed, to reduce garbage stacked up there.

hth

oh, i read some threads at RC on relevant topic, ppl concern that gobies spill the sand crazyly, covering their coral.

generally watchman goby like the diamond is the recommended one, as it sift\filter the sand be right back at where it suck them.

yellow head will make a big mess, if you dont mind.

hth

mine only 2 ft tank , still need one more seio ?

Humble tank :

Equipment :

mine only 2 ft tank , still need one more seio ?

you can readjust your powerhead to have move power\flow over the problematic spot.

Or new small-power\flow flow should help.

but noted such approach doesn't mean you don't need to maintain the sand bed. You still need, but can be less frequent, and minimize the working spots to other more flows-stagnant areas.

me personally, i would gradually replace the sand, and get a long-time sand-sifter to work for me. 1 stone 2 birds :D

an another way may be to dose the anti-PO4 or more carbon running to ease the bad chemical build-up (not my preference). But these only should be practice by ppl with more confident.

Marine tank is like a small mini-chemistry lab, play-play with it and your livestocks may "mutate"..... hehehehee.... :D

how big is the sand shifter?

sand shifting sea stars get pretty big so not recommended.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Di....cfm?pCatId=572

best to get an algae blenny. although not a sand shifter, it does look for food in the sand.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Di...y.cfm?pCatId=94

sandshifter gobies

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/scateg.cfm?pCatId=1851

the two spot is commonly seen in the lfs.

shrimps gobies also do a good job of shifting through the sandbed, especially if paired with a pistol shrimp. but be careful, the digging into the sandbed might cause some rocks to fall if not stacked properly. if you added sand then rock during initial setup, you may have some problems with the digging.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/scateg.cfm?pCatId=1852

is my sand too big for the goby ?

Humble tank :

Equipment :

i had a star in eachof my tanks to handle such problems like excess "remains" or waste laying on e sand bed.....so far so gd....got them for abt $3 - $4 each, depend on size.....got a bigger one for my 3ft...

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xfire clown/ 1xyellow boxer

1xpercular/ 1xcoral beauty

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

1xcoral beauty/ 2xfalse clowns

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

1xyellow tail damsel/ 2xcleaners

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

bro .. u only have 1 twin spot goby ? they need to be in pairs leh ... from what i heard ... they are one of the hardest sand sifters to keep.. keep before a pair ... one of them kena attack by by annoying boxer shrimp and died ... the other one slowly wasted away ... IMO u should try a blue cheek goby aka golden head sleeper goby. mine sifts all the time and is not a shy fish .. very interesting to watch ... should consider tt if u happen to have any more space for sand sifter ..

Nah, no problem being alone...it harressed the partner i got for it to death. <_< Its terribly hardworking, thats the problem...digging holes around my corals and burying them....hah. BTw, its fine being alone for the past few mths...so guess dun have to be in pairs... :)

My Newbie Tank Thread

My Blog

All pics taken with CanoN!~

where got sell the star ?

i went to AM but they do not have

Humble tank :

Equipment :