Water to use

lcf425

Bro, there is no hard and fast rule on how much you need to spend in order to keep sps. There are reefers who manages with less than 2k but there are others who after spending more than 10k.

However, some basic you need to know about keep sps happy are:

1. A good skimmer (1-2k for a decent size skimmer)
  2. Good circulation (Recommended 40x your tank volume)
  3. High intensity lights (MH, LED, VHO)
  4. Supplements (Ca, Mg, Potasium, Inverts food, etc)
  5. Reactors (Calcium Reactors, Fluidized Reactors, Sulphur Reactors)
  6. Test Kits (No2, No3, Ca, Mg, Po4, etc)
  7. Chemical Filtration (Phophate removers, Grunulated Activated Carbon)
  8. Stable Temperature no exceeding 29 degree (Large chiller)
  9. Wave Makers (Tunze, Hydor)
  10. Controllers (Controller wave makers, water top up etc)
  11. Good Salt-mix (With high Ca, Mg etc but low in Po4 and No3)
  12. Clean water source for top up and mixing (DI, RO/DI, Distilled)

HTH ;)

on man! kk will start from this list you have .... currently my tank is about 18in by 30cm ...using red sea prizm skimmer...filter just a normal hang on may upgrade...

yea trying to upgrade myself ma...so evil =(

cause my tank is in an office whereby the aircon is blowing it and something the water reaches 22C =.=

how much is the LED lightset saving that first cause its really really beautful!!

btw bro you dun have a calcium reactor?? not a must de ar??

And how much did you get the wavemarker ar i just went to aquamarine cost a bomb =.=

lol another 10,000 questions.... haha .....

22 deg cel is too low.

LED startup cost is higher than other lights. you might break even over 3 years. Maxspect LED 110W cost close to $450.

calcium reactor are for SPS tanks. SPS sucks calcium.

if you are keeping mainly LPS, save the money.

MP10 cost about $400.

on man! kk will start from this list you have .... currently my tank is about 18in by 30cm ...using red sea prizm skimmer...filter just a normal hang on may upgrade...

bro, yours is a nano like mine.....

go easy, focus more on softies and lps.

maybe 9 months later than start on simple SPS like monti, radioactive Birdnest :)

22 deg cel is too low.

LED startup cost is higher than other lights. you might break even over 3 years. Maxspect LED 110W cost close to $450.

MP10 cost about $400.

wa lao wanna know more ma =(

yea i know the air-con blow there like 10hrs a day

yea someone selling off a maxspect led at $440 second hand considering if my wallet allows =.=

just wanna double check sps are those corals when they die they turn white de right? while LPS is the rest?

maybe 9 months later than start on simple SPS like monti, radioactive Birdnest :)

yea saving up first lo haha

wa lao wanna know more ma =(

yea i know the air-con blow there like 10hrs a day

yea someone selling off a maxspect led at $440 second hand considering if my wallet allows =.=

just wanna double check sps are those corals when they die they turn white de right? while LPS is the rest?

yeah.. the rest are LPS and softies which are much less demanding....

btw the skimmer ok ma? and what degree C is correct ar?

yeah.. the rest are LPS and softies which are much less demanding....

any tips or advises to give haha.... oh and that led lights can hang on top de ma? cause i doubt i can drill a hole in the office =-.=

22 deg cel is too low.

MP10 cost about $400.

ok tml tio 4D i buy upgrade all LOL!

btw the skimmer ok ma? and what degree C is correct ar?

Tunze 9002 skimmer? cannot make it.... try to use mce 300 or at least remora nano skimmer.

any tips or advises to give haha.... oh and that led lights can hang on top de ma? cause i doubt i can drill a hole in the office =-.=

there is a bracket that you can use to put on top of your tank.

no need to drill.

btw bro i notice i did not see what filter you using ar?

using mce 600

ok tml tio 4D i buy upgrade all LOL!

good luck bro... HUAT ARH!!!!!

Tunze 9002 skimmer? cannot make it.... try to use mce 300 or at least remora nano skimmer.

nope using this http://www.redseafish.com/Prod126.asp as skimmer ok ma?

there is a bracket that you can use to put on top of your tank.

no need to drill.

hmmm if i use this and put it so close to the tank i guess i must prepare a skimmer too yea?

using mce 600

this is your skimmer or filter??

good luck bro... HUAT ARH!!!!!

number is 0000^^!

oops.. that prizm skimmer lagi jialat... imo.

fall back to mce 300 or remora nano ...

price around the same I think.

filter.... a bit complicated to explain.

technical i use a filter sock to mechanically clean the water.

yeah u will need a skimmer.

oops.. that prizm skimmer lagi jialat... imo.

fall back to mce 300 or remora nano ...

price around the same I think.

filter.... a bit complicated to explain.

technical i use a filter sock to mechanically clean the water.

yeah u will need a skimmer.

Gg I bought that skimmer le tmd =.= why ar that skimmer cmi ?

can lah... but not as effective...

I believe a good skimmer helps to keep a nano easier.

they always say WC frequent, dun need skimmer......

but unless if you really have that discipline to be like ah siang... WC every 3 days... else a good skimmer can help keep your water clean longer....

also in nano, very easy to overfeed. this leads to algae, high nitrate etc....

with a good skimmer, this problem is less evident.

but redsea prizm also can lah... you just need to balance your skimmer effectiveness, stocking level, feeding regime, WC frequency :)

just like mp 10 is a wavemaker. if cannot get one for the time being, koralia K1 is also a usable wavemaker.

LED is nice, if cannot get, use T5, if cannot get T5 use PL lor...... :P

just that stocking level and LS selection will be different then.... but you still can set up a nice tank using whatever eqpt.....

just different type of nice reef tank.....

btw my 1 ft cube tank all low budget stuff.

PL light, HOB liberty filter, using fan. total cost $120 only.

but trying it make it look nice :)

can lah... but not as effective...

I believe a good skimmer helps to keep a nano easier.

they always say WC frequent, dun need skimmer......

but unless if you really have that discipline to be like ah siang... WC every 3 days... else a good skimmer can help keep your water clean longer....

also in nano, very easy to overfeed. this leads to algae, high nitrate etc....

with a good skimmer, this problem is less evident.

but redsea prizm also can lah... you just need to balance your skimmer effectiveness, stocking level, feeding regime, WC frequency :)

just like mp 10 is a wavemaker. if cannot get one for the time being, koralia K1 is also a usable wavemaker.

LED is nice, if cannot get, use T5, if cannot get T5 use PL lor...... :P

just that stocking level and LS selection will be different then.... but you still can set up a nice tank using whatever eqpt.....

just different type of nice reef tank.....

Oh was thinking save up then get a better one started off if ... Yea in fact my previous tank I change water every 3 days

hmmm was thinking copy your tank since you have used and looks so nice ...money wise save and work sell butt lo LOL

Btw my tank what filter Should I get ?? Currently using some hang on filter doubt it's good enough=[

this one.. i really dunno....

I don't think there is any good HOB filter in the market suitable for reefs.

What about the Eheim ones?

I am using the eheim liberty filter 2042 for my 1 ft but the carbon cartridge kind of sucks and they are not cheap.

http://www.eheimasiapacific.com/prod_eheim_filter_hangon.html

Will be trying to mod them to contain my rox 8.0 carbon, polyfilter.....

if that can be done, then it will be an awesome HOB devil.gif

I am using the eheim liberty filter 2042 for my 1 ft but the carbon cartridge kind of sucks and they are not cheap.

http://www.eheimasiapacific.com/prod_eheim_filter_hangon.html

Will be trying to mod them to contain my rox 8.0 carbon, polyfilter.....

if that can be done, then it will be an awesome HOB devil.gif

bro if you happen to see any good deals on a better skimmer in market please tell me as i see lai see go dunno which is good or bad =.=

hmmm hope all goes well then i copy from you wakkakaak ^^

bro if you happen to see any good deals on a better skimmer in market please tell me as i see lai see go dunno which is good or bad =.=

hmmm hope all goes well then i copy from you wakkakaak ^^

monkey see monkey do.....

lol... ok ok np. will keep you posted if I come across any better ones.