Reefzzz Tankie

Reefzzz

After some thought, finally decided to chronicle my setup after viewing so many members done theirs... I should have put up my design for fellow reefers comments before commiting to build it... I may have done it differently if i had join this forum earlier... ;);) ... Anyway, tank is already made and i have decided to make the best out of it... :idea:

A pix for the setup....

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

• Replies 541

Opps.. must be too nervous... forgotten about the pix.. :P

3ft by 1.5ft by 1.5ft with sump...

i think i had made the cabinet slightly high.. :D

post-34-1158341664.jpg

Here comes the side tank for the refugium....

Overflow will enter this refugium then to the 2ft by 1ft sump...

post-34-1158341806.jpg

Had made the hole at the side instead of the bottom of the tank. Not sure if this will give problems later on... HOPEFULLY NOT... :huh:

post-34-1158341898.jpg

LS from previous tank are currently housed here....

post-34-1158342018.jpg

Another view with the chiller...

post-34-1158342079.jpg

:unsure: Low bat for the pH meter.. Time to change battery...

post-34-1158342197.jpg

That's all i have for now.... Need to get the piping done by next week...

Dilemma

Not sure want to use 1x150W MH or a bank of 4x39W T5... Concern is my underpower 1/10hp resun chiller... Not sure if this chiller can cool the water if using MH.

Intended inital LS

>> Some LPS, soft corals (mushies) & 4 - 5 simple fishes

If able to keep all these alive & flourish, would want to try 1 or 2 small frag of SPS... :idea::idea:

Dilemma 2

I would say this is more of a problem. Can i connect my return pump from the sump to my chiller before it goes into the main tank? Is this arrangement workable? Hope to have some comments... :thanks:

hi bro Reefzzz

keep the pics coming :lol:

Hi bro, thanks for viewing.. :rolleyes::rolleyes: ....

Will keep the pics coming..

hope to learn from you guys comments before i jump to commit some other stuffs again.. ;)

bro, i can tell you 1 thing straigh, even run with 4xt5. its still way too under power, you will have to get a cl450 or 650 soon

I guess i will have to upgrade soon... :unsure:

hihi bro .. as for yr dilemna 2: no woris can hv return pump to chiller then tank, no prob as long as the pump is powerfully enough ... btw how many return pump(s) do u intend to hv ?

Bro Dazza, just one actually.... my small sump can only fit in 2 pumps... One reserved for Schuran Jetskim 100 (EM 1250) and left with another one for return... What size would you recommend for this return pump if i have to connect to chiller first before going to the main tank... 1250? 1260?

erm, must actually see what chiller you running, if you run too powerful a pump, the water wont get chilled enough, if you use too weak a pump, plus the headloss, the water that go to the tank is limited. what i would suggest is, get a good pump then tee off to the chiller

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

erm, must actually see what chiller you running, if you run too powerful a pump, the water wont get chilled enough, if you use too weak a pump, plus the headloss, the water that go to the tank is limited. what i would suggest is, get a good pump then tee off to the chiller

bro, in your opinion, what brand & model will be considered a good pump for this setup?

Do you mean after the tee off, i will have to returns? One direct from pump to main tank and the balance from tee off to chiller then to main tank?

dun laugh at me for a seemingly no brainer Qs.. Just to make sure i understand you correctly... ;)

SMART. that is what i mean, well, this have to depend on what type of flow you want and the chiller you are going to use and whether the chilled water will flow back to main tank or sump.

bro, very chim leh... can simplify abit anot? :paiseh:

i ask you 1 question & u are asking me so many!!! :angry:

Give me a few choices la... then i know what you are talking abt :paiseh:

ok, what chiller will you be using?-different chiller need different flowrate

the chilled water from the chiller is going back to main tank or back to the sump?

2 question nia ma

Hey bro,

[1] my current chiller is the resun CL280. Will be continuing to use it for the time being till i upgrade to a 1/5hp unit..

[2] Will be good if the return from the chiller can go directly back to tank also.

Thanks man... :thanks:

I would suggest get high flow rate pump. u have to consider all the head loss. if pump is still too powerful, u can t-off for FR, since u dun have any more space for other pump.

bro banacle,

yes!! yes!! what u said make sense ;);) ....

what flow rate of pump can be considered a powerful pump? Ehiem1260 fit into this category? or what is your suggestions? :thanks:

What i will suggest is to calculate your tank volume and work out the amount of water the pump needs to circulate between your tank and the refrigium and your sump. Say your tank volume is 400 litres, 10 time circulation will be 4000 litres per hour. In this case, get the aquabee 5000 which is rated 5000 litres per hour. Factor in the head loss and t-offs, you should get about 4000 litres per hour. Ehiem are also good pumps but they consume slightly more power compared to aquabee for moving about the same volume of water.

Just my humble opinion.