MWT diy acrylic nano tank

Jameshong

After the successful of DIYed the acrylic sump, now my hands get itchy again...looking into feasible of DIYing an Acrylic Nano Drop-Off tank(ANDOT) with or without sump(IOS). I am in the midst of planning some new design layout and had submitted the proposal to my CEO liao and basically approved in principal la..lol!

I am so excited to lay my hands down....LOL!!! But hor I may or may not go ahead due to the Complexity of building this type of tank but even if I do...it may or may not be successful leh....sigh!

If this gets successful, I will be more confident to think big and build another new 3-4ft Drop-Off Tank for my new house when ready in 2015/6. So this is so called a trial nano version or sample set to show my CEO the beauty of it with nano corals and fishes (various of pipe fishes) ...hahaha..!

Will update more if my project starts....else will die off from here sigh.

Btw, all comments, suggestion and advice will be welcome..

A small one can be done becos the pressure exerted on the joint is lesser than what a bigger volume tank would have on the single point.. The way you bond the joint also plays a part in the strength and durability of the L joint... But acrylic is more flexible so it might be feasible.. What thickness are you using, From what I remember, my 4x3x3 with a 1.5 drop off requires a minimum 25mm thickness..

Either 8 or 10mm thickness since it's just a nano tank nia.. :P !

Just recieved the quotation from DAMA...less than 130 nia so will go ahead to diy soon :yahoo: .

Any progress will be updated here...Stay tune.. :superman: !

hi, are you using normal acrylic from dama or plexiglas? saw at aquarama those schuran tanks using plexiglas, looked really awesome.

Hi bro,

Majority of my purchases from Dama was commerical cast acrylic sheets. If I am not wrong, the cast acrylic is also commonly refered to by most in the market as Perspex or Plexiglas leh :thumbsup: .

Just collected my pre-cut acrylic sheets from DAMA this afternoon...so project will start soon :yahoo: !

Here are the cast acrylic sheets from DAMA.

I foresee there will have some leakage near the L joint due to the L shape wall so Acrifix 192 will be stand by to close the leakage.

If anyone have spare or used Weld-on #16, #3 or #4 and wish to let go after your project, please let me know too.

post-1282-0-79288100-1370677755_thumb.jp

Media Filter Basket

This is use to slot into the 1st compartment (inlet) of IOS so that maintenance will be simple and easy.

post-1282-0-16870100-1370678821_thumb.jp

post-1282-0-78166200-1370678824_thumb.jp

how the project going bro? looking forward for more pics. :)

Tank almost done. Left the IOS portion.

Unfortunately dripped a little acrylic glue onto one of the surface of the tank wall so currently looking for stain remover to polish it :( .

Awesome!

I have a similar locline. How u manage to fix onto the elbow? Does it screw fit nicely?

Sent from my Android using Tapatalk2

Yes. nice fix when screwed in.