sicce extrema info needed

thanantosis

hi all

anyone here use sicce extrema before.... its 2500l/h

need some advice whether it is good?....

cos me too poor to buy eheim 1260....

thinking of getting this sicce brand.....

is it good?...

thanks

Yup just like wat typrobin has said, it depends on ur usage of the Extrema, if use as return, Eheim are better............if use for skimmer,.........I strongly recommend the Extrema cos of its variable flowrate....so you can fine tune ur skimmer easily.

Eric

my tank is 2.5ft in height.... the water need to pump to at least 3.5ft....

so what do u all feel?

does it seem like it's working like a return pump?...

alamak, have to pump up 3.5ft ar? Then get a Eheim pump or resun MD............if you on budget, get a hailea (high power consumption) or Laguna Utility

Eric

:off: with such a big tank (2.5ft tall, i think it will at least be 4ft in length), may i ask y are u using a overhead filter? are u sure it can handle the bio load??

im using a 16tray overhead..... power buy a 2500l/h pump doing fully mech filtering

inside got more then 200 bio ball..

and 2 canister doing full bio filtering

one eheim 2231 300l/h

and one sicce genio2... 700l/h

im keeping an aro ;)

freshwater tank

alamak, have to pump up 3.5ft ar? Then get a Eheim pump or resun MD............if you on budget, get a hailea (high power consumption) or Laguna Utility

Eric

yo bro... thanks for the reply

i dont trust resun leh

and dont want some thing that is (high power consumption)

can help?

sicce not good at pumping to that height?

im using a 16tray overhead..... power buy a 2500l/h pump doing fully mech filtering

inside got more then 200 bio ball..

and 2 canister doing full bio filtering

one eheim 2231 300l/h

and one sicce genio2... 700l/h

im keeping an aro ;)

freshwater tank

oic...aro...then extrema is good enuf lah...i thought u are into marine...hehehe... :paiseh:

heheeh thANks bro....

btw whats the difference?....

cos im using this pump to pump the water up also... to about 3.5ft in height

and in marine tank.... as the return pump is same also

why for aro then can leh?

thanks

marine fishes are less tolerant...very much less...aro are quite hardy, hardier than the hardiest marine fish...so even with lousy flowrate from tank to overflow filter, aro will still survive...

i've seen luohans in bare tank without any filter, the water was murky and stinky, but the luohan seem to have no problem..if i were to drink the water, i will prolly have diaherroe (dunno how to spell) for a few days...

lua han different from aro lah

1 good normal aro cost 500

1 luo han cost peanuts lah....

i dont want my aro to just survive... i want it to live happily leh

so is extrema good enought for my 5ft tank?

is it reliable?

thanks

since your aro so ex...y not invest more...get a eheim loh...no choice also...

I think your calculation of height for pumping is wrong. I did mech eng during my poly days. The head loss is (Head loss from pipings) + (Vertical head loss, Water level you are pumping from to outlet)

For vertical head loss always use water level from inlet to outlet. Ex.

For Sump: Sump water level to tank water level is you vertical head

For overhead: Tank water level to outlet in overhead filter.

I was doing a little research abt pumps.

SICCE Extrema 2500l/h 3M head 35Watts

Eheim 1260 2280l/h 3.1M head 50Watts

Sicce obviously looks better using less power and more flow. In terms of durability, i don't think it should be that bad as it is from Italy.

Eheim on the other hand uses more power, therefore more heat. But Eheim is known to last.

Hope my information comes in useful! :D

I think your calculation of height for pumping is wrong. I did mech eng during my poly days. The head loss is (Head loss from pipings) + (Vertical head loss, Water level you are pumping from to outlet)

For vertical head loss always use water level from inlet to outlet. Ex.

For Sump: Sump water level to tank water level is you vertical head

For overhead: Tank water level to outlet in overhead filter.

I was doing a little research abt pumps.

SICCE Extrema 2500l/h 3M head 35Watts

Eheim 1260 2280l/h 3.1M head 50Watts

Sicce obviously looks better using less power and more flow. In terms of durability, i don't think it should be that bad as it is from Italy.

Eheim on the other hand uses more power, therefore more heat. But Eheim is known to last.

Hope my information comes in useful! :D

bro sorry....

thanks for the reply

but really sorry

i dont understant.... what is "head loss"

can enlighten me?

thanks