Gouldian 3 footer mixed reef

Gouldian

u say cant keep AT...then its black mah...so i presume your master say no blackies for u..

hope Gouldian doesnt mind..

Cuz not, I am into fengshui too. Black is not always bad, black in the color of metal and people who are wood will try to avoid it cuz metal cuts wood.

But I have another fengshui theory considering AT, but have not varified with Shifu yet so dun quote me. AT is black with orange spot, which means metal with fire and fire cures metal which means that AT is not really that bad. So Neokn, maybe can check with your master. ;)

• Replies 604

eh5 days is no way to judge whether evrything is well... ich will always be present... They are just waiting for chance to find a stress and weak host to climb on.. AT is a definate arget cos its a easily stressed fish and also delicate too

yo bro....try to change to a smaller pump like we discussed earlier today and find something like this to cover the drain or use the holey-endcap

this is the kind from aquamedic to prevent those blockages :)

Thank you Roidan, Weileong, Killfire and Ian for answering my desperate calls so early on Saturday morning! :paiseh:

For the benefit of the rest of the bros, my return pipe got stuck in the middle of the night and I woke up with the tubby running dry and the floor with puddles of water on Saturday morning! :shock:

Being a not technical guys, my immediate respond is to try to call the experts. And all of them were very kind to help even when it is so early in the morning.

I really appreciate all they contributions that enable me to resolve my problems.

Thank you all once again. :thanks::thanks::thanks:

I'll quarantine it for at least 2 weeks before I add into the disaplay tank. Play safe will pay off :P

Will do. Thanks for your kind help for so many occasion. ;)

For the benefit of the rest of the bros, my return pipe got stuck in the middle of the night and I woke up with the tubby running dry and the floor with puddles of water on Saturday morning! :shock:

Did you find out what choked the overflow pipe?

I had my overflow pipe choked before by one turbo snail that decided to venture into the overflow box and then down the overflow pipe.

Luckily that time running my old sump and the sump run dry before my tank overflow. This caused a very loud noise at 3am in the morning and I jump up from bed to go fixed it.

Always the snails that caused this type of problem, choked here and there so I made the decision to get rid of everyone of them :P

Did you find out what choked the overflow pipe?

I had my overflow pipe choked before by one turbo snail that decided to venture into the overflow box and then down the overflow pipe.

Luckily that time running my old sump and the sump run dry before my tank overflow. This caused a very loud noise at 3am in the morning and I jump up from bed to go fixed it.

Always the snails that caused this type of problem, choked here and there so I made the decision to get rid of everyone of them :P

It was a hitch-hiker filter feeding clam. When Roidan help me to reverse the flow with a powerhead. That bugger flew out of the pipe! It used to cling to my hammer but on Saturday while I was trying to figure who is missing, I realized it is no longer there, I thought it could have move on but the visual confirmed it is the culprit! :angry:

Unfortunately, I am still unable to get the overflow to equate with my return pump. So not using cotton wool to restriction return so that it will balance will my overflow pipe. :(

Maybe coming Saturday will reverse the flow again hoping to dislodge any other choke deritus so that I need not get a lower rating return - cuz I feel it will not fully address my problem. :)

Whats your advise bro?

Get the bigger version I-box :P

Cannot leh. I called Ian on Sat morning and apparently I will need to cut my hood in order to accomdate the I-Box. and even that I am not sure it can be done due to my bracing.

I cannot remove the hood cuz all my lightings and fans are mounted there liao, so it I were to remove the hood in order to accomdate I-Box, it will mean that I will have to redo all my lighting and also get a chiller. If this is the case, I would rather get a 2nd hand 3ft tank from pasar malam. ;)

I am left with options of:

1) getting a piping expert to cut and change the return pipe

2) reducing my return rate

3) try to dislodge any remnant deritus

I am trying to option 3 this coming Saturday, what is your advise? I plan to dislodge it by reversing the pipping but using my return to blow into the other end of the reurn pipe - same method as what I did last Saturday but this time, I will try with a 3000l pump rather than the 1500l pump I used previously.

Like what you said on Saturday, this could be called "New Tank" problem that we need to iron out. :P

I still got no idea how your overflow pipe look like? You got no overflow box right?

If you cannot blow and dislodge whatever is choked in the piping then I suggest you redo your piping.

Ya loh, if that occurs, I will need your recommedation for the best "piper" in Singapore!

Maybe, one of these days if you are visiting the north east, you can drop by my place? Really appreciate your contributions. ;)

Actually, flame angels are one of the most hardy species of Angels.

I encourage you to try them, but ensure that they are feeding in the LFS plus not dropsy first before you bring them home. Sam from SL has also thought me to aviod Flame with white lips - dunno why, he refused to say.

As for AT........ sigh....... I am still trying.

Actually, flame angels are one of the most hardy species of Angels.

I encourage you to try them, but ensure that they are feeding in the LFS plus not dropsy first before you bring them home. Sam from SL has also thought me to aviod Flame with white lips - dunno why, he refused to say.

As for AT........ sigh....... I am still trying.

can be true can be false... yes flame are hardy as they dun get sick easily and feeds well but many flame can just die without a reason after keepign alive for sometime

True too, the pair of flame my friend collected from Henry on Saturday, one of them pass away with no apparent reason. Sigh.... there goes my friend desire to keep a pair of flame in his tank.

Collecting AT tonight. Stay tune and wish me all the best. ;)

feeding like pig alr??

hows it going?

Feeding.

But Ich appeared on Sunday after I disturb the DSB in my sump. The best part is the rest of the fishes are alright except AT - this is something that I can never understand why only AT has ich? I have Purple Tang, I have Hippo Tang but only AT have ich! NOT FAIR!

Now very worried. Continue to feed garlic soaked mysis with cyclopese and Selcon.

Now praying......... :(

Your other tangs could have developed natural immunity to the ich already.

All the best to your AT, any photos?

Dunno whether it is immunity of the rest of the fishes cuz my Purple Tang also new comer. <_<

Dun dare to take photo yet. Pang Tang........ :P

Will post after AT has overcome this current obstacle. ;)

Maybe you need 2nd round of hypo :P

Kannasai! Another nightmare?????? :P

Please lah, God dun play with me leh, I am just a poor reefer trying to provide a good and reliable habitat for this beautiful fish. :(

But seriously, I have been distracted from work and sleep the past three days. When I sleep, I kept dreaming of my AT, when I work, I kept wanting to go home to check out my AT. Am I haunted by it??????? :o