Elegance retracted...

Travy

Main reasons why elegance corals should be boycotted for now

- bad collection practices

- not enough information on their specific husbandry

One big reason which I think why most people have dying elegance corals is because they killed them with light. I "experimented" with mine by switching it to higher light intensity (only 9 inches below 2 T5s) and i euthanised it in a week cause it looked miserably shrivelled. So people who still insist to keep elegance...give them shades. B)

I have gave up on them already. Not easy to keep as some books suggested. Also the environment required are different from other corals, in the ocean they can be found in muddy areas where the water conditions are less than ideal.

Some people seems to have success in keeping this coral, but then very very few in numbers.

i was adviced to follow the natural habitat as close as possible.

accordding to some refference books, elegants need nutritence to do well.

and since we all skim our water so cleanly. not much nutrience is left in the water.

wat we can do is to stick the base of the elegant deep into the sandbed, so that once the coral open up, it can touch the sand.

Therefore, drawing nutrience from the sandbed.

Yes,

give the elegant shades plus feed it with food.

I think the temp is important, keep it low say around 27++

range.

Mine I keep it in a lagoon not much lights but it still expanded

like crazy.

I was looking at the tank in Irwana, their pink tip elegant

also go up the lorry liao.

one more important thing to add... once u position the elegant . dun ever shift it again.

touching it causes it to die fast..

..... :nc:

Now i know why mine says bye bye....

Tempt me to try again.. hahaha! Next month la... find a small one. :D

Looks like a nice piece to me.

Be gald that its still there after 4mths bro... mine last at most 1mth... then wave byebye liao... <_<

The one on the right?

Cant see clearly, but looks abit like cup coral... My cup is doing fine though. Survived thru many nitrate explosion... HAHA! :P

HAHAHA! :lol:

Try again lor... IMO its quite hardy leh... pretty too.

Mine's Pink with green polyps, eh... quite common lah...

go look for yellow ones. Looks nice. ;)