newbie needs help!

jonathan543

hi me new here... really interested to keep seahorses but my interest came only after seahorses came under protected species *sad*... heard it from the news few months back... i used to bought a couple of yellowish with pink tips seahorses from lck110, and also a couple i think tigertips seahorses from a place located at cact** drive... but all perished after 2months in my mini reef tank due to my filter breaking down for 2days and me on a cycling trip... *sob*

but now, i've added a mudsump & a 2ft sumptank filled with dsb & life rocks which was doing very well & flourishing with copepods(?) <_< .

now i wanted to take out most of the liferocks from the sumptank & keep seahorses in it.... would anybody pls tell me where other places can i buy seahorses? lck110's quite ex for the price as it's a pretty common species... although i dun mind paying more for more exotic types of seahorses :yeah: ... would some one please advice me?

many thanks! :lol::lol:

• Replies 72

not much places i know would want to "import" seahorses... maybe if in bulk orders, we'll persuade some lfs to Import seahorses.... price wise.... no comments liao, up to the lfs to decide. :)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

hi me new here... really interested to keep seahorses but my interest came only after seahorses came under protected species *sad*... heard it from the news few months back... i used to bought a couple of yellowish with pink tips seahorses from lck110, and also a couple i think tigertips seahorses from a place located at cact** drive... but all perished after 2months in my mini reef tank due to my filter breaking down for 2days and me on a cycling trip... *sob*

but now, i've added a mudsump & a 2ft sumptank filled with dsb & life rocks which was doing very well & flourishing with copepods(?) <_< .

now i wanted to take out most of the liferocks from the sumptank & keep seahorses in it.... would anybody pls tell me where other places can i buy seahorses? lck110's quite ex for the price as it's a pretty common species... although i dun mind paying more for more exotic types of seahorses :yeah: ... would some one please advice me?

many thanks! :lol::lol:

Watercircle may be ready anytime next year but guess they are quite reserve in selling to public & sharing info about raising fry. Import one cost about US$200 from Ocean rider. Seahorse life typically last up to 5 to 7 years under captive condition with enriched food. So by now all captive seahorses in Singapore home aquarium may have another 3 to 4 years. Only hope is to successfully home breed fries share amongst ourselves before too late.

Just exactly how many of us have a spawning pair? Just a survey. Can always drop me a line for little experience talk with our 4 little ones up to 8 weeks. " All fanatic, is time to join forces"

Best regards

Chris Low

importing is one question, wheather they want to export to us is another question. :lol: even if they willing to ship, i also would'nt think abt it, better to get from lfs if any chances they have for sale! :evil:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

yup... oceanrider dun ship internationally... but seahorse australia does... they only offered wad they called "southern knights", looks pretty chio with its spiney bits & nice shades of white or gold... but omg must be maintained below 22c! :shock:

nevertheless i emailed them to quote me the shipping & handling charges, since each costs A$22, which seems a good deal. but they took so darn long to reply & goes like this(i've searched my inbox for it lolx :whistle

Hello Jonathan,

Thankyou for your email. I am sorry to take so long to reply. Yes,

you can

buy directly from us, however freight costs from Australia may be

higher

than you're expecting. - cost is $22 per seahorse, + freight. Freight

to

Singapore for 1 box (up to 54 seahorses) is $383.50. You are the 3rd

person

from Singapore who has contacted me this week - would you be interested

in

me giving your email address to the other 2 intersted people, and

perhaps

the three of you could consider getting a shipment together to save on

freight costs.

Thanks for your interest in farm-bred seahorses and

seahorse-conservation.

regards

Rachelle Hawkins

Manager

Seahorse Australia

www.seahorse-australia.com.au

ph 03 63 834 811; fax 03 63 834 812

so sad... to make this shipment worth well, so muz stock up 54 seahorses... that's gonna cost A$1571.50!!! = almost S$2k!!! :blink:

sianz... couple of months back i bought 3 barbouris & 2 tigertails from lck110 & cactus drive... think after my sump was cleared of dsb & add another sump for my dsb, i'm going back again for the barbouris... so water circle dun sell to public anymore? may i know where can i get those magnificent reidis? or other places selling other species other than tigertails & barbouris? :thanks:

yup... oceanrider dun ship internationally... but seahorse australia does... they only offered wad they called "southern knights", looks pretty chio with its spiney bits & nice shades of white or gold... but omg must be maintained below 22c! :shock:

nevertheless i emailed them to quote me the shipping & handling charges, since each costs A$22, which seems a good deal. but they took so darn long to reply & goes like this(i've searched my inbox for it lolx :whistle

Hello Jonathan,

Thankyou for your email. I am sorry to take so long to reply. Yes,

you can

buy directly from us, however freight costs from Australia may be

higher

than you're expecting. - cost is $22 per seahorse, + freight. Freight

to

Singapore for 1 box (up to 54 seahorses) is $383.50. You are the 3rd

person

from Singapore who has contacted me this week - would you be interested

in

me giving your email address to the other 2 intersted people, and

perhaps

the three of you could consider getting a shipment together to save on

freight costs.

Thanks for your interest in farm-bred seahorses and

seahorse-conservation.

regards

Rachelle Hawkins

Manager

Seahorse Australia

www.seahorse-australia.com.au

ph 03 63 834 811; fax 03 63 834 812

so sad... to make this shipment worth well, so muz stock up 54 seahorses... that's gonna cost A$1571.50!!! = almost S$2k!!! :blink:

sianz... couple of months back i bought 3 barbouris & 2 tigertails from lck110 & cactus drive... think after my sump was cleared of dsb & add another sump for my dsb, i'm going back again for the barbouris... so water circle dun sell to public anymore? may i know where can i get those magnificent reidis? or other places selling other species other than tigertails & barbouris? :thanks:

aussie mostly breeding the potbellieds, if u not prepare to invest in a chiller, don't get them( even if it's cheaper to get) but they are quite easy to maintain as well! the babys will take newly hatch bbs, the adults grows to a feet!

h.reidi, possible to get from WC, but must be sincere enough! :lol: just email WC lor, ask them to put u on the waiting list. ;)

ooo....the price rose...i wanted to bring them in....but no enough orders so in the end never order....

the thought off getting chiller will put most people away...... basic marine keeping oredi used up lotsa money... :(

the previous shipment from which area ar? :P

actually, seahorse not the only one on protected list

todae i wen down to reborn and i overheard the uncle saying sth about AVA banning the import of sea algae that we use for refugiums

he said its not a rumour

its already implemented

Hello All,

How about dropping a message if anyone found any seahorse available at LFS.

I would like to have another 4 of the orange H reidi. Count me in for if anyone intended to import.

Note:

We need to buy a licence from AVA prior and importer need to produce certification.

Bless all the seahorses here! :bow:

Hello All,

How about dropping a message if anyone found any seahorse available at LFS.

I would like to have another 4 of the orange H reidi. Count me in for if anyone intended to import.

Note:

We need to buy a licence from AVA prior and importer need to produce certification.

Bless all the seahorses here! :bow:

actually...like i mentioned i wanted to bring in the southern knights and i found out something....ava will approve liscense to us...but they will do so only once....then after we have to find the source of the seahorse...get the farm to agree to import to us....we send them our paper work and they will usually help us to do the export liscense at their country....then after will they import...theres no need for quarantine either.....so if possible....we can bring the reidi in....but need to find a source....hehe :lol::lol:

from what i got....frieght from other side of the world will be super ex...freight from aus is already 154aus$.....if never rememer wrongly.....if u guys want i can check...so better to order more...one box usually contain 54 sh.....but acclimatising after freight...a sh comapny i contacted taught me how to do it properly...so maybe...just maybe....i can do that...

forgot to mention just now...to import species under CITES....ava will only approve per person ONCE the liscense....however....regarding one other liscense...i have yet to clarify with ava...but if it applies....the cost will be very very very high after that...so need to check....

so now....u guys will have to find a farm....and check if they will freight to singapore

erm...... if we talking abt H.bleekeri.... then count me out. :erm::)

AVA sounds helpful. But more often than not they are too lazy to be bothered to help us with paperwork. I tried talking to them before regarding non-CITES species till I almost vomitted blood, not mentioning species under CITES.

:lol: That's a gd one! :P seriously speaking, i rather leave all these importing to lfs..... wouldn't mind paying more for SH. So any lfs owner out there sees this thread, and able to import SH in, pls PM me! very keen Seahorse Fanatics! :lol: