How to bend or shape acyrlic?

chinmo

helo DIY bros! need some help here, what tools to use for bending acyrlic? where to get one? a friend suggested blow torch! but i was imagining that before the acyrlic can be bended... oredi leave a black stain or not careful caught fire liao! :huh: Pls advice.... :)

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

You need a heat strip to heat the acrylic straight. Tempreture control is also important so as to not over heat the acrylic. You also need to make a gig to do a perfect bend. Practice on spare acrylic first before on your actual project. Also bending thiner acrylic is easier.

Ian :)

Acrylic Aquarium Filtering Systems

Acrylic tanks, sumps, protein skimmers, overflow box, refugium, calcium reactors, zeovit reactors and many more...

Our New Address:

Blk 9003, Tampines St. 93,

Tampines Industrial Park A,

#03-134, Singapore 528837

(Located behind Tampines SAFRA)

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

Email me : info@iaquatic.com

*Please do not send PM's to us. Thank you

Another way:

I use those cheap oven that has a heating strips at the bottom and on top.

Place the acrlic line that need to be bend under the heating strip. Once soft, bend it la. :lol:

Limitation, your acrliy must be smaller than your oven. :lol:

Ian,

will using those plastic bag sealers be able to bend acrylic?

i think some of them do come with temp. control...

if yes...maybe will ask ard see if any lobang can borrow...

Should be able to work but its up to you to test on spare pcs first. Sugi is right but DO NOT USE the oven for food ever again.

Acrylic tanks, sumps, protein skimmers, overflow box, refugium, calcium reactors, zeovit reactors and many more...

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

Another way is to use the electric satay heater thingy. That shoud work better.

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

You need a heat strip to heat the acrylic straight. Tempreture control is also important so as to not over heat the acrylic. You also need to make a gig to do a perfect bend. Practice on spare acrylic first before on your actual project. Also bending thiner acrylic is easier.

Ian :)

Thanks SIFU :P where issit possible to buy the heating strip ? how much would one ard 1feet plus cost? :huh:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

bro...

if u can get those plastic bag sealers, you know, those using heat to seal plastic bags?

they will be the best tool to bend acrylic...

Thanks bro! but think normally the bag sealling heater always have another "part" to seal the bag, this part will be a hindrance lor.... :lol:

Another way:

I use those cheap oven that has a heating strips at the bottom and on top.

Place the acrlic line that need to be bend under the heating strip. Once soft, bend it la. :lol:

Limitation, your acrliy must be smaller than your oven. :lol:

:lol: cannot do leh..... the thingy i'm doing have a width of 12 inch leh. :thanks:

Bro if your just DIYing for your self its not worth the money to spend on a heating strip. What thickness are you intending to bend and the usage? If its a hush hush thing it ok :D

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

erm.... will be doing a couple of the "fish bowl" i post pic of..... instead of pvc, it will be acyrlic. another thing is the largest diameter i can find for pvc is 12 inch.... i'm looking at 24 inch or 36 inch, 5-6mm thickness.... pls advice Bro Ian... :)

I don't get it. fish bowl? You want to bend 90deg or and odd shape?

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

OIC the pic now. You need an oven for this. not a heating strip. And also a cylinder gig to shape the acrylic.

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

sorry bro cannot help you there. i've got no idea.

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...

:thanks: Ian bro... roughly hw mudh a heating strip cost? :P

Sorry I cannot remember as my brother purchased it some time back.

Our New Address:

Contact Nos.

(Tel) +65 9298 9489

(Fax) +65 6588 4711

Please direct your...