Red color fern like flower on LR

marble

:D Hi everyone...Im new to tis hobby n jzt cycle my tank for 5days onli...

I discover one red color fern like flower on 1 of e LR small hole...It open up when there is lgts n disappear when there is no lgts OR WHEN I TRY TO GO TOUCH IT..... :angry:

Wat is tis THING???WORM or PEST???Anyone hav tis b4????tks.... :lol:

should be tube worm aka feather duster.

comes with LR sometimes...

looks something like dis?

pw78244dwarfpinkwhite_dust.jpg

:D yah something like tis..but it is more red in color instead of ur pic showning more white...n beside e feather,it still got a body like a worm i THINK..As i onli saw a little bit of it black color body out with e feather fern leh....MOst if it hiding inside e small hole...Will it bite or sting??? :erm: Or will fishes go eat it up???

TKs :thanks:

its totally harmless...dun bite,dun sting..

some fishes will peck on it, some,like a cowfish...will eat it.

Oic.... :D

Is there a diff bet another type of fern like flower??I got another one tat is brown in color one instead of red...oso will disappear when no lgt n appear when got lgt...keke.. :lol:

Tube worms are very good filter feeders plus the fact that they look nice. You are lucky to have two in your tank without having to buy them. ;)

There is another type mentioned earlier in this thread - the coco worms, the big difference between coco worm and tube worm is that tube worms' tube are usually brown and soft while the coco's tube are usually white are hard.

Both are equally cherish in our hobby.

Good luck :D

ha....the joy and excitment of discovering life in your rocks.....

the first time i saw it in my tank, i actually call up my friend in the middle of the night.... :paiseh:

anyway, welcome to the hobby....there will be a lot more exciting and interesting stuff down the road.....:)

Hi marble,

you might want to check out http://www.liveaquaria.com and http://www.liveaquaria.com/general/compatibility_chart.cfm

which might benefits you when choosing LS later on.

Welcome aboard

MOxa

Tks bros..... :D for all e info....

Yest nite discover another creature on e LR..It looks like a snail to me...All White in color n smaller then a 1cent coin..Its shell lok like a small white clam to me..keke...Now dun noe disappear to where leh??? <_<