What is the best clean up crew

ciaolong

just want to see what people think what is the best clean up crew. :ooh:

like how many snails hermit crabs and shrimps in a tank.

i heared some ppl dont like hermit crabs coz they detrimental to a healthy reef tank.

i just what other people thought

algae = sea urchin ( but can be over efficient n you end up with botak rocks)

sand = sea cucumber

i hv many hermits and i find they love snails haha... .luckily i hv plenty of snails

leftover food = goat fish but it snot a favorite amongst fellow reefers

it realli depends on wat u wanna clean up ;)

algae? macro? nuisance? cyano? hair? diatom? coralline?

detritus?

so wat u wanna clean up?

diff inverts r used for diff purposes...

Hw abt diatom???

Who love to EAT IT????kekeke :D

Anyway,read in a book tat if diatom appears,its an indication tat e tank is fouled n tat is e normal bacterial balance is upset....

Can someone enlighten me wat does tis mean???My fishes all still survivng inside leh???huh...Sound of scary leh e word they use..."Fouled tank n bacterial bal upset" :(

Mine is a new tank,abt 3wks liao n aft use T5 for 3days, diatom still to APPEAR....... :cry2: Formerly i use onli PL tube....

Low flow and over feeding.

this is usually the cause for a diatom bloom.

im using ehim1260 n welpro skimmer....for a 3by1.5by2ft

now onli got 3 small fishes n 2 cleaner prawn...

Im feeding them mtk prawn n mysis ....

usually they finish it leh as i nvr feed them much....

Its when e T5 lgts r in 4days ago to replace e pl lgts then tis start to happen.... :(

huh...... :erm:

the bloom is caused mainly by your new lights. having a strong flow and few or no dead spots will help get rid of them.

you might also want to cut down on your photoperiod, if u have no corals....off the lights totally for a few days.

Really? Can share what critters clean up or eat cynobacteria?

I haven't heard before leh ... :unsure:

err...sorie... :(

im getting alittle confuse....

brown algae on LR n glass r call diatom...CORRECT???

Those brown algae on sandbed r call cyno????Is it??

Anyway,have jzt get a jewel benny to try maka these diatom stuff....Dun noe reali got use anot??Cant get snail as i got 1 hermit crab..Scare he kill e snail n pollute e tank...sigh..... <_<

I think both brown algae on glass or sand or rocks are also called diatoms.

Cynobacteria are not really algae. It is usually dark purple/maroon red in colour. It can appear on sand or glass or rocks.

There's also something called dinoflaggates (spelling?). I'm not sure if it looks the same as diatoms.

algae = sea urchin ( but can be over efficient n you end up with botak rocks)

I constantly harvest a little of marco algae from refu. to feed sea urchin, tangs, etc instead of throwing away.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

I only bought one and only one. Still alive and kicking. My feeding is simply harvesting the algae in refu. to feed him, say once a week. **Assuming ones' tank is in okay condition.**

....actually is pretty easy to keep one.... Refrain from any copper medication you might put to treat fish diseases. :lol:

err...sorie... :(

im getting alittle confuse....

Anyway,have jzt get a jewel benny to try maka these diatom stuff....Dun noe reali got use anot??Cant get snail as i got 1 hermit crab..Scare he kill e snail n pollute e tank...sigh..... <_<

Brown algae, Bacillariophyta is mostly comprised of single celled plants which we called Diatoms....

That's y usually we call them by diatom directly...

These r found in aquariums with high levels of silicate and often accompanied by poor lighting conditions...

IMO, this is hard to prevent if u r using tap water and cannot afford alot of rowas like me.... so constant scrubbing of the tank glass is needed ;)