What is the best sand to use

How about a 18" (depth) tank leh?

Qazwer

alamak....

i did the maths for one part already.... u also can do it yourself wad.....

u ask yrself wad u wanna keep.....

if keep tang... take the ruler... see how much is 13 inches....

if 13 inches u think can keep tangs.... then by all means... go ahead....

its yr money, your tank, eventually your problem...... :P

http://www.rshimek.com/reef/sediment.htm

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-06/rs/feature/

http://www.wetwebmedia.com/deepsandbeds.htm

http://www.petsforum.com/cis-fishnet/seascope/00SS1708.htm

http://reefshow.com/html/htmltonuke.php?fi...n=show_sand.htm

was doing my own research...on DSB , found these sites most informative, , think everyone has their own views, me? I will go for a sand bed, not more than 3 inches deep, so what if i siphon out a bit of the sand during water changes? can replace that loss. But all the extra live food a live sand bed has to offer can not be ignored

alamak....

i did the maths for one part already.... u also can do it yourself wad.....

u ask yrself wad u wanna keep.....

if keep tang... take the ruler... see how much is 13 inches....

if 13 inches u think can keep tangs.... then by all means... go ahead....

its yr money, your tank, eventually your problem...... :P

I mean in general lah ... you wouldn't suggest keeping stingray or shark in a 2 feet, will you? :P

Anyway, no offence. Just trying to find out wat can we do to make the best out of a 2 feet. :thanks:

Qazwer

Sandbed dynamics can be really complicated although the setup might be relatively easy. I strongly suggest not to venture into sandbed unless you have enough background knowledge about it first. Yes, articles are important but I think that reading deeper into science journals would help in understanding.

BTW, I am preparing a follow up on the sandbed article I wrote so make sure you look out for it :lol:

I mean in general lah ... you wouldn't suggest keeping stingray or shark in a 2 feet, will you? :P

Anyway, no offence. Just trying to find out wat can we do to make the best out of a 2 feet. :thanks:

Qazwer

hope i wasnt too hush to u too....

but can more or less judge for yourself lah....

its a learning process..... u try sumthing... u take a pic.... u post pic in SRC....

if u kena F..... u learn that it is wrong...

if nv kena F..... u learn it is right.....

its all a big learning process.... juz depends whether u get f or no f only....