daimy068's 4x2.5x2.25'

daimy068

Definitely a very nice setup by a very nice reefer. Too bad we will have to wait till Dec when Mark and his wife move in to see the system running in full :(

Mark, thanks for showing me and Gouldian your setup and your house the other day. I am very impressed. Can't wait to see more!

Happy setting your tank, your house and your wedding preparations! Wow, maybe you have to wear your red underwear outside liao :lol:  :lol:  :lol:

God Bless.

Actually for Mark's build and size, I think he resembles "Flash".

Anyway, thanks again for your hospitality. Pick up quite a few great ideas for my next 4 footer. ;):thanks:

post-34-1120532096.gif

• Replies 215

how about posting a few pics on your house man? looks cool dude! B)

i have been comtemplating on getting a new 6 feet but will need some reno over my 1.5years house...still saving money for it. the photos on your tank setup are very good for references. if free, can post more on your pipings, your specs, circulation system......... :D

Thanks yooyoo99. All the best for your house renos. Know what it's like trying to save up enough money for renos. Ate butter and bread for quite a while in order to save up. ;)

Will try to do as requested. PM me if you need any help. :)

48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller)

Me still waiting for a few other quotes. :pirate:

More pix leh.

JC

:lol: That's the most 'interesting' part huh? Meeting up with the renovators and listening to them sell.

"Let's start from item 1.1...now let's go to item 3.5....if you look at item 5.7....blah blah...very cheap already...cannot find anywhere else... blah blah blah....zzzzzzzz" :lol:

Anyway, happy hunting! :P

48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller)

Actually for Mark's build and size, I think he resembles "Flash".

Anyway, thanks again for your hospitality. Pick up quite a few great ideas for my next 4 footer. ;):thanks:

I agree. With his well tone built.

So now we have another super hero from the justice league. :lol:

JC

kokhui and Gouldian, you're both very welcome! Picked up a few good tips from you guys as well! So who's house is next? :P

"Actually for Mark's build and size, I think he resembles "Flash"." Pengz :pinch: More like Flash's kah-mor! :P Anyway kokhui, here's your answer to "Wow, maybe you have to wear your red underwear outside liao " :lol:

kokhui and Gouldian, you're both very welcome! Picked up a few good tips from you guys as well! So who's house is next? :P

"Actually for Mark's build and size, I think he resembles "Flash"." Pengz :pinch: More like Flash's kah-mor! :P Anyway kokhui, here's your answer to "Wow, maybe you have to wear your red underwear outside liao " :lol:

Next can be mine! My son's baby shower! Onz????? ;)

• 2 months later...

Hi all!

Took the opportunity of the 1 week school break to work on my pipings. Changed my MAK5 to 2 Sequence DARTs coz the MAK5 couldn't deliver the required flowrate. Deduced that this was the cause of 2 factors.

1) The piping run from the pump to chiller to tank was too long and also considering the number of 90deg bends and friction loss.

2) Piping delivered by tankmaker was only 3/4" which at certain stages were reduced to 1/2" and even 3/8".

Therefore, decided to re-run my pipings and change all to 1" with reduction at chiller return only just before entering the tank (due to carpentry work over the tank...doh!:pinch:

Also changed the sump after doing a system test and the sump flooded right up to abt 1" from the rim...Very dangerous coz the skimmer was not even connected yet :pinch: .

Couldn't have done this without the invaluable help of weisoon!

So here goes...

1st up, the materials needed.

post-34-1126530323.jpg

Here's the new sump in place...with ht increased by 6" and width by 2". Took 4men to change the sump with the limited crawl space under and beside the stand. :P

Thanks Gouldian! ;)

post-34-1126530507.jpg

Had a little materials left over from the renovation and decided to make some stands for the piping mounts/clips and other equipment. Here's a pic of how the piping is held. BTW, the pipe leads to an md55 for the beckett. :D

post-34-1126530698.jpg

Had the outlet hole at the sump bulkhead increased to 1.5" for the inlet of the pump. Here's how the ball valves are mounted. Made a stand out of the leftover wood and screwed the clip onto it. The wood was wrapped in laminating sticker in blackwood finish and the base siliconed to prevent spilled water from seeping in. ;)

post-34-1126530988.jpg

The pipings for the chiller. Less piping run from the previous set-up and using 45deg elbows. Also added a quick release coupling on the pipes at the bulkhead of the cabinet where the pipes disappear into the hidden piping run to chiller.

Thank goodness for rotary tools which weisoon and I used to saw off the piping at that confined space. :lol:

post-34-1126531371.jpg

Here's the bucket of rocks ready to go in. All dead rocks already. Scrubbed them and cooked them. Hopefully got rid of them critters! :evil:

post-34-1126532188.jpg

Did a little rockscaping. Intend to have a drop-off and an island. Not enough rocks though...lucky I've got another 15kg here cooking. ;):lol:

Using 2 tunze 6000...1 in a tunze rock and the other with magnetic holder.

post-34-1126532582.jpg

Wah Mark, after my prelims I'll find time to come help out and at the same time check out your cool system :P:P

Another view from the side. Can see the tunze magnetic holder from here.

Hi BH! Not cool lah! Alot others so much better. Just taking my time. :lol:

Of course drop by whenever you're free. You've got my number. All the best for your prelims! ;)