Renovation Advise

RAV-65

planning for renovation of my new house... and since it's my 1st time, would appreciate any kind of advise or stuffs to look out for while renovating... Pls advise... :P

Anyway, it's a 5-room HDB flat, intending to do homogenous tiles with the bedrooms in parquet/wood laminate... Also intending to tear down the kitchen and bathrooms...

:(

Anyone who have any forms of advice would be greatly appreciated... :thanks:

• Replies 124

erm... my advice is... never give contractors the money before ALL the work is done and done properly!

i've seen cases after u give them the last cheque then u find out something is wrong.. it'll take WEEKS before they send someone down to fix it... of course this only applies to the black sheep out there...

Also... there are many things you can do yourself, eg. painting the walls... all can help you save some money (assuming u are looking to save money).

Also... if you can afford the time and legwork you can always go source for things yourself. For eg. we were quoted 900+ for a glass door, went out to find a glass door specialist to do it for us for 700+... carpet and vinyl flooring was quoted 1k + with worksmanship, we did it ourselves for 400+...

BUT.. if you don mind paying a bit to save you A LOT A LOT of work.. then just go with the best quote... i believe several of our bros here are in that field.. check with reefer guy?

Happy renovating!

Mine is a five-room flat as well...

My advice would be:

1) Try not to "hack" or build too many walls. Leave the flat as its original configuration as much as possible. Otherwise, next time you sell will have problem. If the next owner wants the walls back in its original place, you will have to bear the cost of building back those walls and hacking away the new walls you build. Remember, it is cheap to hack a wall but not cheap to restore one.

2) Try not to go for too many "fixed" furnitures except for kitchen lah. Fixed furnitures are non-returnable costs... Also for a practical reasons, if you are a newly-married, kids will mean that you will definitely change furniture and making the house more child-safe.

3) Parquet floors are nice to the feel. Laminate floors are a cheaper alternative and more scratch resistance.

4) If you are planning a tank for your new house, make sure it is over a floor area that is non parquet or laminate. Best on tiles. And yeah, if you are DEAD serious about your tank, you can incorporate your tank in the reno and build your furniture "around" it. One thing I could have done (which I did not) is to extend water pipes to my top-up tank (Dun have to carry pails of water).

5) Lastly, have fun! Respect the contractors... buy them kopi + snacks and they go all the way for you... ;)

Wow! already got a few tips... :P

Keep it goin guys... need all the advise I can get... :P

Aircon piping, light switches, power points need to plan well before reno starts............choosing right material & colours also very important........eg. Laminate(glue) can be use for seldom "touch" areas like shelfs and post foam(pressed) for always "touch" areas like kitchen cabinet.

For me I'm into hacking cos I feel the HDB nowadays is very small and cramp. The cost of building back a wall is ard $1000-$2000 max. That's a very small cost considering you going to live there happily for the next 5yrs,10yrs,20yrs?

After reno in the toilets, remember to spray water all over and make sure the water flows down to the drain...............dont kena any dead spots like me. Water stuck at certain portion.

My advice is go slow, do tons & tons of planning, scan through tons of magazines and get more quotations & designs from reno co for comparision.

Or you can be a bit cunning, get a few expensive "expert" designers to design for you to see, capture each of their ideas & concept, then draft urself and ask other cheaper reno. co. to execute the work.........Hope no designer here.......hehehe

Eric

1. Do check on tiles before being laid on the cement. I have heard of bad contractor that show you the Italy sample for a higher $ but later use Taiwan/malaysia on your floor.

2. I dun know whether you believe the "floor tiles knocking" to check whether they cut on the cementing.

3. Inferior parquet/wood laminate near the masterbedroom toilet will warp from long term exposure from water. make sure you check on this concern.

4. have a dedicated in coming power line from your breaker for your future giant fish tank :D

new flat or resale? cos resale house when we were to do up the kitchen/toilet all that also got issues to look out for.

if new house and you believe in Feng shui, then toilet door must not face living hall. some new estate like that one.

Also helps if you've got a friend who's interior designer or renovator. Rates more competitive and will be less likely to cheat you. Gotta save face mah!

However, can also be double-edged sword. Cannot f#*% the guy if anything goes wrong! :P

My renovator was old Air-Force buddy. Let me know if you want his contact.

48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller)

Be careful when doing wet areas (bathroom, veranda, laundy area, etc.) Make sure waterproofing is done correctly and contractor is a professional. Pay a bit more for this, never mind. Becasue the effect of not doing properly might only be seen after more that 6 months! Once that happens, big headache.

Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be, be one.

Marcus Aurelius

Will look into the areas around bathrooms where it'll be parquet... How do I "waterproof" it? Wat kind of wood panels/ laminate better for bedrooms??

Also, mine's a resale... will have be having a dedicated power line brought in ( ELCB ??? or something ) to supply power to my reef tank...

Also intending to have a partition built around the tank instead of breaking a hole in the wall...

Izit advisable to have wood panels in the balcony?? Will probably lay the floor tiles into the balcony....

BTW, does it cost alot of have all the walls plastered??

Wat kind of materials should I use for the kitchen as I always see people with the kitchen very worn out due to wear and tear... :(

Anybody else who have advise to give? Thanxs!!!

:thanks::thanks::thanks:

Will look into the areas around bathrooms where it'll be parquet... How do I "waterproof" it? Wat kind of wood panels/ laminate better for bedrooms??

Also, mine's a resale... will have be having a dedicated power line brought in ( ELCB ???  or something ) to supply power to my reef tank...

Also intending to have a partition built around the tank instead of breaking a hole in the wall...

Izit advisable to have wood panels in the balcony?? Will probably lay the floor tiles into the balcony....

Wat kind of materials should I use for the kitchen as I always see people with the kitchen very worn out due to wear and tear... :(

Anybody else who have advise to give? Thanxs!!!

:thanks:  :thanks:  :thanks:

Postfoam with blum hinges & rollers...................no regrets!

Eric

?? why u need to plaster ur walls for? if it's a HDB it should be quite even what... just re-paint can already mah...

also.. make sure the tiles fit nicely, if for eg. u using granite or marble and the fella never do properly and one tile pops up slightly, u might end up cutting ur foot..

plan plan plan and when u think you are done planning, plan some more... if u need help with visualisation I can help you... I also have contacts for air-conditioning (my uncle) who helped us save 1k+ by getting us a 2nd hand unit.. (works perfectly fine and looks like new!)

about the tiles, make sure they fit until very small gap then will be nice.

the parquet, I have not experience it myself but it happened to my friend. You jalan jalan IMM for the ID coy then dig info from them.

last time i hack and redo the kitchen, never tell them earlier, so the guys just do up the fridge base measurement themselves. in the end have to get a fridge to fit the cement base size. bad idea...

if you can budget out a bit more then go for the Brand "Caroma" for thier toilet bowl (sitting). Quality very good. I think Australia made and can find at Sim Sian Choon (IMM), beside Daiso.

Lighting you go jalan besar, along the main road whole stretch of lighting shops. good pricing and can bargain. make sure they give you Italy made ballast.

painting go for at least two tone, the largest wall being the darker shade of color.

if do aluminum window grill make sure they give you the extra seam and reinforce inside one. dun know how to explain but there are those lousy hollow ones.

cooker hood, you are beter off with those chimney type. i use those flat type: have like dun have...

Again, Feng shui wise, cooker hob try to avoid those even number of burner. :D

most important is... WHERE TO PUT THE FISH TANK!??!.. hehe...

:D haha, correct. that's the most important.

Quick! Rav-65, mai tu liao.. draft out the plan.

where to put the giant tank???

Is 2 meter tall skimmer enough?? how high is the ceiling?? :D

If you want excellent workmanship just go to D'esprit, Renozone, TIP, Urban Interiors, Strategic, Everlink.

If you focus more on design, go to Image Creative (Superbrand), Joop, Cactus Art...

Others...Chew Interior, Homely etc...

Having said that please let me know if you are going to these company - then later if the bosses call me to verify at least i know - if you want discounts

Only for you now and please (others) dun anyhow quote me.

PS : not all their designers will know me - only the bosses (take note)

If later if you use them already and happy with the results - just pass me a rock full of florida rics ;)

?? why u need to plaster ur walls for? if it's a HDB it should be quite even what... just re-paint can already mah...

also.. make sure the tiles fit nicely, if for eg. u using granite or marble and the fella never do properly and one tile pops up slightly, u might end up cutting ur foot..

plan plan plan and when u think you are done planning, plan some more... if u need help with visualisation I can help you... I also have contacts for air-conditioning (my uncle) who helped us save 1k+ by getting us a 2nd hand unit.. (works perfectly fine and looks like new!)

TOTALLY AGREED...

My original plan was to plaster the walls too... then I found out if they do a terrible job.... the plaster may crack especially in our kind of weather condition.... not advisable... ;)

yah.. my office is an old shophouse with plastered walls.. i tell u.. u just punch the wall the old plaster will crack... very sians...

btw... tiling is very expensive.. if u don't mind can always consider other alternative floorings.. esp if you don't intend to stay there for long...

thanxs for all the advise bro... tink got to read this thread a couple of times to get everything into my head... but pls keep them coming!!

Wat is postfoam?!

Thought of plastering the walls as I find HDB walls very uneven... :P

How about wallpapers?! I find some wallpapers that I saw pretty nice... :P

Going for homogenous tiles, somehow I find them nicer than granite or marble... :)

The cooker hob and the refridgerator base are good pointers... :thanks:

Have already decided where to put the tank... in the dining area... close to kitchen so I can connect the water pipes to the tank! :yeah: Also chose the dining area as the chiller can be placed facing the window! :evil:

Anyway, are those futuristic kitchens whereby lots of stainless steel are used expensive?? I have a friend's one thats like dat... :P

Anymore advise from you guys?! Especially those who have been reading but never contribute! :P Thanxs!!!!!!!!! :thanks::thanks::thanks::thanks::thanks:

Anyway, are those futuristic kitchens whereby lots of stainless steel are used expensive?? I have a friend's one thats like dat... :P

it depends what is ur initial budget to begin with... as in if u have like 50k for renovation then u can afford a lot of little frills... but if u have 5k then u're stuck with very little options...

plan out a budget, plan out what kind of works u need (be realistic a bit), go out and find quotations and ask them to itemise it so u know each component cost how much.. then according to ur budget start slashing off all the frills till it meets your budget...

btw.. the more "designer" a place looks, usually the more expensive... i've heard of taps that go for 1-2k.. yes.. TAPS...

it depends what is ur initial budget to begin with... as in if u have like 50k for renovation then u can afford a lot of little frills... but if u have 5k then u're stuck with very little options...

plan out a budget, plan out what kind of works u need (be realistic a bit), go out and find quotations and ask them to itemise it so u know each component cost how much.. then according to ur budget start slashing off all the frills till it meets your budget...

btw.. the more "designer" a place looks, usually the more expensive... i've heard of taps that go for 1-2k.. yes.. TAPS...

:shock::shock: Huh?! the tap open got free NSW flow out ah? If have I dun mind... :P

Intending to spend about $30K on reno... I know it's abit of a squeeze... but got budget... :(

Main things to do :

Relay flooring to whole house with wood laminate in the bedrooms

Re-do two bathrooms

Re-do Kitchen

Re-do all window grills

Air-condition whole house

Repaint whole house

Build walk-in wardobes for master-bedroom

My reef tank!!! :P

those ktichen with stainless steel are quite exp, but they are nice; i have to admit.

however they tend to leave alot of fingerprint if you use them for panels.

difficult to clean it off once its been there long enough

practice wat those buyers at work do: the 3 quote policy to get a competative price.

I have heard of ppl having thier kitchen cabinet, room cabinet, tv console all wood things done in malaysia which can save u alot of money. do find out more on this

those ktichen with stainless steel are quite exp, but they are nice; i have to admit.

however they tend to leave alot of fingerprint if you use them for panels.

difficult to clean it off once its been there long enough

practice wat those buyers at work do: the 3 quote policy to get a competative price.

I have heard of ppl having thier kitchen cabinet, room cabinet, tv console all wood things done in malaysia which can save u alot of money. do find out more on this

Wah... Malaysia den ship over ah?! Or the lorry deliver here?! :blink:

the lorry deliver to SG. paiseh i dun have any contact for you to enquire further but definately cheaper. maybe some reefers here can view thier opnion on this or provide more info.