Nano Reef inspired from www.nano-reef.com

TayHongSiang

i got some noob questions to ask fellow brothers & chief:

1. After i top up my tank with NSW, how do i start the system running? Just by switching on my return pump will do? :blink:

2. Can i add "live" sand after i top up my water?

3. How best to set-up a refugium in my sump? Sand and some rocks and cheato / macroalgae enough?...is it beta if i use miracle mud...seems like its so good you can rub them on yr face to do ######....biotherm...haha...or just normal sand will do....

Sgbros says they added some chemical inside my IOS to clean the dirt....i wonder if its ok to top up NSW on Friday...i dun know wat they have added...just told me not to top up water....de...blur man... :wacko::blink:

• Replies 837

another view of my tank....

bro, your standard drop already.... must be too tired.....

1. After i top up my tank with NSW, how do i start the system running? Just by switching on my return pump will do?

- Yeah. just treat it as normal salt mixed water.

2. Can i add "live" sand after i top up my water?

- Yes, remember to switch of pumps hor. Water will be cloudy for a while.

3. How best to set-up a refugium in my sump? Sand and some rocks and cheato / macroalgae enough?...is it beta if i use miracle mud...seems like its so good you can rub them on yr face to do ######....biotherm...haha...or just normal sand will do....

- Think this one, you will hear conflicting comments. Very much up to personal preference. Some people swear by it but some dun believe. If you ask me, save the money lah. Just use normal sand. Miracle mud need to change every 2 yrs I think. Did you order Tigger copepods? can cultivate them in your regufium.

For me very simple, top up nsw, then switch on return pump and let the tank cycle. For refugium, just use live rocks, sand and cheato.

ok bro....miracle mud quite expensive....since u r just doing that, must well learn from u.

victor's guys will be coming over this week to top up nsw....

ok bro....miracle mud quite expensive....since u r just doing that, must well learn from u.

victor's guys will be coming over this week to top up nsw....

Using NSW from Iwarna...same as me... :whistle Copycat... :eyebrow::upsidedown:

In my sump, I only have live rocks. Cheato is placed in my main tank in a betta box. Used to put cheato in my sump but troublesome to put another light in my sump so moved it back to my tank.

Using NSW from Iwarna...same as me... :whistle Copycat... :eyebrow::upsidedown:

In my sump, I only have live rocks. Cheato is placed in my main tank in a betta box. Used to put cheato in my sump but troublesome to put another light in my sump so moved it back to my tank.

learning from you Lord Vader...

Dun learn from me... :eyeblur:

Should learn from jacky... :whistle:upsidedown:

definitely, how can i leave him out...but nowadays he only appear in the night...

He very busy in the day time lah... :eyebrow:

U going for Iwarna's Yuma shipment?

definitely, how can i leave him out...but nowadays he only appear in the night...

Wah bro, i thought u starting another thread for ur new tank, no wonder i can't find. :mellow:

By the way, i have another small live rock and 2 x naricuss snail (forgot how to spell already), haha.....u want?? compliments from me as a welcome gift to the start of ur new tank.

Tank Size: 3 x 3 x 2 with 3.5ft cabinet

Wah bro, i thought u starting another thread for ur new tank, no wonder i can't find. :mellow:

By the way, i have another small live rock and 2 x naricuss snail (forgot how to spell already), haha.....u want?? compliments from me as a welcome gift to the start of ur new tank.

I think he needs large LRs... :eyebrow:

Tank looks a bit bare... :upsidedown:

haha...lazy to start another one...probably c can change the title of my thread.

hmm.....i need medium size ones...you can keep the naricuss snails...coz i have 3 already in my nano tank and they pang sai quite a lot....

haha...lazy to start another one...probably c can change the title of my thread.

hmm.....i need medium size ones...you can keep the naricuss snails...coz i have 3 already in my nano tank and they pang sai quite a lot....

U can get Victor to bring for u lor...he has quite a lot of LRs available. Price I think is $6/kg. U check with him lor.

Okay.......think be quite 'xiong' for u the next few weeks, rocks, sand, nsw, equipments, shopping for more stuff then wife grumbling.......hehehe

Anyway i be camping here!! :rolleyes:

Ehhhh...but 4ft tank is not nano tank leh... :rolleyes:

Okay.......think be quite 'xiong' for u the next few weeks, rocks, sand, nsw, equipments, shopping for more stuff then wife grumbling.......hehehe

Anyway i be camping here!! :rolleyes:

my wife first thing asked me when the tank arrived was" how come the tank so big?"...de....

today's tasks are basically to get more rocks and re-arrange them and clean my sump again, realised my vacuum cleaner could not reach the gaps...kow...have to manually use hands to take the dirty sand out....

tomorrow will just do some minor touch up...and friday top up water and start cycling....

my wife first thing asked me when the tank arrived was" how come the tank so big?"...de....

today's tasks are basically to get more rocks and re-arrange them and clean my sump again, realised my vacuum cleaner could not reach the gaps...kow...have to manually use hands to take the dirty sand out....

tomorrow will just do some minor touch up...and friday top up water and start cycling....

So u going reborn again to get more rocks huh??? :eyebrow:

Cleaning the sump will cause you some backaches liao... :upsidedown:

How many bags of sand u using? And live sand or normal sand?

Yeah, luckily i not married yet. haha...

Decided on ur skimmer already?? getting deltec ah?

So u going reborn again to get more rocks huh??? :eyebrow:

Cleaning the sump will cause you some backaches liao... :upsidedown:

How many bags of sand u using? And live sand or normal sand?

i used 5 bags so far..just the normal sand...$8/bag...if use "live" sand, i have to pay 20 times more....anyway not in a hurry to add livestocks...normal sand will do.

i dun intend to add more sand...too thick very easy tio algae...anyway will not be keeping wrasse...if not, if the wrasse dive down...good luck to him...i say my prayers first.

Yeah, luckily i not married yet. haha...

Decided on ur skimmer already?? getting deltec ah?

Probably BUBBLEKING 650... :whistle