Chris 5 x 2 x 2.5 Tank

Peihao83

Not sure how many wavemakers to get yet.. will make a trip to LFS and take a look..

Why dun you consider getting a Tunze wavebox instead? Heard that there are some problems with the MP series of wavemakers.

I will be using a Tunze Wavebox, SCWD wavemaker (maybe) and 2 Hydor K2 connected to a Ocean Motions Duo controller to alternate both K2s.

• Replies 148

Why dun you consider getting a Tunze wavebox instead? Heard that there are some problems with the MP series of wavemakers.

I will be using a Tunze Wavebox, SCWD wavemaker (maybe) and 2 Hydor K2 connected to a Ocean Motions Duo controller to alternate both K2s.

IMO tunze wavebox n MP40w is totally diff thing...

Wait till ure nh4 and no2 drops to zero before adding anything in. Hope you are not running any carbon right now. For me, skimmer can be turned on in 1 week's time. I don't switch on my lights during this period too.

Don't top up evaporated water. Let the salinity slowly climb up to 1.025. Better for corals. At the end of the cycling process, do a min. 50% water change to reduce nitrates. Remember to check your phosphates too!

What temperature are you keeping your tank at?

Wait till ure nh4 and no2 drops to zero before adding anything in. Hope you are not running any carbon right now. For me, skimmer can be turned on in 1 week's time. I don't switch on my lights during this period too.

Don't top up evaporated water. Let the salinity slowly climb up to 1.025. Better for corals. At the end of the cycling process, do a min. 50% water change to reduce nitrates. Remember to check your phosphates too!

What temperature are you keeping your tank at?

not running carbon, skimmer nor chiller now..

50% water change? need so much huh?

Not sure the temperature, Haven't buy a temp moniter..

Waiting for your FTS later today... :P

Not bad leh Chris... :P

Still have a lot of space to put more GEMS... :D

Don't see much variety in Victor's corals. Seems that what he gave you are mostly the same as mine except that yours are probably bigger than mine.

Not bad leh Chris... :P

Still have a lot of space to put more GEMS... :D

Don't see much variety in Victor's corals. Seems that what he gave you are mostly the same as mine except that yours are probably bigger than mine.

guess he gave same corals to everyones.. must drop by GO some day already.. :eyebrow:

Before you get new corals, get some coral food. Phytoplankton isn't enough for your corals. :eyebrow:

great scaping!

Yup, I saw his tank today... :eyebrow:

Scaping is nice but fishes not doing too well in his tank... :whistle

I think Victor gave him 2 fishes that weren't in the best of health. When i went, 1 already up the lorry and the other nearly up the lorry already.

ya lo.. not enough coral food.. will be going tmr to marine life to get some during office hour.. :eyebrow:

getting some henry gourmet and mysis too..

I dun think ML sells mysis... :rolleyes:

Anyway, I think he is open at 12pm but go ard 12.30pm because he sometimes opens the shop later. One thing to note, you only have 4 fishes left in your tank so you can't feed too much Henrys in your tank otherwise your nitrates will shoot up in due time.

How is your skimmer now? Skimming darker skimmate?

Yup, I saw his tank today... :eyebrow:

Scaping is nice but fishes not doing too well in his tank... :whistle

I think Victor gave him 2 fishes that weren't in the best of health. When i went, 1 already up the lorry and the other nearly up the lorry already.

planning to go buy some corals from Go soon.. bro, u wan follow? :eyebrow:

u can guide me on which to buy..

planning to get some fishes from other LFS also..

When u going and wat time? I'm only free weekday afternoons... :eyebrow:

I think Jireh marine is coming in a large shipment of fishes next week. Need to confirm with them again.

you are prob not going to heed this but I strongly suggest against buying any expensive corals now.

Just go for mushrooms and zoas 1st in other LFS 1st. They are more hardy and less demanding.

GO corals are not cheap. (not that you cannot afford it of course). No point spending hundreds when you are not sure of your tank condition.

pick up more experience 1st.

For fishes, go for more hardy fishes and smaller ones if you can.

Just have about 5 - 6 fishes 1st and try to hold them healthy.

remember to be diligent with water changes and dose bacteria to assist.

When you feed, try to feed in a particular position everytime.

Train the fishes to know where is the feeding station. So that you do not end up flooding food in the tank.

you are prob not going to heed this but I strongly suggest against buying any expensive corals now.

Just go for mushrooms and zoas 1st in other LFS 1st. They are more hardy and less demanding.

GO corals are not cheap. (not that you cannot afford it of course). No point spending hundreds when you are not sure of your tank condition.

Train the fishes to know where is the feeding station. So that you do not end up flooding food in the tank.

He already got a 4 inch Blue Tang in his tank... Wonder what other "big" fishes Victor is going to give him next...:eyebrow:

Water changes will be done by Victor for the next 2 weeks.

Chris, how is your prata doing now? When I saw it today, it wasn't open at all, all shrunken up. Can u check if the feeding tentacles are out now?

Anyway, before you get corals from GO, come over to my house and I will show you how I feed my corals... :P

He already got a 4 inch Blue Tang in his tank... Wonder what other "big" fishes Victor is going to give him next...:eyebrow:

Chris, how is your prata doing now? When I saw it today, it wasn't open at all, all shrunken up. Can u check if the feeding tentacles are out now?

Anyway, before you get corals from GO, come over to my house and I will show you how I feed my corals... :P

Victor replaces his livestock?

.... why do you encourage him to get corals from GO now? hmmmm ....... :angry2:

Victor replaces his livestock?

.... why do you encourage him to get corals from GO now? hmmmm ....... :angry2:

Fishes are free... :eyebrow: so no replacement even if they die in the tank. I actually rejected two or three fishes when he let me see them before putting them in my tank as they didn't look healthy.

Corals will be replaced if they die... :eyebrow: But not sure if Victor will replace the prata as it really looks very bad. Hopefully it will recover soon.

Hmmm...I didn't encourage him to get corals from GO. He went there before and in fact he was telling me that he wants to stock up his tank with gems from GO even before he got the livestock package from Iwarna.

Fishes are free... :eyebrow: so no replacement even if they die in the tank. I actually rejected two or three fishes when he let me see them before putting them in my tank as they didn't look healthy.

Corals will be replaced if they die... :eyebrow: But not sure if Victor will replace the prata as it really looks very bad. Hopefully it will recover soon.

Hmmm...I didn't encourage him to get corals from GO. He went there before and in fact he was telling me that he wants to stock up his tank with gems from GO even before he got the livestock package from Iwarna.

erh... anyway his $$ and his tank lah, I better dun talk too much hehe....

oic.. Thanks for advise.. think will let victor stock up with corals first.. fishes wise, i will get it myself..

The prata is still the same.. haiz.. later i go buy some coral food liao..