Craftsman's 150 gallon/567 litre Tank (4ftx2ftx2.5ft)

craftsman

Hi everyone. Have been in the forum for a while, but have never posted before. This is my virgin post so to speak! :upsidedown: While many of the world leaders descend in Singapore this weekend for this year's APEC summit, I'll be busy setting up my new Marine tank when it gets delivered this Saturday!

I thought hard about posting and had doubts about whether my tank would be good enough to share with everyone, but finally decided to "share the love", take constructive criticisms and hopefully that would benefit not only myself by building my experience, but also others who might stumble by and learn. So... thank you in advanced for swinging by my thread and giving me your comments.

Stay Tuned!

• Replies 417

I recently moved into a 2 floor Maisonette apartment in Hougang, and negotiated with the wife for a permanent lease of the balcony. Lovely! :eyebrow: This is how the balcony looks like. 3496356161_5b48e52727_b.jpg

3496355891_c17f902266_b.jpg

And the balcony area from inside the house.

3490937079_73cd76aa8e.jpg

3497172494_2a35c9ab90_b.jpg

What you see here is my de-commissioned 3 foot fresh water planted tank. By October, the tank had matured nicely, and was no longer a challenge.

4021544985_97300dd2f9_b.jpg

At about the same time, I caught the marine bug from a colleague of mine, when I visited LCK where I saw for myself the first time the beautiful Goldflake angel. :shock: What a beauty.....

So, last month, I sold off my 3 foot tank and placed an order for a new 4 foot tank! :D

A picture of the 3 foot tank being de-commissioned...

4043079122_8b8b03dabf_b.jpg

Ordered the tank from Aquamarin back in October, and have been eagerly waiting for it since! :eyebrow:

I don't think Janet or Steve would mind me posting their quote (minus prices) :phone: Free advertisement right? By the way, they didn't ask me to do this. I just thought that it would add gravitas to others who are setting up tanks from scratch.

:yeah:

4100253058_9a1b4ef261_o.jpg

Tank:12mm thick grade 1 glass tank 48x24x26 Custom 150G with IOS

Stand: Custom Solid Chengai wood stand and cabinet

Canopy: Custom Hood

Sump: 30G

Lighting: 2 x 250w Lumenbrite with 2 x 54w ATI Light Tubes.

Chiller: Arctica 1/4hp

Flow:1 x Koralia 5

Skimmer: Skimz Monster 180 by Aquamarin

October 27th

Bought some live rocks from Lim Chu Kang. Came back and put them in some pails and a styrofoam box.

4050072812_fc59d4080c_b.jpg

4049322469_94f2864a7c_b.jpg

4049320269_b857d4abe1_b.jpg

My cabinet was delivered 2 days ago. :eyebrow:

4091739339_f27c2ae514_b.jpg

The cabinet was real heavy... and the space is a tight fit...

4091741955_38ba23e553_b.jpg

Cabinet finally in its place. I've got to remove the small acrylic roof to make space for the tank soon... :whistle

4092507986_d40e1c02da_b.jpg

Hi Bro,you place your tank at belcony if rain how ??? will get wet ???

Do let me know your comments. :rolleyes: Hoping to learn from everyone as well...

Yup... thought about that long time ago. When I had my 3ft FW planted tank, I had a roof built. I had to remove it as the new tank is much taller. Once the tank is completely set up, my contractor is coming in to build the awning above the tank that will shelter the tank from the sun and the rain. Already, the tank in this part of the balcony does not get direct sunlight. :rolleyes:

bro, i think sunlight will shines onto yr tank.. and yr chiller will keep in more often..

When I had my 3 ft tank there, temperature always fairly constant at 29 degrees or so. I don't think it will be extra strain for the chiller... to be honest. :rolleyes: Having experienced the 3ft tank on the balcony for 6 months, I've had the benefit of being sure how the tank would react to a slightly more bright environment.

Nice looking setup! Just 1 k5 as wavemaker? I would prefer 2 pumps to create more random flow and more flexibility in placing them.

hellbliss was using 1x K5 in his 3x2x2.was quite strong liao,but i think he selling it off now.

but 1 more is bettter to increase random flow.

hellbliss was using 1x K5 in his 3x2x2.was quite strong liao,but i think he selling it off now.

but 1 more is bettter to increase random flow.

pAiseh I meant 2 smaller pumps, k5 is enough for your tank, but you will find the area in front of the k5 too strong to put any corals

Nice looking setup! Just 1 k5 as wavemaker? I would prefer 2 pumps to create more random flow and more flexibility in placing them.

Yeah... going to get some more. Let me see how. :rolleyes:

u din get the aquatronica or the hydor controller?

Not yet! Ha ha ha.... Just spoke to Steve about aquatronic controller. Lets see how long I can tahan....

The tank makers came this morning.... :upsidedown:

Heres the sump, all wrapped up and nice.....

4101459609_3ab8fd5c2a_b.jpg

Another view from the side.

4102223076_b96f40cf1c_b.jpg

Heres the ATO tank... will be kept to either the side or front of the sump, to create more space in the cabinet. Hmmm.... I asked Steve for a refugium compartment, but can't see it. Will ask him about it later when he's here.

4102218766_43aac0bcfb_b.jpg

Sorry for the crappy photos. They're all taken from my iphone. The guys bringing in the sump. Nice black oyama on the back of the tank.

4101469123_0e5ba64bc1_b.jpg

Bringing it to the balcony.

4101471123_1654579707_b.jpg

Relatively easy to put this into the cabinet. Its super light compared to the tank that is to follow. :AddEmoticons04232:

4101473533_274794eb2b_b.jpg

The ATO with its glass cover. I like it!

4102285300_cfd36a3162_b.jpg

The overflow compartment in the sump with the glass cover. Good way to keep salt creep to a minimum. :eyebrow:

4101486845_c1f8eb9b4e_b.jpg

Heres how the cover opens up...

4102289588_9068e23d90_b.jpg

Yeah... going to get some more. Let me see how. :rolleyes:

Not yet! Ha ha ha.... Just spoke to Steve about aquatronic controller. Lets see how long I can tahan....

Deep Pockets

ok... after the sump, the display tank's turn. This is going to be heavy and tough due to the restricted space I have.

Heres the tank... you can see that it's braced at the bottom of the tank too... Will show another picture on this later.

4101536873_cf02bb98a4_b.jpg

They wanted to push the tank in using their trolley, but I said no as I've got parquet floor in the house, and the wheels would damage the floors if they are dragged across the floor. My wife would kill me. :AddEmoticons04232: So, they had to carry it in... feel so bad...

4102305632_9d027a6960_b.jpg

Ready? 1, 2, 3 go!

4101638637_f40b9479b8_b.jpg

Can't get it up. The space is really tight such that it doesn't allow maneuvering around the tank. Guys taking a pause to think through how to get it up.

4102396156_88833a76bf_b.jpg

ok... one more try...

4102397822_2e03c52efb_b.jpg

Some more difficulties... change places....

4102403612_f4dd2f3b77_b.jpg

ok.. hold on...

4102407162_a692efc100_b.jpg

Argghh... have to find space. I got really nervous when one of the blokes decided to climb up the balcony parapat.... :shock: He better not fall...

4101659583_e74b422e97_b.jpg

Finally using the suckers to carry the tank from this awkward angle.

4101662545_3f8f8ca321_b.jpg

Almost there....

4101664331_f966fcd1cb_b.jpg

Finally in!!!! But in the process, they damaged a little of the underlying foam beneath the tank. Not a big problem, really....

4102422252_b7a26903ca_b.jpg

Immediately, set one of my princesses to work.... :eyebrow:

4102423482_2449e02f79_b.jpg

Heres a view of the bottom brace as I promised earlier.

4102425198_838829808f_b.jpg

Heres a view of the internal overflow compartment...

4101670595_b16990d17e_b.jpg

Thats it for now....