Pasar Malam - Home Tanks

clee123

shaking can mean flukes or ich.

if it's ich, it will be very dangerous for a tang this size.

the consolation is that zebrasoma tangs usually more resistant to ich. but a tang this size, keep your fingers crossed..

thanks... let's see how it goes tomorrow... today... it is not so active the fins are a bit down... but still eating ...

Since it's already in betta box, if there's ich developing jux quickly catch it out and QT. Hypo will be a better choice than copper for such a small fish.

I will try to feed blackie with Hery 'Rojak' and mixed with some inch power and gralic first... :sick:

fts-022012.JPG

Some thing new has arrived...

post-16749-084231100 1284531290_thumb.jp

this is not a pasar malam thingy..been waiting for 2 months for this..

dedicated seahorse tank? or some zeovit toy? :evil:

" The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. The brick walls are there to stop the people who don't want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people! "

Randy Pausch, (The Last Lecture)

hee..hee...new kopi o maker... :eyebrow:

post-16749-054538500 1284566854_thumb.jppost-16749-033776100 1284566955_thumb.jppost-16749-067483800 1284567304_thumb.jp

Support Singapore..buy made in Singapore product.. :thumbsup:

post-16749-012899700 1284567621_thumb.jp

BTW...this new toy comes with two powerful engines with very low power consumption...awesome..

post-16749-044335500 1284567941_thumb.jppost-16749-047381000 1284567994_thumb.jp

Took me a while to finger out how to fix the two pumps into to this "Hybrid" cylindrical and cone shape chambers without any screw and lock.. :paiseh:

post-16749-053916800 1284568042_thumb.jp

fts-022012.JPG

hee..hee...new kopi o maker... :eyebrow:

post-16749-054538500 1284566854_thumb.jppost-16749-033776100 1284566955_thumb.jppost-16749-067483800 1284567304_thumb.jp

Support Singapore..buy made in Singapore product.. :thumbsup:

post-16749-012899700 1284567621_thumb.jp

BTW...this new toy comes with two powerful engines with very low power consumption...awesome..

post-16749-044335500 1284567941_thumb.jppost-16749-047381000 1284567994_thumb.jp

Took me a while to finger out how to fix the two pumps into to this "Hybrid" cylindrical and cone shape chambers without any screw and lock.. :paiseh:

post-16749-053916800 1284568042_thumb.jp

awesome bro!

for a moment i thought why are you posting a coffee maker.. till i read and saw the pictures haha!

update us on the kopi o thickness!!

Really enjoyed the DIY process of assemble the skimmer...it allowed me to understand peice by peice how the skimmer is being designed and created... I must say the desgin is outstanding and the product is refined in every detail..

It took me about 40 minutes to get all the parts fixed up...

post-16749-075797200 1284569433_thumb.jp

Been looking around for a good skimmer to replacing the existing one..

post-16749-087036800 1284569787_thumb.jp

Had compared and considered other similar capacity such as Deltec, Bubble King, Reef Octopus, Bubble Magus, etc. and finally decided to get this in term of price / performance factor...

The work horses in action... :groupwavereversed:

post-16749-046904400 1284570801_thumb.jppost-16749-050745400 1284570857_thumb.jp

the by product ... Kopi o after one day... :welldone:

post-16749-096248100 1284570873_thumb.jp

Most importantly it (less than 40W) cut down about 130W of 24x7 power from the existing Beckett Skimmer (110W) and BM-NAC6A (60W) will improved skimming effeciency .. :score:

fts-022012.JPG

:rolleyes: Bro, how do U carry out regular maintenance of the 2 foam pumps as they are locked in place at the bottom of the skimmer & covered by the 'bubble plate' ?

Do U have to take the whole skimmer out & dismantle again ?

:rolleyes: Bro, how do U carry out regular maintenance of the 2 foam pumps as they are locked in place at the bottom of the skimmer & covered by the 'bubble plate' ?

Do U have to take the whole skimmer out & dismantle again ?

Yes... u have to take the whole skimmer out and dismantle them peice by peice lor... :thumbdown:

I guess all the internal skimmer will be the same ma.... unless you get the external type...the SM252... :rolleyes:

fts-022012.JPG

Just one day and you got that kind of kopi-o ??? Wow this is really cool... think I should really ditch my two beckett (which is a pain in my neck and ###### ).

Yes...indeed pain in my neck...whenever I need to clear the skimmer...I really need to break the skimmer neck ...and my heck too.. :agreed:

post-16749-001686700 1285003656_thumb.jp

That was also one of the reasons I decided to upgarde the skimmer.. :(

fts-022012.JPG

Received couples of queries and PMs on the performance of the new Skimmer and how I come out with the winner... :score:

So...the followings are some information I gethered over the last few months on the technical specs of various branded Skimmers in the market and are available locally... :groupwavereversed:

post-16749-031807200 1285049749_thumb.jp

I looked at the two imporatant deciding factors in making my choice - the E-T-A factor and P-T-P factor :thumbsup:

E-T-A Ratio (energy to air ratio) = 1920 LH / 40W = 48 (e.g. SM251) the higher number the better performance

P-T-P Ratio (Price to ETA Performance ratio) = Price/ETA lower cost for better price performance

Of coz, there are other considerations such as the local support, warranty, the look and feel, and special discount or parallel import that might need to be take into acccounts...

if you are looking at the Price performance ratio...no body is close to the SM 251... so my choice is clear... :agreed:

fts-022012.JPG

Received couples of queries and PMs on the performance of the new Skimmer and how I come out with the winner... :score:

So...the followings are some information I gethered over the last few months on the technical specs of various branded Skimmers in the market and are available locally... :groupwavereversed:

post-16749-031807200 1285049749_thumb.jp

I looked at the two imporatant deciding factors in making my choice - the E-T-A factor and P-T-P factor :thumbsup:

E-T-A Ratio (energy to air ratio) = 1920 LH / 40W = 48 (e.g. SM251) the higher number the better performance

P-T-P Ratio (Price to ETA Performance ratio) = Price/ETA lower cost for better price performance

Of coz, there are other considerations such as the local support, warranty, the look and feel, and special discount or parallel import that might need to be take into acccounts...

if you are looking at the Price performance ratio...no body is close to the SM 251... so my choice is clear... :agreed:

KICKASS! hahahahaha I was waiting for someone with deep pockets to do this for a LONG time already! thanks bro for showing us the LIGHT! :D

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

KICKASS! hahahahaha I was waiting for someone with deep pockets to do this for a LONG time already! thanks bro for showing us the LIGHT! :D

thanks bro..

Picture can tell a thoursand word..

post-16749-028328200 1285062937_thumb.jppost-16749-046132000 1285062953_thumb.jppost-16749-003939600 1285063126_thumb.jppost-16749-055412500 1285063142_thumb.jppost-16749-021706600 1285063153_thumb.jp

Hope this is informative for sis/bro here...

fts-022012.JPG

Haa...you too ?! Bro Marco, dont tell me you have some bad experience on this area...hehehe

Sorry Bro Clee for OT.

Sm251 - Did spoke with AM on the SKIMZ Skimmer... the pump warranty is 1 year...as to the rest of the skimmer part..she told me that I can bring in anytime if something is wrong.... by that I mean after the general warranty period of 1 years. Beside, the factory is very near my place.. :thumbsup:

Both Deltec SC2565 and Bubble King 250 are carried by RD - my impression is that you will get premium service for a premium price (much like sending your BMW for service and pay for the expensive part if over warranty period). However, if you bring in the item yourself from other means, chances that you will not get the service.. :eyeblur:

Bubble Magus BM250S - This will depend where you get the product from. Based on my best knowledge, Jireh or Iwarna carry this brand. If you got it from Iwarna, you will probably get a frist level service from them before turning to the supplier (for example, they might lend you a skimmer or the parts while the skimmer is sending for service). :friends: So I would say the service level is good and you might get a further 10-15% on the item if you are regular there. As for Jireh, I would say standard service within warranty period. After that, you might be on your own..and get your own backup stragtegy if you have one.. Interestingly, BM250S is quite affortable if you can bring in outside of Singapore. For example, directly from China, Hong Kong or from on-line shop.. I did see some on-line stores are selling the same item at a good price of US$365 - US$460. Of course, if you go by this evenue..this is the price you pay for no service. :thumbdown:

Reef Octopus XP-5000SSS - This is actually a very good product with new bubble blaster pump. The new pump is the core selling point. I was actually deciding between SKMIZ and Reef Octopus mainly on the new pump design and the new Skimmer look (both are new product linea and are in promotion period). Furthermore, if I get either product I can safely assume that I will get good local service. You can get this from Iwarna and expect further discount of 10-15% for regular. I think AM has shopped carry Reef Octopus skimmer already. Alternatively, you can get another model SSS-5000INT which are using the same HY-5000S Bubble Blaster Skimmer pump but with old skimmer body at a cheaper list price of S$929.

I must say SKIM's ES5000 pump (http://www.skimz.sg/products/protein_skimmers/monzter3.html)and Reef Octopus HY-5000S pump (http://www.reefoctopus.com.cn/ShowProduct.php?id=14)are equally powerful products. However, what will you choose if you were asked to decide on flying a single engine plane or a twin-engine plane in long haut journey across the pacific ocean? :eyebrow:

bro cedricang, sorry to disapporint you.. I slept early yesterday...so no OT... :yahoo:

fts-022012.JPG

The BK skimmer you posted is the SM300 model, not the deluxe. Air intake is 2 x 1750lt/hr and water intake is 2 x 2000lt/hr. Pump wattage is 80w. All this info is taken from RD website. Except for the price, all the info in regards to the BK in the table you provided is wrong. :thumbdown:

Hope this helps! :eyebrow:

Great piece of product info bro :welldone:

Ok, besides performance and price being so good, what about the after sales service ?

:agreed: After sales service is v. important to me for long term peace of mind. That's why i tend to go to RD, RB or Iwarna if I need to purchase anything as I've had good experiences with them and IMO, they have good feedback from many reefers. I'm sure many bros here also have their preferred LFS, and so long as you are comfortable with your LFS, should stick to it.

And great piece of mini review of your new purchas Clee! I think you have done v. detailed research before reaching your skimmer decision and kudos to sharing it with us. Looking forward to more reviews on your new toy, and I think I speak for many who would like to know the quality and performance of this new pump/skimmer, and after sales service (not saying it will, but just in case murphy does strike)

gratz on your new buy CLee!!! If anything goes wrong with the skimmer, guess you can always bang on the factory door for spare parts since you're staying so close. LOL:upsidedown:

Cheers, ;)

Desi

Sheldon (TBBT): A little misunderstanding? Galileo and the Pope had a little misunderstanding...