Led dilemma

w3ish3ng

I'm planning to diy a led lightset for my 1ft cube planted tank (know that this is a marine forum, but you guys are all the gurus!)

However I'm not too sure which way should I go.

1st setup

25x cree xp-g 3 watts led with 2x meanwell 1050ma driver.

This series is one of the brightest for 3 watts but sadly there's aint any lens for it

Cost wise will be 338.45 without shipping

2nd setup

36x cree xr-e 3 watts led with 6x buckpuck 1000ma driver.

Not as bright as the g series but I will either put a 60 or 80 degree lens for it.

Cost wise will 344.74 without shipping

3rd setup

49x china made star 3 watts led with 4x meanwell 700ma driver.

Least bight of all 3, but will made up in numbers, will get 60 degree lens for it.

Cost wise will be 182.10 without shipping

Will drill holes on a aluminium sheet to mount them and stick it with thermal paste.

Ventilation will be provided with 2x 140mm fan

Casing will either be construct of stainless steel or acrylic.

All of the pricing given above are in SGD

So please input your suggestion on which way should I go.

Tia!

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

• Replies 68

Hi bro,

I suggest 16x3w and max at 20pcs with 2" or less from LED to LED spacing with no lens required.

For ventilation, please remember to have sufficient ventilation holes and 2x80mm or 1x140mm fans should be sufficient to cool down the heat liao :rolleyes:.

For casing, thin stainless steel is good but you can't diy yourself so fabricated 1 pcs by pro is quite expensive leh :whistle !

I was thinking either 14.as using 16 will require me to buy. 1 more driver, and buying 1 more driver for 2 pieces of led doesn't make much sense to me

What driver are you using? Meanwell?

yup, meanwell 1050ma for xp-g

Get 2 for the 16 LEDs lor.. don't stress the PS mah! :groupwavereversed:

btw, how much you got your LPC-60-1050?

I may want to buy 3 of it leh :eyebrow: .

Get 2 for the 16 LEDs lor.. don't stress the PS mah! :groupwavereversed:

btw, how much you got your LPC-60-1050?

I may want to buy 3 of it leh :eyebrow: .

Hi bro...

Interested to know how much is that....

Comparing with another model...ELN-48-60....

Planning to get few of them for my LEDs....

Tank : 3 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup end Feb 2014 ) --> 4 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup early Nov 2016 )
Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC6 --> Bubble Magus Curve 7
Return pump : Jebao 10000l/h ( down in 17th December 2014 ) --> Jebao DC-12000 ( 19th December 2014 )
Compressor drop-in coil
Wavemaker : Tunze 6105 x 1
Lights : Modular based DIY LED light x 4

Chaeto in the sump

Hi bro...

Interested to know how much is that....

Comparing with another model...ELN-48-60....

Planning to get few of them for my LEDs....

I got it 58/pc about 1 year old from SM system. I think LPC and PLN will be cheaper if you never uses the dimmer :friends: .

if im getting, i will be getting it from rapidled

selling at 26usd each

also will be getting a piece of heatsink from them, at 5.9inches by 9inches

was thinking of linking 2 heatsink together but since im cutting down on leds, it will be a waste of space and money.

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

running 20bulbs on the heat sink in 4 rows of 5.

will that mean i have to hang the lightset quite high to avoid any deadspot?

or should i just get a aluminum plate to work with since dimension will be of my choice

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

running 20bulbs on the heat sink in 4 rows of 5.

will that mean i have to hang the lightset quite high to avoid any deadspot?

or should i just get a aluminum plate to work with since dimension will be of my choice

Hi bro,

the viewing angle of CREE LED w/o len is about 125 degree so no need to hang high and it will not deadspot if you plan the spacing properly.

if im getting, i will be getting it from rapidled

selling at 26usd each

also will be getting a piece of heatsink from them, at 5.9inches by 9inches

was thinking of linking 2 heatsink together but since im cutting down on leds, it will be a waste of space and money.

Hi bro,

Please bear in mind that the shipping fee for getting fin heatsink from oversea is very expensive due to the weight hor.

IMHO, Although meanwell PS from oversea is cheaper but if add in shipping fee and also consider warranty issue, there will not much different getting from local SM system :rolleyes: .

For your case, aluminum plate should be sufficient liao :eyebrow: .

Hi bro,

Please bear in mind that the shipping fee for getting fin heatsink from oversea is very expensive due to the weight hor.

IMHO, Although meanwell PS from oversea is cheaper but if add in shipping fee and also consider warranty issue, there will not much different getting from local SM system :rolleyes: .

For your case, aluminum plate should be sufficient liao :eyebrow: .

Hi James....

The market now is shortage of parts and is common that the LT is in 6-8weeks....

After calculate the purchase from overseas....the diff is not so big.....might as well get from local...

Tank : 3 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup end Feb 2014 ) --> 4 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup early Nov 2016 )
Return pump : Jebao 10000l/h ( down in 17th December 2014 ) --> Jebao DC-12000 ( 19th December 2014 )
Compressor drop-in coil

Chaeto in the sump

Rapidled had replied to me, they does ship internationally and the shipping fee is really cheap somehow.

it will cost me a total of 15bucks to ship 2 driver and 2 heatsink back.

also have find some xp-g led from kaidomain going for 6.50 each(wholesale price)

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

just called smsystem

they only have stock for lpc-60-1750 going at 40 each but too strong for my bulbs. 1050 have to pre order and estimated time will be 8-16weeks

Their website was down this afternoon....

Haven't called them on the ELN series....

Compressor drop-in coil

Chaeto in the sump

Their website was down this afternoon....

Haven't called them on the ELN series....

ELN series $58/pc, hve to wait abt 8wks.

Passion in reefing!

youtube.com/watch?v=qExn-l-t5a4

youtube.com/watch?v=z6LNPWec5zA

ELN series $58/pc, hve to wait abt 8wks.

I see...

Thanks....maybe will look around...unless no alternative....

Compressor drop-in coil

Chaeto in the sump

Rapidled had replied to me, they does ship internationally and the shipping fee is really cheap somehow.

it will cost me a total of 15bucks to ship 2 driver and 2 heatsink back.

also have find some xp-g led from kaidomain going for 6.50 each(wholesale price)

Rapidled based in US?