Pairing of Percula Clown

Gouldian

Hi reefers,

Just wanted to share my friend's recent experience. He had bought a pair of Percula from Coral Farm 2 months back and after about 2 weeks both were down with ICH.

After battling ICH for a couple of days the male did not make it and thus my friend is left with a female. :angry:

We wanted very much to have a pair cuz this is the reason we used to convince his wife. :lol: So we started doing our research.

But all the information we gather did not prepare us to what he is about to experience last night.

After 2 weeks of cooling down and researching, he decided it was time to add another male clown, so on Sunday he went down to CF and bought a juvenile percula knowing the chances of getting female is lesser. On Sunday night, after acclimatizing the clown he placed it in a breeder cage and left it floating in the main tank with the female.

Initially the female were a little aggressive to the male but after a couple of hours they started to show some courtship ritual. :P

Last night after his work he went back and releases the male into the main tank and witness both of them swimming together like lovers. :D

I am very happy for my friend and would like to share this will fellow reefers. :D

Please feel free to comments. :thanks:

wow, roidan! ur pic is well taken, like those in the marine guide book... is that a rose BTA ??

Actually, I thought Percula are not easy to pair that's why they sell them so much more as a pair.

But to my surprise they are quite easy to pair! Imagine, all those savings if we were to pair it ourselves! :yeah:

Any reefers think otherwise?

I myself have been trying to pair Maroon, but although I am having headways, I must say it are "Dam#" difficult.

I will also post my results after I see them breeding. ;) (Pang Tang) Scared after posting they dun want to pair liao. ;) (Keeping fingers & toes crossed).

hehe...yeah lor...like changing house...

not photoshop...another prog called photostudio 2000...i abit backward one..hehe

i worst dont even know how to use both.haha

Actually, I thought Percula are not easy to pair that's why they sell them so much more as a pair.

But to my surprise they are quite easy to pair! Imagine, all those savings if we were to pair it ourselves! :yeah:

Any reefers think otherwise?

I myself have been trying to pair Maroon, but although I am having headways, I must say it are "Dam#" difficult.

I will also post my results after I see them breeding. ;) (Pang Tang) Scared after posting they dun want to pair liao. ;) (Keeping fingers & toes crossed).

i always see lfs selling maroon pair,the female is like so big!!!almost the size of palm to finger tip..

Ya loh, according to most literature, the safest and fastest way is when the female is five times bigger than the male. :D

Most clown are born male with only one big female emitting chemicals to prevent any clowns in its territory from changing to female. But when you remove any juvenile into a isolated tank, it will eventually becomes female.

For me, I did not have the luxury, thus, I will be very happy if I really suceed. For your info, my two maroon are only 1 cm different in size. ;)

Actually it is difficult to ###### them.

But by knowing their natural progression of ###### change will give us an hints.

As written, Males are generally half the size of females and are also slimmer in the body. Colour does not appear to be different between males or females and should not be used as a mechanism for sexing (except for Maroon). All young Clowns start life as juveniles. The most dominant juvenile becomes the female, the next dominant juvenile becomes a male with the rest staying as juveniles. If the female dies, the male becomes a female and the most dominant juvenile becomes the male. The best way of ensuring you end up with a male and a female is to purchase two of the smallest fish you can. As long as the fish are housed together, you should end up with a pair when they have been in your reef tank for a while. This is certainly not guaranteed but it has proved to work on a number of occasions.

However, if you have already have a clown in your tank for quite some time it is usually safe to say that it has become a female and thus the best way to pair them is to get another that is five time smaller.

Best wishes to your pairing. ;)

Hi Gouldian,

FYI, clowns are not born male, neither do most clown are born male, but born without ######. The largest one is the female and the second largest is the male. the rest will remain sexless until they need to take over the male position and the male to become female.

thanks bro, i realized the mistake and have corrected it on my following thread. Hope i dun mislead anyone.

I have posted something on pairing with pics n also

hosting with an anemone.. dunno where it went to..

there has been incident the female brutally killed the

smaller one.. the perculas are veri agressive can also

do one to one with a maroon clown.

it should be done at owner risk. of course as u indicate

lessen the chance is to find a pair, different in size. not

necessary 5 times more or so. but easily differentiate

in size.

constant monitor is important, if u see the female attack

the male, remove one of them immediately. its not dump

n hope for the best.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...5600&hl=percula

I got one indepth posting on getting perculas to host with anemone n pairing them.. can't recall. after several maintenace..maybe gone liao.

Thanks bro, I will continue searhing and observing. Will post if I have more info to share.

By the way, bwilly, how's your percular pair? Are they doing hanky panky already?

Thanks bro, I will continue searhing and observing. Will post if I have more info to share.

By the way, bwilly, how's your percular pair? Are they doing hanky panky already?

with anemone, they are not really that close.

but still rubba once n awhile.

but at nite they usually sleep seperate.

the female won't go attack the male.

u see my link so cosy the percula..

hehheh... went true perc hunting today, couldn't find any mated pairs, so decided to try my luck at choosing 2 of them of different sizes, roughly twice the size. Came back, put one in quarantine tank and then observe... after awhile, got impatient and decided to try try and put both together in the tank. To my surprise, the moment i released into the tank, they began to swim together liaoz... now swimming and playing together already :D think must be my luck lah... come to think of it, save me alot of money too! its nearly 1/4 of the price of buying a mated pair... :upsidedown::whistle

yup, same with me, IMO they pair very fast, bought 2 false clown from the same tank, put it in my tank n they swim together liao :rolleyes:

SBS_Transit

Had a Sabre clown, any chance to give her a small mate, anyone care to share........ :idea:

You mean Sebae clown? If you wanna introduce a mate to it, make sure its at least 2 times different in size. IMO, i think its best to introduce both into the same tank at the same time, less chance of showing aggression. If your sebae has been established in your tank for quite long, it will be difficult cos high chance it will attack the new addition. But you can always try, if cannot, just take it out of the tank lor...