Using a UPS for aquarium

bwilly

Roidan has tested APC UPS before. He found that the Smart UPS can be used due to the waveshape been some Low-distortion sine wave. The cheaper backup UPS does not run his tunze. On-battery

Me also thinking of getting the APC Smart UPS700VA. ;)

990_7020C7_en.pdf

u meant the cheaper ones cannot run cause of the sine wave??

got one $170+ model, got some wave one leh.

dunno can use or not.

run tunze bo eng. does not provide water exchange.

must can run the return flow + skimmer.

modified looks like this....

although the slightly better modified sine wave forms take the shape of HDB staircase...it goes up...at staggered edges...

this non smooth waveform cause problems with my eheims and tunzes...

i can only run them smoothly on pure sine wave UPS :)

if your tunze is near the water surface....the wave action will both improve oxygen exchange and movement in the tank to prevent some corals from suffocating in their own slime...

definitely beats battery operated air pumps :)

post-17-1088662304.gif

i'm using the APC 500es. Got no problem running my return pump and tunze during power cutoff. But does not last long enough for my liking...

hee..but no $ to buy the larger capacity UPS.

yeah...

as i said...some models and brands of modified sine wave forms are better than others as they emulate the pure wave better.....the more intrinsic the steps...the more closely it follows the pure wave lor...

some of the cheaper ones use stepped wave forms as crute as big staircases if you look from an oscilloscope...

so....to be safe..get the pure wave if you have the budget...otherwise you can try the modified wave ones...

modified looks like this....

although the slightly better modified sine wave forms take the shape of HDB staircase...it goes up...at staggered edges...

this non smooth waveform cause problems with my eheims and tunzes...

i can only run them smoothly on pure sine wave UPS :)

if your tunze is near the water surface....the wave action will both improve oxygen exchange and movement in the tank to prevent some corals from suffocating in their own slime...

definitely beats battery operated air pumps :)

I think these are also known as "stepped sine wave" that is used in the backup RS series?

Some info on Sine wave created by UPS.

z_waveform.gif

Sine Wave: This is the best waveform, as it is the shape of an (ideal) AC electrical signal from the wall.

Square Wave: The least desirable output waveform type, a square wave is sort of a "flattened-out" version of a sine wave. Instead of the voltage smoothly increasing from the negative maximum to the positive maximum and back again, it shifts suddenly from negative to positive, stays there for half a cycle, and then jumps to full negative and stays there for half a cycle, then repeats

Modified Square Wave: This waveform is a compromise between the sine wave and the square wave. The positive and negative pulses of the square wave are thinned, separated and made taller, so the peak voltage is much closer to that of a sine wave, and the overall shape of the wave more closely resembles that of a sine wave.

I think the input to the PC if its not so sine wave is not a problem as the PC's power supply is running on switched mode and further rectification into various DC outputs is done inside the switched mode power supply.

For pumps/powerheads, the wave is run straight into the motor coil and with these kinds of square wave, tendency is to burn the coils as they are quite like DC (at the top portion and bottom portion of the wave) IMO.

I think basically an UPS is an DC-AC inverter. It converts the power from the battery's DC wave into an AC wave at a specific frequency. So better invest in a as pure sine wave output model as possible as there will be no more circuits to refine the output wave form. If there are slight square waves it will kill your pumps in no time.

There's also another UPS brand, MGE UPS system. I actually wrote in to enquire about their Pulsar Evolution series UPS. According to Mr Robin in MGE Asia, its give Sinewave output whon on battery. 2 years warranty and the MGE Pulsar Evolution 1500VA tower UPS cost $900+.

Wonder if anyone here knows how to get these UPS cheaper. :P

JC