Where is the best place to shop for HUGE variety of fishes and corals?

Chippie

Hi bros and sis! Forgot to add this into my prev post earlier! But where would be a good place which has a large variety of corals and livestock? And of course that sell them at a reasonable or cheaper price too! (: Pasir ris farm (Ah beng, iwarna) or lim chu kang area (qianhu, jireh there). Since i live pretty much in the middle of sing, both places are equally far so may as well choose the right one to go to haha. hope to get advice thx! :D

jack of all trades and yet cheaper price?

the best place is our pasarmalam

Haha actually thats true la. Hmmm but pasar malam must wait one eh. ): hmmm but assuming i break up the terms, so wheres the best place to get livestock and wheres the best to get coral? :P

there is no best place, every LFS has their die hard fans

for coral, GO has the most variety

as for LS, depends on shipment

i go LCK201 cos its most convenient for me

Hmmm again thats quite true. Haha okok can thx alot! Anw is lck201 near qianhu area or like at a totally diff place?

Golden Octopus is expensive but their coral variety is TOP NOTCH....... erm......if u wan to buy Mercedes or BMW.......you should go there.......Prices very rigid.......

Coral Farm Corals are a lot but their better types are even more expensive than GO.........Fish wise........some of their fishes are ok pricing but most of them are slightly higher than market.........they give 20% off their list price but they have 7% GST..........

LCK201 variety is not a lot but I must say their Super Sun Range is NO HORSE RUN.........

Qianhu -> Forget it......

SeaLife in Balestier -> some corals and fishes are priced at market but some are unusually high......very service oriented in Ang Moh way cos all 4 staff (owners included) ask "Can I help u" and it makes u abit stress.........Good range of Angel Fishes (I believe best in Singapore).......

Pinnacle range is good when there is new shipment........I would say their pricing is one of the best around......no test water even if you are new........pricing negotiable too.........

Ah Beng -> Range is quite fantastic with many regular shipments......Ah Beng character is good and frenly.......knew him for more than 10 years when I started but quit 6 mths later.......Restart again recently........Pricing for Kent Marine stuff on the high side like Sea Life.......negotiable though......Pricing for fish and corals need to nego to get good pricing......he is the type where if u get a discount off him.........u will feel good........

Ng Couple in front of Ah Beng -> Not many regular shipments......range not many.....sell usual stuff........very frenly couple......pricing is top 2 in Singapore besides Pinnacle.....they just earn a simple living and pass time........sort of quick sale and run kind of business strategy.......

Iwarna -> Pricing seems abit like Ah Beng or slightly higher...... been there many times but bought only once......I heard only regulars get the first shot at new shipments.......din get the good customer service feeling from them........too many people there and duno which is staff or customers......I may be wrong but I dun feel good there............

ML -> nebe been there but heard it is a small shop but owner Henry is nice guy.......sms him today and replied with politeness.......

Lim Chu Kang (1 more farm LFS) -> went there but a wild dog keep barking at my car till I dare not come out and drive away.......should be 1-2 mins drive from LCK201.......I heard owner is Steven......

Oh.....1 more........Aquamarin.......pricing is slightly higher than market.......good quality range......if u buy regularly......can get discount until market pricing......the guy with the moustache is frenly and also the specialist guy they hired as consultant.........

Wa uncle jon! you're the best man! Haha! Thx SO MUCH for all the insights! :D now at least i more or less have an idea of where to shop! :D Oh anw have you been to jireh marine? Is it good? And aquamarin is the paya lebar one?

agree with uncle jon on iwarna

really miss Reborn who cater to the "not so rich"

Reborn is like Microsoft while GO is like Apple :heh:

now Ah beng become my Reborn replacement

when come to equipment... most are like Apple :lol:

My pleasure :)

Jireh Marine range is not so big..........pricing seems be on the high side.........

Quote example : Yellow Tang they sell around S$50, market price sell around $30-35, even Coral Farm after 20% discount off $52 is around $42.......

But I do see they sell black jelly fish once.........something which I rarely see in other LFS.........

Aquamarin is the paya lebar one.......they are the one who won the Aquarama Tank Display contest.........

When hobbyist visit LFS,or any consumer visiting any retail shops

there are many criteria in which we look at, as being discussed in this thread

1) Pricing

2) Variety

While those are very important to hobbyists, it is heartening to know that Uncle Jon also mentioned other important aspects like the knowledge of the owner in regards to livestock, or even the friendly atmosphere.

I guess the problems come when we just look at pricing to decide which are the better LFS. As consumers we only see the retail price, we compare 2 LFS selling similar livestock and sometimes jump into conclusion that LFS which sells more expensive is exploiting hobbyists.

Though there might be some truth, but it could also be due to other possible reasons like overhead costs, origin of livestock, quarantine measures taken prior to sale. I think that is why some of us shy away from comparing prices as these comments might be subjective and also bearing in mind that some of these LFS are sponsors of the forum.

Also like what digiman said, some of us have our favorite LFS regardless of price.

Personally, I enjoy visiting LFS with friendly people and knowledgeable people, so that even when fishes are very affordable, the LFS owner would still find out more about my system and tell me straight in the face that the fish i am about to purchase destined for doom with me and would do better in a more prepared system.

lol Uncle Jon I realised most of your breakdown of the LFS shops prices are either expensive, high, abit higher, unusually high... no mention of cheap!

but then again, i think its an apt description coz the hobby is draining on the pocket :superman:

Have to stress that pricing shouldn't be the overriding factor in getting your LS. You should be looking for a healthy, feeding speciman when doing your shopping. Personally, I would rather buy a $50 fish than buy a similar fish at $10 and try it 5 times (or more) before I am successful.

haha.........I must say Coral Farm fishes are very hardy despite the pricing......the fishes eat readily and swim strongly......this is why I bought quite a few fishes from them and knowingly pay a higher price........

This is true if only u buy a week after they have acclimatized the fish. IMO, it is only justifiable to pay more if the fish has been properly quarantined for a week or so. If the fish just touched down a day before and you chiong to buy, why the need to pay more? Let the LFS owners take the risk of DOA and quarantine and feed the fish until it is stable, then it makes sense to pay extra. BTW,i like coral farm cause they use UV on their water and the fish are usually very healthy and feeding well. But you may have to do your research well before buying. Some of their fish pricing is ridiculously high. But some exceptionally cheap. I remember their nano fish like trimma, Upside-Down Trimma, eviota, spaceman etc(all from indonesia) are super cheap. Each piece is only $3 compared when others are selling at 8-15. Then their bangaii cardinal is super expensive at $14 although elsewhere selling only $6. So you have to research well before buying if you want to get good deals. If you dont need good deals then just buy wherever is convenient la. :thumbsup:

I personally always check with LCK(steven) for his fish shipment before i try elsewhere. His pricing is very reasonable and non chopping board style. Especially true for exotic or pricey fish, you cannot go wrong with this place.

Just my opinion lah....

Personally, I enjoy visiting LFS with friendly people and knowledgeable people, so that even when fishes are very affordable, the LFS owner would still find out more about my system and tell me straight in the face that the fish i am about to purchase destined for doom with me and would do better in a more prepared system.

I am on the same boat.

I really enjoyed it when the LFS offers with good communication and sharing. By far, I had good experience with CF, ML and SL.

I don't mind paying more for LS.

I just hope that the lfs dont out of their mind and think that this trade is a big business and prices can easily markup or only interested in exotic species to ask for high price .... $1 snail or tubeworm should also be treated as a welcome deal.

• 5 months later...

There is also a small little stall called West Coast Aquarium located at west coast, around the vicinity of ayer raja market. Though Ls in the shop is very limited, you can always ask the friendly owner to order your preferred Ls, he will personally hand pick em. The owner is extremely helpful and resourceful ! Check it out !

^^