My new office small small tank

jxlex

This week:

Inclusion on extra 1 Par38 20k into the setup with photoperiod of 3hrs.

Phosban added into the HOF to help manage phosphate levels.

A fair amount of frags added into the system... All ok with nice PE.

LS added:

1 x 6 line wrasse

3 x nano gobies (Latin name left in office)

Dosing of C-balance increased to 3 x 1ml per day (equal parts) for now as realized a drop in Ca after addition of few new frags.

Will try to upload some photos soon. :)

Glad no casualties for now...

:: just a noob ::

You are just like my friend who drives his BMW to coral farm weekly just to buy a packet water for his nano tank in office for the past 2 yrs.

Tank 4x2x2.5

Looking forward for more photos bro!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

trying la bro, but tank in office lazy to bring cam up and down and iphone photo is like sai... hahaha...

you should post more photos bro, your tank is :thumbsup:

Nice macro shots !

Hi bro! Thanks... its very hard though so is completely off focus... cam lousy, skill lousy.... must find a day go raid your stocks liao :bow:

You are just like my friend who drives his BMW to coral farm weekly just to buy a packet water for his nano tank in office for the past 2 yrs.

ehhhh.... dun understand... but i do drive to MP once or twice a week to buy water but i cannot afford a BMW, BMX still can :P

some old photos from my hp/cam... didnt take any photo last week cos busy working and running around all the LFS... never stay late in office for work for such a long time... recently keep staying late and going back on weekends to man the tank :wacko::huh:

bicolour poci when first put into the tank... currently PE is quite decent, colour so so la...

post-18088-0-65927400-1332567884_thumb.j

cant remember the name again, parent colony is white base with red polyps:

post-18088-0-79550500-1332567887_thumb.j

cant remember name oso, but quite a common sps but i always like the fluff fluff look:

post-18088-0-40836200-1332567897_thumb.j

Some comparism from 1st introduction to the week before, the acro polyps turning greening and body is lightening up a little, dunno how it is suppose to actually look like cos nvr see mummy before:

post-18088-0-59403200-1332567881_thumb.jpost-18088-0-87381500-1332567893_thumb.j

Current setup:

post-18088-0-32412000-1332567871_thumb.j

Close up:

post-18088-0-56356900-1332567875_thumb.j

havent got the chance to take photos of all the other nice frags i have collected from all the bros here... will try to do it soon...

Next up... another strip of red and blue LED for this tank and preparations for a new tank at home! ^_^ ^_^

some old photos from my hp/cam... didnt take any photo last week cos busy working and running around all the LFS... never stay late in office for work for such a long time... recently keep staying late and going back on weekends to man the tank :wacko::huh:

bicolour poci when first put into the tank... currently PE is quite decent, colour so so la...

post-18088-0-65927400-1332567884_thumb.j

cant remember the name again, parent colony is white base with red polyps:

post-18088-0-79550500-1332567887_thumb.j

cant remember name oso, but quite a common sps but i always like the fluff fluff look:

post-18088-0-40836200-1332567897_thumb.j

Some comparism from 1st introduction to the week before, the acro polyps turning greening and body is lightening up a little, dunno how it is suppose to actually look like cos nvr see mummy before:

post-18088-0-59403200-1332567881_thumb.jpost-18088-0-87381500-1332567893_thumb.j

Current setup:

post-18088-0-32412000-1332567871_thumb.j

Close up:

post-18088-0-56356900-1332567875_thumb.j

havent got the chance to take photos of all the other nice frags i have collected from all the bros here... will try to do it soon...

Next up... another strip of red and blue LED for this tank and preparations for a new tank at home! ^_^ ^_^

Bro, guess u r really hooked to this addiction called reefing. :)

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Hey bro I have the same tank too is it the 16l version? How's your tank progressing?

Question: You had some advice from the bros here about your filter. The back internal filter comes with sponge, the plastic hollow cylindrical stuff, carbon and wool. Is that enough? In short, is the default settings enough for biological filtration coupled with live rocks and live sand?

Sorry if I have breached any rules or hijacked your post. I had always contemplated to convert it to a marine tank but was afraid to try...

So was wondering if the 'stock' specs of filter and 20 day(4.8W) LED lights are enough.

Hey bro I have the same tank too is it the 16l version? How's your tank progressing?

Question: You had some advice from the bros here about your filter. The back internal filter comes with sponge, the plastic hollow cylindrical stuff, carbon and wool. Is that enough? In short, is the default settings enough for biological filtration coupled with live rocks and live sand?

Hey bro, I'm not sure which version it is but all in all, its a 1ft x 1ft x 14" (l x w x h). Tank is progessing fine so far (cross finger and pray). My main focus is on NO3 and PO4, and limit feeding and livestocks to try an keep nutrients low.

Regarding your question, i didnt use any of the factory provided media. I replace the whole of the 1st plastic container with Biohome, and the second with Ultralith. I added on an additional HOF with a mix of BioHome and PhosBan. Only liverock is in the main tank but i have no sand in my setup.

Default lights were replaced with 2 x Par38 and i think it might be a wise choice to replace the default pump too(for circulation purpose), else i may consider adding a small small power head to increase circulation. Hope it helps. Let me know if you need further clarifications, i will do my best to assist! Good luck! :thumbsup:

Sorry if I have breached any rules or hijacked your post. I had always contemplated to convert it to a marine tank but was afraid to try...

So was wondering if the 'stock' specs of filter and 20 day(4.8W) LED lights are enough.

No issues but do read up more if you are not clear as such a small tank allows for little/no room for errors. This forum is a wonderful place to start.

Depending on what you want to keep i think the stock lights are enuf if you are looking at a Fish dominated tank with easy LPS. Again, im not an expert but due to size its a challenge for sure :)

Haha I did not read your earlier posts on the specs as initially it does not make sense to me. After reading up it all make sense now. The tank that im having now is like half the size of what you are using. Man I guess I need to rethink on what to do

Really want to try out a marine setup with corals for a smaller tank first. But it seems that for marine the smaller it is, the harder it gets.

i think you can consider "trying out" (with ample reading) on a tank of slightly bigger then mine or about the same size as mine... I would believe that even for fresh water, small tanks are also very much harder compared to having a big one. You would have more room for error when it comes to bigger tanks. Small tank, small volume, small change, big disaster...

That being said, IMHO marine takes a lot more then your typical fresh water but even for freshwater i believe the same, "the smaller it gets, the harder it gets" applies :)

Some pics of the nano gobies:

Nano maroon goby (trimma sp):

post-18088-13335526554751_thumb.jpg

Nano skunk goby:

post-18088-13335526689802_thumb.jpg

Still have a black bellied nano goby but unable to catch a photo of it... Will try again this week :P

My orange plate: believe it or not, i realise asexual reproduction when a second and third mouth appeared today:

post-18088-13335528451331_thumb.jpg

Some of my zoas... Got a new addition over the weekend which can actually be seen in today's FTS:

post-18088-1333552879461_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335528878454_thumb.jpgpost-18088-133355289644_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335529081259_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335529180611_thumb.jpg

Some of my fraggies :)

Monti frags:

post-18088-13335531208493_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335531890234_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335531990132_thumb.jpg

Digi & birdnests:

post-18088-13335530995025_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335531311627_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335531504056_thumb.jpg

Finally the brown color faded to review the pink polyps and white base :)post-18088-1333553229024_thumb.jpg

post-18088-13335532385906_thumb.jpg

The millies:

post-18088-13335532564805_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335531630808_thumb.jpg

Some I dunno what:

post-18088-13335531085873_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335531769245_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335532479143_thumb.jpg

post-18088-13335532142346_thumb.jpg

post-18088-13335532688664_thumb.jpg

The one I'm monitoring :P color has lighten up abit, starting to see green colorations and tinge of blue/purples on the coralids (spelling error):

Front view:

post-18088-13335536217094_thumb.jpg

Top view:

post-18088-13335536307644_thumb.jpg

The other one I think some digitata or smthg... Can spot new growth tips (I hope)

Front view:

post-18088-13335536508223_thumb.jpg

Top view:

post-18088-13335536660091_thumb.jpg

Can remember from which frag I broke this off from but it's coloring up and still alive :)

post-18088-13335536788271_thumb.jpg

Nothing much changed last week so that's all for now :)

---

I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?k1jl2m

:thumbsup: good job and nice tank you have there.

2 FEET CUBE REEF DISCO(60cmx60cmx60cm)

TOTAL 286 LITERS WITH SUMP

LIGHTS:PHAROS LED 90 WATTS WITH WIRELESS CONTROLLER

RETURN PUMP:EHEIM 1260
CHILLER:HAILEA 150A + EHEIM COMPACT 1000 WITH EXT TEMP CONTROLLER
WAVEMAKER:JEBAO WP25
REACTOR:TLF PHOSBAN REACTOR 150 WITH EHEIM 600(ROWAPHOS)
SKIMMER:H&H S150 WITH AQUABEE 2000/1

MEDIA:BACTERIA KING

GLASS CLEANER:ALGAE FREE PIRANHA FLOAT WITH EASY BLADE

ATO:TUNZE NANO OSMOLATOR 3152

RO/DI PURIFIER:ZeRO EX5 - RO/DI ULTRA 200 WITH HM DIGITAL DM-1 IN-LINE DUAL TDS METER

Some pics of the nano gobies:

Nano maroon goby (trimma sp):

post-18088-13335526554751_thumb.jpg

Nano skunk goby:

post-18088-13335526689802_thumb.jpg

Still have a black bellied nano goby but unable to catch a photo of it... Will try again this week :P

My orange plate: believe it or not, i realise asexual reproduction when a second and third mouth appeared today:

post-18088-13335528451331_thumb.jpg

Some of my zoas... Got a new addition over the weekend which can actually be seen in today's FTS:

post-18088-1333552879461_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335528878454_thumb.jpgpost-18088-133355289644_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335529081259_thumb.jpgpost-18088-13335529180611_thumb.jpg

I like your nano fishes, where u got them?

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

This is a beautiful tank! I have set up a nano just like yours for 6 mths and I have no problem with corals. But I have problem with fish jumping out- yasha gobies, clown gobies etc, so will need to have a lid on. I am quite concerned for your firefish, which is a known jumper :)

They r a timid bunch & r easily frightened.