My first support in the coming nano competition

peong

Use extra light to burnt them up.. after open slowly reduce light.

Tank Theme: Mixed Reef with clams

3 feet tank with IOS

Eheim 1262

K3 wavemaker x1

Lightings: T5 actinic blue x4 , T5 white x4

Skimmer: BMQQ

Artica 1/5

Dosing: NA

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reefing is sharing. People with rotten mouth is sure a loser for life as expected. When a tomato gets rotten, you can nvr save it.. Throw it away before it infect the good ones.

Use extra light to burnt them up.. after open slowly reduce light.

Thx bro, I will try it out, I think we need to bring a high output torchlight to blast it for the first day of stabilization as the nano lighting is not strong.

Yes.. best to have... once they open will be ok. Guess u need to purchase equipments..

Tank Theme: Mixed Reef with clams

3 feet tank with IOS

Eheim 1262

K3 wavemaker x1

Lightings: T5 actinic blue x4 , T5 white x4

Skimmer: BMQQ

Artica 1/5

Dosing: NA

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reefing is sharing. People with rotten mouth is sure a loser for life as expected. When a tomato gets rotten, you can nvr save it.. Throw it away before it infect the good ones.

As copepods are most commonly use in the chemical pollution test in the river and marine water, so I decided to use this method to test on my newly made ornament for its safe of use in my competition tank. I had been soaking the ornament with my existing seawater which I'm going to use for about 3 days, before that it was soaked with tap water and did a 100% water change daliy after 3 days. A glass of water sample was took from the soaking seawater and number of copepods were placed inside with the attached picture, hopefully all copepods still alive after few hours of test. :)

post-3149-0-12340200-1354603255_thumb.jp

How's your gsp doing? My whole theme is gsp.. keeping my fingers crossed..

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

How's your gsp doing? My whole theme is gsp.. keeping my fingers crossed..

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

I think your gsp must be very stable and healthy by now or else really a risky move to use it, since I moved them higher with better lighting, most of them started to open but still have some frags remians unopen, I think is due to stress and it will take time to heal, so for that I will avoid to use it. Hope this info. helps! :)

Finally came to the last day of preparation, expected to be very busy today, but still take my effort to do my journey updates.

After listening to few more advices, I had discarded few prepared items and plan.

1st is a mock tree using driftwood... hahahaha... going crazy... and here the same "artistic fingers":

post-3149-0-30859300-1354676567_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-59196000-1354676664_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-70498800-1354676698_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-70611200-1354676738_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-42859800-1354676775_thumb.jp

Info.:

Driftwood is probably a stretch since it could leach something like tannins (tannic acids), which can lower the pH (not a good thing for any SW tank). It could be possible with driftwood that has been in saltwater (not like a bog or marsh wood). You would probably want to keep it in a separate tank (like a quarantine) for a long time to see if you can get that pH level to be the same as your tank (i.e. most of the tannic acids have been used up). Maybe something like petrified wood would be a better option.

I had used driftwood in my past SH tank with acrylic epoxy spray paint coated, it returned out no problem for my seahorses, so this time I decided to use it again to act as a tree trunk and stick with coral on top to simulate the branches and leaves, and this time I will use epoxy resin to coat the outer layer to slow down the leach of the tannic acids.

Reason to discard:

1. Too many artifical item in my design...

2. The high possibility of leaching of tannic acids may cause me lose of points

3. It's really a bad idea to match with my greek pillars...

4. At last I have better plan for my design, thanks to Ken

3rd item has been discarded is a the flower pots... wah lau... marine tank have flower pots... ki xiao

Reason to discard: due to last minute change of plan so don't need it anymore

Look at my bam bam plant... haha...

post-3149-0-31419100-1354678932_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-20386100-1354679066_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-75328700-1354684293_thumb.jp

Here are the seawater preparation and misc:

1 jerry can (25L) of old seawater from my current big tank

1 jerry can (25L) of DD-salt water mix

The rest will be using iwarna sw

1 empty jerry can -- for ben-out

2 pails and misc

Remarks: Thanks for Ah Beng who lend me the 3 jerry cans :thumbsup:

coming up...

post-3149-0-06711700-1354685730_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-24482900-1354685798_thumb.jp

Transferred my prepared sand bed to a smaller pail for ben-in, also checked on my little hermit crab and she still alive since day one. "Okay, let you take part in the supporting role then." :rolleyes:

post-3149-0-43761600-1354686376_thumb.jp

post-3149-0-35371800-1354686419_thumb.jp

Barbouri! My favorite.

Asked the horses and ponies: "Are you guys happy to go IMM?"

The Tigertial say: "I think IMM better than now under the bright sun."

The Barbouri say: "Unless you feed me live mysis for 3 meals per day."

And the ponies shouted: "Gong Gong, I want pods more more."

Then, the ah gong reply to them: "Okay lah, give me a good show, I will call supplier to deliver all that you have requested."

and you see how joyful they are now...

Just to relax...

post-3149-0-17326700-1354690741.jpg