Tank crash need help

samuel88

hi i have a problem about my tanks that keep crashing.

this is what happens, protein skimmer overactivate similar to epoxy effect, clear skimmate and over flows. funky smelling water, live stock keep dying or are in great distress until the protein skimmer is done overactivating. and i guess whatever is causing it is skimmed out.

these crashes have happened to both of my tanks numerous times, and can take from 1 week to 9 months to occur.

i find this weird because, in the beginning i could have attributed these tank crashes to poor husbandry skills, but i have improved them alot since i was a newbie and it still happens, some of the examples of what i mean by improvements are, stocking my tanks extremely lightly, like having a fishless 25 gallons tank. i hardly keep fish. i wait a month(s) between addition of live stocks, using only RO/DI water, weekly water changes, testing my water parameters like nitrates, PH and alkalinity to make sure everything is constant and if need be adjust it slowly.

i can be having a very consistent maintenance schedule for months or weeks at a time and then boom it happens.

what's even weirder is that sometimes one tank crashes but the other's ok, or sometimes at the same time. AND there was once i had a dish of water in the same room as my tank and that dish of water became cloudy and funky smelling as well!

FAQ about what people suggest to me it is

Q: maybe its cause your temperature fluctuates, or you use tap water,

A: i use a chiller and RO/DI, my temperature is at 26 degress. and my RO/DI TDS reading is 0, and i test it every few days.

Q: maybe it could be your PH levels fluctuating?

A: i keep my alkalinity pretty high, at 4 to 4.5 meq/l, and the crashes have happened during the day before where PH isn't supposed to drop.

Q: could it be chemicals sprayed in the air?