My nano 4 ft

FuEl

• Replies 548

Decided to give the rainfordi a try..bought 2 of them..here is one..within seconds of being introduced in the tank they can be seen pecking off rocks, and shifting thru sand like sandshifting gobies!

post-34-1078057052.jpg

Introduced one male sri lankan pistol into my tank..to my horror, it swam to the other end of the tank into the established pistols burrow! A few clicks followed..thought surely one of them would end up dead..as I think both were male..in the end...all is well..but my antenna goby is still to be seen (maybe concussed by the noise in the burrow). <_<

Maybe sexual misidentification here by the fellow pistols. :lol:

post-34-1078057192.jpg

Getting nearer and nearer....eventually the one on the left pushed the one on the right back into the burrow..slight clicks followed..moments later can see the one with the smaller 'pistol' scurrying around looking for a new home...established a home next to my yellow-head jawfish. Hopefully nothing happens. :rolleyes::angel:

post-34-1078057401.jpg

How much you wan to sell me...

Hmmm..see how lah..see the next few days if they got space to settle down or not. My tank becoming goby + crustacean tank already. :lol:

Heh..coz heard Rumor say it eat some algae w0t..so i try lor..i hate those brown stuff growing on my rocks. Reminds me of the stuff when my tank was 2-3 months old...now about 6-7 months old already the stuff come back again...... <_<

No more anthias and tangs for my tank...no more clownfish..No more fish! ;)

Actually now I think my stocking abit....high..wait ah..let me count..

Fish : 13 in total

2 sri lankan scooters...2 Jann's pipefish...1 purple firegoby..1 firegoby..1 yashia...3 antenna goby...2 rainfordi..1 yellow-head jawfish

Crustaceans

3 'pom-pom' crabs, 5 ###### shrimps, 2 adult harlequin shrimp, 1 alpheus randalli pistol, 3 sri lankan tiger pistol, 1 purple head boxing shrimp, 1 arrow crab, 2 sally lightfoot (going to get 10 more), 1 cleaner shrimp, 1 blood shrimp, 2 emerald crab, 20 mini hermits.

OMGF..just watched a real cruel documentary...1 zebra hermit pulled a smaller hermit out from its shell..presumably to feast on its abdomen! :blink: MuRrrrrrrrDeReRrrrrr!

Tried to save the small bugger..although it was still alive..but it was half mutilated..oh well...was watching the murderer slowly stalk it to start feasting on it again..

Then came along the pom pom crab...and stole the hermit kebab from the zebra hermit.

Hmmm..I know..read up somewhere that they might catch fish..that's why i got the SMALL ones. ;) Anyway...was at eAquarist they let me see the book about the crab..they state max size is around 3cm..quite alright for a crab..

I dun print $$ like someone...can actually get so many sally lightfoots at once... :angel:

Anyway... from http://www.saltcorner.com/sections/zoo/inv...bs/Pgibbesi.htm

'Has a temperature range of 72 to 79°F (22 - 26°C). A small, very fat-bodied crab with a greenish-maroon body and a strong swimmer. Found in intertidal zones where there is a plentiful supply of algae. A herbivorous crab that will eat both macro and microalgae including short tuffs of hair algae. However, a hungry crab will attack small fishes while they sleep. Pictured is P. planissimum, which is either the same or very similar in appearance.'

My tank got alot of algae...no nid worry. :lol:

Putting 2 pistol shrimps together is risky business ...

But capturing these 'wildlife' shots is quite interesting eh?

Rainfordis and Hectoris are primarily sandsifters, they probably get most of their sustenance from the sand fauna. They are also known to eat filamentous algae, but mostly budding ones. That is what I observe in my setup.

I find them more effective clearing detritus off the rocks. The Sallyfoots may prove to be a better algae buster than the hover gobies.

Anyways, your tank is looking good, hope to see captivating sequence soon :)

Thanks...wonder what took so long for sally lightfoots to be available here...only recently than eAquarist bring in..never seem them before elsewhere...

from http://www.reef.esmartweb.com/inverts1.htm

'I added two Sally Lightfoot crabs to compliment the algae eaters. As a side benefit, they crop down annoying halimeda macro algae of which can overgrow neighboring corals quickly. The picture set above verifies this. They actively graze on the rocks all day and scavenge any passing foods. Behavior towards tank mates has not been a problem at all.'

They eat halimeda?! Omg..they eat any algae! :yeah: