Petrol prices

roidan

I personally feel that there are differences in the grade and brand.

Tried the S** bec I got 10% on my credit card....but can feel the 'jilt' in my auto gear change....as in not so smooth....

and when I go Malaysia, I'll pump the Sh*** XO, which is bloody expensive at abt RM 1.80/l (but still much CHEAPER than S'pore price!).....and can feel the 'power' altho my is just a 1.5 corolla...

so now I'll pump half tank of the 10% discount type, with another half tank from my usual Blue station with 6%....so that will have an average discount of abt 8% lor......

my 2 cents....

: :paiseh: dun call me cheapskate :whistle

Where u can find SPC station , u will find discount..

Bukit timah has one there and it started a price discount for most station....as that place is a high flow area and has many petrol stations. If u are one of the station there and u have no discount, u will stand to lose alot. :(

the SPC station at Golden Shoe carpark at Raffles place on weekend has discount up to 13 pct some weeks back.. now back to 10 pct

Upper seranggon road near Kovan MRT has a chain of petrol stations giving 7 pct as well becos of a nearby SPC station at Kovan area.

Basically if u are talking about grade like 92, 95 or 98 there is a difference.

But if u are talking about brand like Sh***, E***o or S**...no difference lah.

They all take from the same refinery here..whenever one has short fall

they cover it by taking from S**... and market it under their own brand or they add some synthetic addictive to it.

U only feel the difference in ur mind :blink:

How I know?....wifey works for one of these company :eyebrow:

My opinion for some petrol companies is that they jack up the pertrol price and then offer discount to offset the higher price.

Personal experience is that SPC at golden shoe (Raffles Place) pertrol is more expensive that lets say Esso in SengKang. However SPC offers discount as Esso doesnt.

Unless of course you are comparing with the same pertrol company then pumping at certain spot where there is discount will fetch you a better deal.

No matter what it will still be expensive but what to do if you want to convenience? Live with it :lol::lol::lol: cause you and I cant change it.

92, 95 or 98 is not talking abt impurities etc. It is actually RON or octane level. All cars can accept even up to RON92. Those turbo charged cars or high performance cars need at least RON 98 to prevent knocking. Petrol at US is average at RON 87. Their RON 92 is considered a premium one.

I'm using RON 92 or 95, cheap and good for everyday use. Once a while top-up with RON 98 to clear up any carbon deposits in the engine and also rev at least 6000rpm once a while to keep engine in tip top condition.

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Does it mean the 92 and 98 are equally refined? I also have the impression that 98 has less impurities and will be better for your car in the long run. XO or 100 is a luxury.

One who have tried 92 or 95 compared to 98 will know and feel the power difference when you rev your car etc.

I always use 98 just to be safe.

BTW I ride a bike so its not a big difference. But will have to start pondering cause my car coming in 1 month or so. Still itching for it...

The petrol are all the same except for the RON or Octane level. Also some ore additives they put to clean the engine or more umph such as Shell's V-power.

Can rev high rpm at neutral but better when car is moving at 1st or 2nd gear, more thrill .... B) After that do a handbrake 180deg turn at slippery roads. :upsidedown:

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

very scary to do that on tpe even leh.....6000rpm on gear 1 or 2...i dare not... :P

U worry abt the car or yourself. If yourself, can ask micheal schue to do it for you .... for cars, even those normal ones, have to go high speed or revs to maintain good engine. 4000 or 5000 rpm driving at tpe use gear 3 should be ok already. Not so scary and not that fast.

Member of :

MASS in Facebook

Reefing in LED

Haha :lol::lol: for Bike is different. 6000RPM is norm. For those racing 10,000 is norm

For car norm is probably 3000-4000.

I think that both have a similarity in which you need to rev it once in a while to clear the carbon etc.

Bro Roidan, if you are afraid to do it, I can offer my kind assistance ;). Anyhow I am still itching for mine to come.

I dont do it in neutral gear (stationary position) but bring it for a speed ride. I think more shiok that way and I dont think (not sure)doing it in neutral gear does the trick of clearing some unwanted carbon.