Emergency!!!

piero

Pls help me!!! First it was my anthias, now its my wrasses.. Anyone know what is happening?? I bought 3 wrasses today and added them to my main tank before I went for dinner. By the time I came back from home, all of them disappeared. At first I thought they were hiding so I removed all my LR since my corals haben been added and to my shock, all were gone.. Can anyone explain this??? the last time this happen was to my three anthias... I cant go on like this, burn hole in my poacket leh...

:nuke::nuke::nuke:

wrasse may hide in the sand...even u remove all the LR...they will not move ot from the hiding place...but how to explain for the Anthias :whistle

could it be the worst nitemare happening to u, piero?take a second look.... :shock: how big is your missing fish?

post-8-1045320427.jpg

Piero,

Clearly you did not quarantine your fish first. You may want to look into this good, necessary practice before you put a lousy specimen in that kills through diesease or starve to death because it won't or couldn't eat what you offer.

I'm sure that along the way, you will be glad you quarantine new fish.

hi piero...when I introduced a canary wrasse and a juvenile clown wrasse into the tank, the canary wrasse felt instantly at home but the clown wrasse dove straight into the sand. It finally came out after THREE days!

Its interesting to watch the wrasse get into bed (the sandbed) after the lights go down. Be sure you have enough depth for them.

most likely..... some newly accquired wrasse are famous for hide inside the sand and dissapear for a few day before they dare to come out. This happen to my yellow wrasse when I just brought it.

As for the anthias ......... strange ....... check you floor, overflow compartment .......

Dodo, mantis got eat so fast one meh ....... go for dinner come back only all 3 kenna eaten liaoz ....... <_<

dino07.gif

Mantis??? Dun think I have any lor... Anyway as for quarantine... I usually do it from morning till night then I put into the tank liaoz..., Just need them to get used to my water... Sure they burrow?? I did a rearrangement of my LR, sure they will appear again???

Pls help me!!! First it was my anthias, now its my wrasses.. Anyone know what is happening?? I bought 3 wrasses today and added them to my main tank before I went for dinner. By the time I came back from home, all of them disappeared. At first I thought they were hiding so I removed all my LR since my corals haben been added and to my shock, all were gone.. Can anyone explain this??? the last time this happen was to my three anthias... I cant go on like this, burn hole in my poacket leh...

BTW, Piero, I dun recommend the keeping of Anthias, esp for newbies.... they are classified as difficult and would need some time to adjust to captivity... esp when it somes to feeding...

Anyway as for quarantine... I usually do it from morning till night then I put into the tank liaoz..., Just need them to get used to my water...

What you described above is not 'quarantine'. You're acclimatising (sp.) your new purchases (by the way, morning til night is unnecessarily long, a couple of hours max is sufficient). You should acclimatise your fish with your Q tank parameters, then release them into the Q tank where they are kept anywhere between four to six weeks. During this period, you get it to feed properly and watch it for disease outbreak.

Mantis??? Dun think I have any lor... Anyway as for quarantine... I usually do it from morning till night then I put into the tank liaoz..., Just need them to get used to my water... Sure they burrow?? I did a rearrangement of my LR, sure they will appear again???

Hopefully you didn't place your LR over them during your rearrangement. My wrasses lie flat in the sand, about 1 cm deep. They stir up the sand quite a bit and you get particles all over the LR and mushrooms.

phang...

are anthias really hard to keep?

cause i saw these being sold at marine life and are abt to get em....

are these types still considered difficult ?

Most anthias are considered difficult only because of feeding habits....

unless you can get a good source of nutritional live feed constantly, they are bound to starve to death...

the other alternative is to get them to feed on frozen foods.... and this doesn't happen all the time....

Suggest you do a search on anthias to get information ..... quite a number of threads here on the different kinds and their difficulty levels..... :)

Sinn,

I have some experience with Anthias and could share with you.

I have the following: Dispar, Tri-colour, Ventralis and purple Queen.

They need:

- lots of room in the upper level to swim around.

- LR with place for them to sleep

- Accustom to to frozen food slowly. I took 3 weeks feeding my purple queen with live baby brimp and mixing with frozen brimp before it takes to frozen. Also same for Ventralis

- Tri-colours are more aggressive and the biggest one, which would be a male can terrorize the rest, esp. other species of Anthias.

- to be kept in a group of at least 3

- Need good water conditions

- Cannot be kept with other big fish or damsel or they will be bullied and they may jump out of the tank

***but, they are a beauty to watch!!

Disclaimer:

The above are gathered from my experience and not supported by empirical evidence or endorsed by any authority.

Hope this help a little.