Zeovit Review

• Replies 110

why many folks in RC did not use zeovit ? I think there is disadvantages of using this system.

I am still hesistant whether to start out my new tank with zeostart....the thing is....pple are still worried about the balance of the tank elements with zeovits. so many maybe lke me before...if existing methods work...why change?

then again, so much has been talked about DSB and refugiums.......but how many reefers used them...its all boils down to preference as well. All these methods has their disadvantages in a way. RC has many pple who are long time reefers...its either they do not want to restart what they already have or they are afraid the sudden adjustment might have adverse effects on theri tanks.

I cannot believe u guys stated this method is low maintenance??

If u read properly, these european will run the ZEOvit in a reactor and stirr the contents every day or two. Some of them change out 50% from the reactor every 1-2 weeks. On top of that U need to dose multiple products daily.

This is worst than taking care of babies. I wonder if u take the short cut as some of u suggested do u get the same result.

I suggest to whoever invested to follow those european reefers strict routine and not to cut corners. Anyway money already spend, why not get the best out of it.

:rolleyes:

If u read properly, these european will run the ZEOvit in a reactor and stirr the contents every day or two. Some of them change out 50% from the reactor every 1-2 weeks. On top of that U need to dose multiple products daily.

This is worst than taking care of babies. I wonder if u take the short cut as some of u suggested do u get the same result.

I suggest to whoever invested to follow those european reefers strict routine and not to cut corners. Anyway money already spend, why not get the best out of it.

if i can get similar or satisfactory results through my own "cut corners" method, why not?

so which method of reef keeping are you following? european? american? japanese?

finally found the time to add in the zeovit/zeobak/zeofood last nite. here are the parameters that i monitored.

a. phosphate (will check with red sea po4 test kit)

b. nitrate (will check with sera test kit)

c. skimmate (visual and based on observation)

d. clarity of water

e. condition of sps before and after

T+0: 2200 22 Sep 04

a. phosphate at 2 ppm (even with rowaphos!)

b. nitrate at 20 ppm (stable at 20 ppm for 1 week liao, previously at 40 ppm)

c. skimmate is good with ev-120

d. a bit cloudy

e. 50% of sps are brownish and only 1-2 pieces can see the actual colours

T+2

c. extra foaming at skimmer until overflow. reefers, take note. do remember to tune ur skimmer lower when u put in zeovit cos it will cause drastic increase in foam, thus overflow the cup!

d. water looks cleared but too early to tell.

:o my sun coral, which has never opened since day one in tank (>3 months ago) suddenly open big and nice! dunno if really becos of zeovit system but hey, this is my observation, not conclusion (take note!!!).

T+9: 0700 23 Sep 04

c. can see lots of dark skimmate on the rising tower. seems like i am getting more sludge per hour than before.

sun coral remains open!!!

dun ask me for other stuffs like pics, parameters, etc. if i got them, it will be here. if it is not here, means i dun have them.

oso this is my observation, not conclusion!

thats all for now.

cheers!

T+1 day 2200 23 Sep 04

a. phosphate at T+0 was 0.2ppm (not 2ppm!), now is 0.1ppm.

b. nitrate still at 20ppm (mg/l) gonna get salifert test kit as counter check.

c. more sludge on skimmer riser. definitely more DOC being removed as compared to before zeovit.

d. water... still hard to tell. wait for few more days before i comment

e. dunno coincidence but one of my purple acro from ###### is now showing purple tips. was brown since day 2 in tank, more than 3 weeks liao. will monitor the rest.

downside: one of my big mother colony that was showing STN over the past 2 weeks seems to have accelerated in its STN. not sure if it is becos im monitoring each piece daily so i notice changes. but something to monitor and report in a few days time. hopefully dun die cos it cost $70 from one of our bro here.

sun polyp still open and waving. spurred by the addition of zeofood????

why many folks in RC did not use zeovit ? I think there is disadvantages of using this system.

The zeovit system is started in europe and is very popular there. It is just starting to take roots in the states. And its becoming increasingly popular amongst the reefers over there.

Just did my first virgin reactor shake-down yesterday.. quite an exercise and thank-god the FR didnt leak will all the vigorous shaking.. hehehe

After 24 hours of running it. no visible difference... yet....... i hope.... Patience is the key... must always remember that... hehehe

I dunno where you read that from but the actual instructions says to changed out every 8-12 weeks. And you can increase the duration as your system progresses.The dosing are not exactly a daily thing and it just takes less than 1 minute to dose just a few drops. The real hassle is that you have to clean the skimmer collection cup more frequently because of increased skimmate.

T+1 day 2200 23 Sep 04

a. phosphate at T+0 was 0.2ppm (not 2ppm!), now is 0.1ppm.

b. nitrate still at 20ppm (mg/l) gonna get salifert test kit as counter check.

c. more sludge on skimmer riser. definitely more DOC being removed as compared to before zeovit.

d. water... still hard to tell. wait for few more days before i comment

e. dunno coincidence but one of my purple acro from ###### is now showing purple tips. was brown since day 2 in tank, more than 3 weeks liao. will monitor the rest.

downside: one of my big mother colony that was showing STN over the past 2 weeks seems to have accelerated in its STN. not sure if it is becos im monitoring each piece daily so i notice changes. but something to monitor and report in a few days time. hopefully dun die cos it cost $70 from one of our bro here.

sun polyp still open and waving. spurred by the addition of zeofood????

untouchables, what is your current dosing rate for the zeo stuff? Increased tissue lost might be a sign of overdosing zeobac.

SharkBait, volume is nett.

AlfaRomeo, thanks. I followed the instructions... 2-4 drops for 25 gal daily for first 2 weeks. 1/2 that ratio is 1-2 drops for 25 gal. mine is 100 gal, so it is 4-6 drops... tonight will reduce to 2 drops and monitor. other sps doing ok... onli this colony and already in STN state.

u know wat, this zeovit thing to me hor, is the same thing as reducing nitrates and phosphates and DOCs and nutrients to allow ur sps to color up.

nothing new, just another way to accomplish the same thing. so be it DSBs, fuge, sump, etc... its just many of the ways to accomplish low nutrient environment for our SPS.

i however feel its quite aggressive though judgin from u guys posted, just like the irritating carbon thingy. so i guess must dose little bit at a time but regularly right...which is a PITA if u ask me. think most of the other current methods are less PITA methods! :)

Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now!

http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11

Definately got effect one whether

SKII 神奇水??? or whatever.

I am dosing 2ml of zeostart, 500ml of zeovit, 2 drops of zeobak, 2 drops of zeofood on a daily basis. Already can see some SPS starting to color up.

One of my green table has turned peach color with blue tips already. Will try to dig some photos.

Got my green staghorn that the tips got burn and that could be due to the water getting super clear too quickly. I had shifted my MH lights 1" higher and still monitoring.

this zeovit system seems to have a preety good review. Espicially on the water clarity part. Since this system works by extracting nutrients out of the water, what do guys think if i apply this to a mix reef? Meaning a system with LPS, zoo, rics..etc...and of cos SPS. Cos i believe most of us here keep a mixture of everyting.

Wouldn't this zeovit system starve those that need to absorb nutrient from the water?