2 x 2 x 13" Nano

surfedelic

• Replies 69

nice....blasto merlatti from LinkinPark?

like the favia too......always wonder how you guys managed to keep such wonderful nanos with colourful sps

nano with TUNZE :lol:

A few of the pieces - I bought them because they look not too bad but was dying.. the pale green lobo was orange in color when i bought it and a red moon acquired not too long was pale.

A brown frog spawn was also dying about 2 years back.

There is alot of sentiment for some of the corals when I see them recover from their dying state.

Your comments are welcome.

nice....blasto merlatti from LinkinPark?

like the favia too......always wonder how you guys managed to keep such wonderful nanos with colourful sps

nano with TUNZE :lol:

Bought it from LCK after... it is very small though but it is growing fast. The favia is not in the best of state. i just want to post some pic before I do any upgrading.

Yah the tunze was hell of a problem ... need to push the curent underneath the rockwork.

what's your next move??? bigger tank?

I like the digitata on the left as well :lol:

The digitata is growing faster then my blue acro - if you could spot it :D But sometimes the digitata got knock here and topple down due to the congested space with 5 snail and 1 sea urchin in the cleaning crew :D

I am not sure at this point. I was thinking of 3 x 3 x 2 but there is a like and hate factor in having a short depth.... I feed the lobos one cube of frozen brineshrimp everyday ... but with a taller tank i still can do that but it takes more effort. And on the other hand, a tall tank definitely looks more impressive ...

I was also thinking of a 5 x 3 x 13" cause i need the width or more dimension - it looks more like a koi pond :lol:

too humble...your tank is really nice.... well balanced in terms of distributionof corals. Some reefers have 4ft tanks but clueless in terms of stocking and scaping.... totally missed the pt. I am a mixed reef fan...always SPS and LPS with softies here and there... great to exchane notes.

Got a pic of the blue acro??

wow.. tunze for a 2ft?

The tunze feels like taking it out at times because spend alot of time readjusting once i removed it for maintenance. Need to position it properly to make sure the curent are not directed at the corals. Last time used to blow directly onto a table - lost part of it after fragging :pirate: ...

I believe you could arange some piping underneath the sand bed for current you could archieve great movement of water as well - no need tunze..

Looking to do that for my next tank ... preferably a sand bed which can be maintain very easily with undergravel piping ..

WL,

Still learning stage lah from you folks :D ...

Partly due to the small volume of water .. with my oversize equipment - I could adjust the parameter very fast once it is offtrack but with bigger tanks like yours it is a different ballgame all together :)

The lighting is 250 Watt DE 14K. If I use T5 i wont be able to see the coral from the top - Because it is only 13 inch in height. :D

Wow ur sps must be very happy with 250w mh light at 13 ich height or u hung the light very high from ur tank?

My decomm 4ft FOWLR

DB,

i have the same piece as moronclown - i think he posted the pics. I will see if I could take a shot.

lightningstrike,

The specs is as follows :

Hardware

1) H & S skimmer 850 litres cap (can't remember the model).

2) Teco Chiller TW6

3) 1 x Giesemann Nova modified from 150W to 250 Watt DE 14K phoenix bulb.

4) Aquasafe RO water auto-topup from a DIY circuitry control by Solenoid

5) DIY square Cal reactor with 6.5 litres Co2

6) Tank size 2' x 2' x 13"

7) Fox controller adjust at 29 degrees

8) 1 x 6060 tunze controller

9) Aquamedic Denitrator 400litres

10) 1 x 2 ft sump with no refugium

11) FR PO4 reactor

Chemical properties

1) PH - 8.2

2) Cal- 420 - 450 ppm

3) KH - 9 - 10 dkh

4) NO3 - non detectable

5) PO4 - non detectable

Livestock

1) 1 blue tang

2) 1 cleaner shrimp

3) 1 orchid dotty

4) 1 mantis shrimp :erm:

5) 5 turbo snail

6) 1 sea urhin

The coral I will try to post some pics in case I name them wrongly.

bro, thx a lot for the specs

H&S Skimmer if i m not wrong shld be F150-2001.

TW6 Teco Chiller

250W DE

super overdrive....... :P

but again, who will complain abt overskimming, oversizing chiller more light intensity and current.......... :yeah:

i am oso on the overdriven route, :paiseh:

Wow ur sps must be very happy with 250w mh light at 13 ich height or u hung the light very high from ur tank?

tansh,

The lighting is hanging about 11 to 12 inch .. to make full use of the Giesemann reflector as the area covered is 2 x 2 ft ... but there is one coral in the centre experienced bleaching due to too strong lighting - And the merulina on the top left hand is not getting enough lighting - was thinking of moving the lighting higher up.

WL,

My equipment is very messy at the moment - all at my balcony area ... so wife wont complain .. :lol: Becasue didn't plan properly in the begining. Will be doing a cabinet soon once I get the right contractor......

The lighting is hanging about 11 to 12 inch .. to make full use of the Giesemann reflector as the area covered is 2 x 2 ft ... but there is one coral in the centre experienced bleaching due to too strong lighting - And the merulina on the top left hand is not getting enough lighting - was thinking of moving the lighting higher up.

:off: 1 reason why i m hesitant abt changing my lights to 250W, my tank's depth is onli 41cm, left with 1 feet depth after deducting DSB. oredi using 2 x 150W and 4 x 39W T5s. :ph34r: