HDB permit?

Was comtemplating whether should I apply for HDB permit..

I was trying to fill in the blanks based on their sample form until the weight portion.

http://www7.hdb.gov.sg/__482566bc0026f860....a5?OpenDocument

How do I find out what is my tank weight, inclusive of water?

Anyone had experience of rejection from HDB b4? If so, what is the rejection reason? :huh:

Just go ahead and forget about submitting unless you are going for more than 8 ft tank.

i am > stocking up equipments for my 5footer too. For a 5footer weight. hmm, don't think that i will submit form to HDB. :huh:

5 footer. salt water, live rock, sump, cabinet, DSB , eqipment etc... sure over 700kg. some more> it is a 5ftx2.5x2.5... don't think that --it will be under 750kg lor. :o

Most of us > don't submit form to HDB. unless .. your tank is super big... eg:8ft, 10ft . Then submit a form to HDB for rejection. :heh:

How old is your flat? The older it is.. stronger the structure . as cement etc will get stronger. :o

not very true that the older the structure the stronger it is.. in fact, older structures have been exposed to more elements.. though it's mainly repeated loadings that causes the structure to be weakened over time.. bomb shelters are usually located within beams but it does not mean all for corners are surrounded by beams.. if u did not do any modification to your flat, placing it next to a wall that joins to your windows should be fine as there is most likely a beam below it.. ;)

Mine is new flat @ Woodlands. Stayed for 3 yrs liao. had my tank beside the storerm aka bomb shelter, L-shaped wall. So considered against structural beam?

pls see attached photo. :)

Its definitely fine, if a bomb hits your flat, your tank will most like stay as well :D only problem is that everytime you open and close the bomb shelter door, remember to be gentle since its near the tank.

Compressive strength in concrete does increases with age, however in older buildings if the concrete have faults, cracks or not done properly the rebars within the structural elements might corrode due to ionic action and spalling may occur through water seepages or by capillary action.

The safety factor in buildings especially in Singapore are damn safe since the Hotel New World collapse...all minimum concrete grade for structural elements must be at least conc. grade 30 !

So if you are concern just look up at the ceiling above the position where you wanna put your tank and if there are beams abutting or adjacent to it, then its safe.

Anyway there are friends that i know that places 4 ft tank with sump using it as a divider wall in the middle of the floor slab (though its a little worrying - with Tigger, Sunny03 and me standing around it admiring the tank it would have added another 300kg near the point loading).

So relax and go ahead....

So if you are concern just look up at the ceiling above the position where you wanna put your tank and if there are beams abutting or adjacent to it, then its safe.

I dun see any tell tale signs @ the ceiling. Btw I'm on the top floor. :P

Its definitely fine, if a bomb hits your flat, your tank will most like stay as well  :D only problem is that everytime you open and close the bomb shelter door, remember to be gentle since its near the tank.

:lol::lol:

sounds like u had similar problem with the bomb shelter door...

Yeah the closing of the heavy door always cause vibrations to the walls and furnitures around it - so be careful if your tank is near it.

The reinforcement floor slab should be tied to the bomb shelter walls so its safe lah dun worry !

Wow ! it means that i can have only a 2 ft tank with sump!

Ha ha ha...yours together with the sump would be over 1 ton ..... better check for cracks and any visible signs of distress man !

But when you stand close to view the tank perhaps with another friend will add up more than 100 kg - so 1 ton hahahah

Useless - they are not structural engineers you see... all buildings in Singapore have quite a buffer in the safety factor build-in (especially more so for HDB - kiasu & kiasi), the regulations are there because there were previous dim-wits (including contractors) who "bo hew" and anyhow do things which can cause structural problems to the building.

So IMHO as long as your tank dun exceed 5 ft (wi sump) then it is really quite safe. Shoelevy heng man ! hahahhaah

Useless - they are not structural engineers you see... all buildings in Singapore have quite a buffer in the safety factor build-in (especially more so for HDB - kiasu & kiasi), the regulations are there because there were previous dim-wits (including contractors) who "bo hew" and anyhow do things which can cause structural problems to the building.

So IMHO as long as your tank dun exceed 5 ft (wi sump) then it is really quite safe. Shoelevy heng man ! hahahhaah

melvyn...u alwaes know wat u r toknig about....i hope this time u also know wat u r toking about...i trust u!

but if floor crack...i know which mr tan to look for ah!

haha

Anyway AP or Vans has a 4x4x2 which essentially 2 nos of 4x2x2 or 1 no of 8x2x2 and including refugium some more ! As if not enough, the tank is situated at the balcony ! where it is supposingly the weaker part of the entire structural component. IT STILL SURVIVED !