my small tank

dachkie

i have a 1ft x 0.5ft x0.5ft tank. used to keep tropical fish until it wiped out. i throughly washed the tank n i have 'stolen' some of my bf's water and cut abit of his sponge for my filter.

i m using a overhead filter, is that enuff? wad other stuffs do i need? his tank is full of wierd gadgets... i just want to keep some small fish. wad other things can i add to this small tank?

thanks for all help!!!

dachkie's gf

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

ur overhead filter is those hang on one? i suppose tt will be sufficient, i use to have a 1ft tank oso.. now my mom took over with 2 nemo in there~ :lol:

U can read on for more fish info b4 u are geting any.. i suppose u are only keeping FOWLR?

ya its the hanging one. so i dun need any thing else rite? :lol:

i THINK i wanna keep pipefish n seahorse with a button coral but will they do ok in that tank size?

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

That's considered a nano tank!

It requires a great deal of care as it has very limited biological filtration capabilities due to its lack of space. You also have to be careful not to overload the tank.

Can you be disciplined enough to just stock it with one or two tiny fishes max? Not to overfeed? To change water regularly?

If you can... then I suggest you start with a small clownfish and LR.

Don't put any light-loving animals or corals in because you have to add in sufficient light and nano tanks tend to overheat quickly.

Keeping pipefish and seahorses is not good idea for a newbie. Do read up on the pipefish/seahorse forum for information first!

agreed with AT, nano aint easy.. have to consider bioload, REGULAR water change.. I started my tank with a maroon and a damsel.. now my maroon is 2yrs and is veri healthy, but in a bigger tank now.. :lol:

read info abt pipefish and seahorses, they are choosy in food.. my advice, get a hardy fish, then slowly when u gain more experience, then upgrade it..

Gd luck~ :peace:

agreed with AT, nano aint easy.. have to consider bioload, REGULAR water change.. I started my tank with a maroon and a damsel.. now my maroon is 2yrs and is veri healthy, but in a bigger tank now.. :lol:

read info abt pipefish and seahorses, they are choosy in food.. my advice, get a hardy fish, then slowly when u gain more experience, then upgrade it..

Gd luck~ :peace:

try to get a Sicce pump, they are small and reliable and yet reasonable flow.... that would help create currents though there's great space contraints in your tank.. try to add more live rock and also, u may wanna use Distilled Water from NTUC, those 1.5L bottle ( about $0.85 each ) to act as top-up water or to change water... dat would give you better water conditions... :)

ok thanks guys! will keep all these in mind..

have to see got any small fish i can steal fr my bf's tank kakaka :fear:

pardon my ignorance :paiseh: ...Sicce pump is a brand or type of pump?

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

try to get a Sicce pump, they are small and reliable and yet reasonable flow.... that would help create currents though there's great space contraints in your tank.. try to add more live rock and also, u may wanna use Distilled Water from NTUC, those 1.5L bottle ( about $0.85 each ) to act as top-up water or to change water... dat would give you better water conditions... :)

sicce pump? nv heard of it neh.. :P well girl, get poly filter and matric carbon to help on ur water quailty..

dachie gf: funi leh, u said u using ur bf water? so he is in maine stuff oso? :blink:

yea!! he is dachkie lorr. he got a 3.5ft tank. so stealing some water frm him is unnoticable.

i try not to ask him too much cos he thinks i ask stupid questions :nc:

i want to get into this hobby so i can also do some shopping together when we are at fish shops..

i used to be bored at the shops, not anymore now haha now i always pester him to bring me thre :yeah:

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

Anyway, Sicce is the brand, its a good reliable pump, not cheap like some of the pariah brands around, but definitely worth the $$$... :)

:lol::lol: scali mine is pariah Brand one! :lol::lol:

dachkie GF: i suppose he is a pro by now, shld ask him neh.. i want oso dun have expert ard me sia... :P steal water frm his old tank? then how u gota replace tt 10lit u took frm him? u mean u wana steal all the time? :lol:

:eyebrow:

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

hey sis...drop the seahorse and pipefish idea...seahorse requires a tank with height 3 times their length from head to tail...and 0.5ft is way too shallow unless u r talking about a pygmy seahorse, that height is not even enough for a dwarf...as for pipefish, drop that idea too, there will not be any space for them to swim and these creatures are not for newbies..

okie thx 4 all ur advise

i got one live rock dat my bf donated to me n a tube worm n a small blu-ish green fish :lol:

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424