Aquapharm Cure-Ich

• Replies 83

i find that hyposalinity is pretty effective, i'd tried dipping in FW, but it would stress up the fish more without any improvement.. ;)

correct me if i m wrong.. ur FW is TApwater? tapwater contains chlorine which may bring more stress to the fish? pardon me, coz i had nv try FW dip b4.. :blink:

hi Gouldian,

Thanks for the reply. for the fish i love, i will to remove all the coral and either give it to my friend or sell away. nothing left liaoz..

I will do it once more and hopefully can kill them off.

BTW how yr tank? treatment ending??

Hi Iori Del,

I am just surpass the minimum 6 weeks Fallow Treatment reccomeneded by Weileong.

Going to ML this wed or thurs to get my AT. ;)

First I like to apologise as I sound like an old man already :P

1. There's two way to deal with ich, one is to just leave it and pray and at the same time feed garlic etc.

2. The other way is hyposalinity or copper.

3. And of course using some unproven reef-safe medication.

Usually some pple try 1. and then wait and wait and the ich gets too serious, by then if the fish still kicking then they try to apply hyposalinity treatment, at that stage already too late. Remember the hyopsalinity do not target the parasites attached to the fish, more parasites will still affect the fish.

So want to use hypo then do it ASAP :P

You dun sounds like an old man lah. :P But someone who share the correct ways to do things but still sees people doing otherwise... :(

I have benefitted alot with your sharing and guidance and I have also tried to show others your ways and I must say sometimes I feel like "a mother" too. :P

But rest be assured your advises are always treasured by some of us. ;)

correct me if i m wrong.. ur FW is TApwater? tapwater contains chlorine which may bring more stress to the fish? pardon me, coz i had nv try FW dip b4.. :blink:

Usually Fresh Water Dip is conducted just before the fish is added to QT and again before adding into Diplay.

FWD consist of de-chorinated tap water with PH adjusted to about 8.2 either by off-the-shelf solution or for my case by using baking soda (1/2 teaspoon per 1 Gal). For the latter method, ensure that you have a reliable PH meter. ;)

heed weileong and gouldian advice, mine boh standard one wor.. :P weileong is best person to speak to for hypo.. B)

i had doze half bottle of this medi since(now no more le lar).. duno it works for u anot, u can always try.. and i had done tt in my main tank with the inverts in(it depends wat coral u got in there too).. the last time i had also used methlylene blue ON my tang(dun tell ppl ah) :P .. think tts y save him.. the rest of the fish, i juz doze the medi.. my cardinal got well wor(fin is back in action :P ) .. :rolleyes:

meanwhile dun stockup ur fish le.. or like gouldian said.. keep fishless tank at the moment? :P for that i cant afford lar.. :lol: u can always Pm me! Good luck ya! :peace:

I think it's too late now, most of my fishes gone liao. :cry2: Using the Aquapharm cure-ich didn't help.

Hi Bro Weileong/Gouldian,

I'm now going into fishless main tank only left inverts and corals, I will wait for 6 weeks b4 I added new fish, rite?

I think it's too late now, most of my fishes gone liao. :cry2: Using the Aquapharm cure-ich didn't help.

I'm now going into fishless main tank only left inverts and corals, I will wait for 6 weeks b4 I added new fish, rite?

Hi dleecool,

Sorry to hear about your fishes. :( Did they all died of Ich?

I encourage you to go fallow (fishless) for the minimum of 6 weeks. Usually when you have fishes die and corals survive - you are encountering some form of parasites.

So you have to break the cycle of the parasites by going fallow.

But please note that by going fallow means just keeping the tank fishless. You will still have to keep the SG right and the skimmers running. If not, you will have another problem in your hands. ;)

6 weeks after the last spot disappear from the fish or just straight 8 weeks :P

I will go for 2 months to be safe!! :P

Can I ask about quarantine tank? Should I have skimmer and fileter for this tank as I think I want to setup 1 QT, but isn't it funny only water most of the time until some fishes arrive? How long should they be there? 2 weeks?

I will go for 2 months to be safe!! :P

Can I ask about quarantine tank? Should I have skimmer and fileter for this tank as I think I want to setup 1 QT, but isn't it funny only water most of the time until some fishes arrive? How long should they be there? 2 weeks?

Another method reccomeneded by Reef Keeping magazine (Oct'04), is to run a air filter or any small filter for your QT. And when you don't need to QT, just transfer the filter to your sump - this way you can still keep into bacteria going and at the same time dismantled your QT to be stored away from sight.

According to the author, storing away the QT when it is no needed will prevent us from turning the QT into a second tank! ;)

8 weeks minimum.. not 6 weeks. :)

Hi Alfa,

I have read in the following link Marine Ich

That "If an aquarium has no fish in it, and there are no additions of fish, or anything else that could be carrying trophonts, tomonts, tomites or theronts for a period of 6 weeks or longer, all parasites will have died. An aquarium such as this is an obvious exception to "Ich" always being present."

But than again.... it is always better to play it safe. Thanks for your input. ;)

Hi Alfa,

I have read in the following link Marine Ich

That "If an aquarium has no fish in it, and there are no additions of fish, or anything else that could be carrying trophonts, tomonts, tomites or theronts for a period of 6 weeks or longer, all parasites will have died. An aquarium such as this is an obvious exception to "Ich" always being present."

But than again.... it is always better to play it safe. Thanks for your input. ;)

Bro, it does say 6 weeks or longer.... seems to be saying that 6 weeks is the absolute minimum... so jsut add 1/3 more and you get 8 weeks.. should be pretty safe by then... the last thing you wanna find out that after 6 weeks and you introduced the fishes... ICH strikes again! hehehe

*pat pat* nvm lar.. part and parcel of life ba.. to err is human.. dun wori ya..i assume u had learn alot more frm them le? :lol::peace:

Bro, it does say 6 weeks or longer.... seems to be saying that 6 weeks is the absolute minimum... so jsut add 1/3 more and you get 8 weeks.. should be pretty safe by then... the last thing you wanna find out that after 6 weeks and you introduced the fishes... ICH strikes again! hehehe

Thanks bro. :D Always good to be on the safe side.

Anyway, I am now 7 weeks + 3 days liao. Will be dropping by Henry tomorrow to check out AT. :lol:

Wow. So the AT will be the first fish in? :)

Yah loh, wouldn't even dare to place any other fish except AT.

Afterwhich, I will wait another week before I start transferring the rest of the old fishes currently in my QT tank.

You not going to quarantine the AT for 6 weeks before adding in?

For my FOWLR I just dump the fish in if I don't see any spots but I could apply hyposalinity easily as there are on inverts/corals in the tank.

Hi Weileong,

After checking with several resources and speaking with a couple of people regarding my condition. I have decided on the below course of actions:

I will be introducing it direct into my fallow main tank. Since it is fishless, I presume it can function as an QT too.

Thus, I will only add my other fishes into diplay after waiting and observing that AT is establishing itself.

I will not be doing hypo to the AT for fear of stressing it further but will be acclimatise it accordingly and doing a fesh water dip just before introducing into the display tank.

What is your opinion on this? Do you think it will work? ;)

My guess is skip the freshwater dip as that will stress the fish most.

Since it is FOWLR then you maybe do the same like what I did, observe the AT for spots on it's body. If no spots then introduce it into your FOWLR tank. If white spot outbreak then apply hyposalinity directly.

This is what I am doing currently.

My guess is skip the freshwater dip as that will stress the fish most.

Since it is FOWLR then you maybe do the same like what I did, observe the AT for spots on it's body. If no spots then introduce it into your FOWLR tank. If white spot outbreak then apply hyposalinity directly.

This is what I am doing currently.

Thanks bro, will skip FWD.

But my diaplay is not FOWLR, it is without fishes as all fishes has been remove for Hypo at QT tank.

My Display contains inverts, lps & sps, so my plan is if ich appears, I will fish out AT for Hypo. ;)