help needed... high calcium level during cycling..

hi all..

i have been cycling my tank for 9 day...

just tested my water parameters...

got a shock tat calcium is at a high 700...

no additives added yet...

is it alright for the calcium to be so high??

n oso 2 days ago tested my ph is at 8.0 but today it dropped to 7.7...

wat's happing???

here is my parameter:

amonnia 0.25

nitrites 1.6

nitrate 50

ph 7.7

sal 1.023

mg 1300

dkh 9.5

cal 700

po4 0.5

hope the senior here can give mi some advice..

senior I no dare... after all we all here to share and learn. :)

What test kit you using? Cal at 700 is madness... you should be having heavy precipitation by now... i personally only trust salifert test kits.

Ph levels will fall over time...especially if you take the measurements in the morning. If ph is still at 7.7 before lights off, dose in some ph buffer to get near 8.3. But ph 7.7 still not panic button yet. Hope this helps.

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

thankz for the advice bro...

for cal i tested wif nutrafin at first which i get 700 so i tested again wif sera which oso give mi 700... but the funny thing is i did not exp any precipitation up to now...

n i manage to maintain 9.5 dkh... btw will high cal cause a fluncation of ph???

Did I read the words "CYCLING my tank"..... What the heck.... never mind lah since nothing is inside..... During the cycing process, take note of the amonnia, nitrite and nitrate......

here is my parameter:

amonnia 0.25

nitrites 1.6

nitrate 50

ph 7.7

sal 1.023

mg 1300

dkh 9.5

cal 700

po4 0.5

Gee....u buy so many testkits ah..... save it for later stage..... don't waste unneccessary during cycling stage.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

BTW, u may have misread the calcium reading.....

Just a tip for SERA calcium testing..... remember the little spoonful of powerder u need to add at stage 2? Well, adding a little bit more won't harm 'cos that make the solution colour darker and hence easier to distinguish the colour change. :)

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Get reputabale testkits and like wat kareen said dun waste ur time testin anythin other than ammonia, nitrite and nitrate when cycling.